Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Shea Homes

Shea Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.5 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Shea Homes’s 153 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.5 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

153 Reviews - 37 Communities

5 ★(104)

4 ★(27)

3 ★(14)

2 ★(7)

1 ★(1)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.4

Responsiveness 4.3

star-rating Opportunity to show a great sale clouded by poor workmanship

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Melissa D.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • November 12, 2020

While the sale of the house and responsiveness to issues is actually very excellent. I feel the quality of work was very poor and attention to detail was extremely lacking. Having to work through all the issues and make sure they get resolved seems like it could have been avoided had the work been checked thoroughly before signing off on it. Customer care rep. Dominick has been very helpful though to make sure work will be repaired to customer satisfaction and always follows through with requests. ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - Everything is good, but wooden material should be more good.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Sanjit M.
  • Mountain House, CA
  • January 05, 2021

Everything is good, but wooden material should be more good. During my first visit I saw wooden logs are dent and damage some places. Else it was good experience.

star-rating Lender communications was good. Follow up on items needing repair was not good

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Gary N.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • February 10, 2021

Shea builds a good product. We purchased a model home in Gateway Quarter and although it was priced as-is, the prep of repairing items such as holes in the wall and paint matching was not good. Promises regarding the replacement of dead landscaping were not kept. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Hi Gary. Thanks for your feedback. Our sales manager has contacted you about the landscaping issues. shea ... More

star-rating Very helpful in buying property.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • James E.
  • Brentwood, CA
  • March 09, 2021

We have had a brake down with first review issues being completed.I have to mention outside paint job was not close to your standards.

star-rating Shea Homes - Overall a reasonable experience.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Christopher K.
  • Huntington Beach, CA
  • November 18, 2020

Overall a reasonable experience. While a large company centered on process, people make or break their experience. We did run into some bad apples, but that was made up to some degree by others. We are still awaiting for the customer service to meet our expectations. ... More

star-rating Broker was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Thao L.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • February 25, 2021

I have purchased three houses from Shea in Recker Pointer community. Of the three houses, two have really bad issue with heating and Ac system. Multiple attempts to fix the issue did not get resolved and I was told that heating contractor is not responsible for the vent installation. I have try to reach out to Shea and no response yet. This is not acceptable since we have bought three houses brand new. Please have Shea representative to contact me and resolve the issue. ... More

star-rating Average to Exceptional

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Andrew A.
  • Parker, CO
  • November 05, 2020

Hi there, I am a real estate professional and the purchasing process was average, if not below average. The design center was fun and wish we had more options for things such as solid core doors, different texture, etc. At this price point you would think you’d have the option to select things like this. Onto the post-closing has been excellent and exceptional. Anytime I’ve had a problem, it’s been handled with no push back. This has made up for the upfront disappointment. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Hi Andrew. Thank you for the feedback. We try to offer buyers options that are current and popular in the market. We appreciate you sharing the specific options you were interested in so we can continue to learn and improve based on what is most important to our customers. We are glad to hear that the warranty process is going well making up for your disappointment. Thank you for purchasing a Shea home. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - Beautiful layout and floor plan

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Ebony B.
  • Humble, TX
  • February 09, 2021

Beautiful layout and floor plan

star-rating Shea Homes - I like how the frame is built.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Ricardo T.
  • Tracy, CA
  • February 09, 2021

I like how the frame is built.

star-rating Good Communication

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Dan N.
  • Castle Pines, CO
  • November 25, 2020

Good communication and follow up by sales staff, construction supervisors, and warranty rep. Very professional. Homes are very close together, Design Center choices somewhat limited. Quality of workmanship and attention to detail by subcontractors is lacking, especially by painters., GE appliances have many issues, and GE has horrible customer service for warranty repairs. ... More

star-rating They won’t budge on anything

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Richmond, CA
  • February 10, 2021

I ultimately bought the place for the location and view...but Shea didn’t make it easy. It was a struggle every step of the way. I don’t know if that’s because I had already been working with a lender, and didn’t want to go with Shea Mortgage, (they wouldn’t even quote me ballpark rates), or because that’s just how they work. Getting responses, tracking down information, getting forms completed, it was always chasing after multiple people to get what we needed. Now that I am living in the space, I see a lot of workmanship issues, things that were just lazy/sloppy finishes, where I expect more for the price I paid. Still working with them to take care of some of those issues. That side of customer service seems to be going ok. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We don't have your info so we can't follow up directly. If there are issues that we can still address, please contact us at customerservice@sheahomes.com. Thank you. shea ... More

star-rating Great sales and post sales experience. Design process is terrible

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jindou L.
  • Carlsbad, CA
  • November 27, 2020

I loved working with the sales team before we purchased the property. And post sales was great as well. The final product is nice. But the design process was bad. Response was slow and when we got a hold of the designer, it felt like she did not care to really help us. And got to a point where she was not responding to our requests. Kind of like seeing a surgeon who is ready to punch the clock. And I mean we are spending a ton of money to buy the house, at least act like you care. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback, Jindou. I've passed your comment along to the management team for our San Diego division. shea ... More

star-rating Miscommunications and quality control disappointment

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Mesa, AZ
  • March 02, 2021

There were several miscommunications with the Shea sales. It ultimately was resolved but it was a hassle That I had to fight and argue each time, Something that no one should go through during the purchase of a new own. So stressful. The quality control is not up to the level that I would expect. There were several things that needed to be replaced and fixed upon moving in. It’s like they are just slapping these homes together so fast and the quality is lacking. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Hello. Thank you for your feedback on your home buying experience. We don't have your info so we can't follow up directly. If there is anything that you would like to review with us, please contact customerservice@sheahomes.com. Thank you. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - many things that were not complete at move in, had to deal with

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Huntington Beach, CA
  • November 12, 2020

many things that were not complete at move in, had to deal with workers coming to fix things for the past 4 months

star-rating Shea Homes - dissappointed with the overall quality and lack of customer support...need

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Encinitas, CA
  • January 12, 2021

dissappointed with the overall quality and lack of customer support...need to elevate any issues to corporate before anything gets resolved. 4 months after movein, still don't have all of the features operational. general quality is also dissappointing....virtually no sound insulation between 1st and 2nd floors, garage floor was cracked, numerous chips on driveway, fit and finish of cabinets is off, etc. ... More

star-rating New plans with changes?

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Heather W.
  • Missouri City, TX
  • November 06, 2020

We ultimately love our house. We built a plan that had some updates- however, those updates were specifically reviewed with us.

star-rating Lost the magic

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • John M.
  • Gilbert, AZ
  • September 15, 2020

Our second Shea home purchase has proved to be a disappointment. The sales and design teams are wonderful. After that, it goes drastically down hill, at least in this build site. Maybe it’s different elsewhere. 85% of our house is wonderful and exactly what we hoped it would be. The other 15% is frustrating and disappointing and problems that should have been addressed before we moved in. And now they have to be fixed after the fact. Sloppy painting, an obviously incorrectly installed linen cabinet, incomplete and rushed installation of kitchen cabinets and associated equipment, incomplete exterior painting, broken doors, stained countertops, wrong door lock which correcting left a gap in the paint, disconnected internet ports. In short, every aspect of the home had or has something wrong with it. And at this point, we don’t trust the workers to fix it properly or Shea to follow up on that work. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We apologize you have had struggles with some items in your home, we will have our customer service representative reach out to you to follow up for repairs on these items. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - we had a misaligned microwave, misaligned under sink bathroom

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Leilani F.
  • Chula Vista, CA
  • January 12, 2021

we had a misaligned microwave, misaligned under sink bathroom cabinets (big one and you wouldnt notice until you put stuff in there) paint not cleaned in 2 of the windows, dishwasher they loaned (due to delay from covid) made a leak in our kitchen so we never got to use, crack on the wall, obviously bent fence -- we're 2 months at our home now and these except for the dishwasher and the bathroom cabinet are still the same. we were promised a touch up paint but never got it either. we've contacted them multiple times but nothing. there are things you wont really notice in the customer walkthrough so i suggest if you can really spend double the time given to be sure. some of it we told JAVIER (from the walkthrough, and the one assigned to fix things) even before closing but he said "you're going to delay closing if we fix this" which would be a hassle if you had moving plans already. he said we have the 1,5,11 month program (visiting the home to make sure everything is fine) so we can fix it then. well that 1 month have passed and guess what, only 2 issues got fixed. ... More

star-rating Lack of communication. Especially with a first time buyer.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Alex B.
  • Queen Creek, AZ
  • December 02, 2020

Personally want to thank Shea for our new home. It's our first. The experience has been very rocky at times, but overall I am happy to be in our home. Shea Mortgage was probably the best experience of all. However when it came to the building experience, the Design Center would be the worst. Followed by sales. Because there was a lack of accountability, we as new home builders rarely felt like we were given all of the information and/or could have been directed better. When something came up (and it did several times) we were told it was too late or we should have known better. I never try to blame others, it's not my thing but for the builders to blame the home buyers was a first. Now with the overall move in. So far we are getting things fixed in our first year but again, there seems to be a theme with Shea when it comes to clean, honest communication. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback. Our customer service team will be in touch with you. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - My heater went out and this was not considered urgent.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Maria H.
  • Castle Pines, CO
  • January 12, 2021

My heater went out and this was not considered urgent. It was only 60 in the house. My mom is 75 and can’t do stairs so she was freezing. But nope not even a call back. Ridiculous.

Shea Homes responded:
Hi Maria, we regret that you were unhappy with how this situation was handled. We’ll have a manager reach out to you to discuss this. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Mortgage was awful to work with

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Wesley P.
  • Aurora, CO
  • March 31, 2021

Everything but Shea Mortgage was great! The loan officer was difficult with a super easy loan. I had to correct him on how he calculated my debt to income ratio. Unfortunately, I realized he made other mistakes after we purchased our home. This mistake resulted in a higher interest rate which is very upsetting. The loan officer made purchasing this home a bad experience. I do not recommend Shea Mortgage. Otherwise, Shea builds a high quality home and customer service from Shea as a builder is outstanding. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Hello. Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were not happy with your Shea Mortgage experience. Charlene from our team will call you to follow up. shea ... More

star-rating Shea Homes - There are way too many issues with the quality and workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Kai P.
  • Encinitas, CA
  • December 08, 2020

There are way too many issues with the quality and workmanship of the house. Very disappointed with the builder. I'm spending hundreds of hours that the builder should have spent in the first place to quality check their production and fix the issues. They shouldn't fall on the shoulders of home owners. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear you are unhappy with your experience and home. Our management team will follow up with you. Thank you. shea ... More

star-rating Not Respectful and shows bad attitude

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Vani B.
  • Mountain House, CA
  • December 09, 2020

These Builder or executives who face client are very rude, shows attitude and not respected at all. They are not customer friendly, they are not flexible at all when it comes to setting up any appointment.

Shea Homes responded:
We're sorry that your experience with us was not as expected. Our management team will be in contact with you. Thank you. shea ... More

star-rating Poor Craftsmanship, Extremely cheap finishes

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Sean R.
  • Manvel, TX
  • April 01, 2021

I have purchased several homes over the years and my new Shea home is by for the worst. The only reason i purchased the home is i was being relocated by my job and needed an inventory home immediately and this one was available. Everything in this home, the sinks, the tubs, the fixtures, shower heads, lighting, light switches, door knobs, ceiling fans, faucets and cabinets are all of the cheapest quality. I wouldn't think that such cheap material would be used in a 410k home. The paint and caulk was finished extremely sloppy. I have been living in the home just over a month and i have noticed the the tubs and sinks have scratches, I have found chips in counter tops, areas of exterior brick work missing mortar. This home was just thrown together by the cheapest bid winner. I researched some contractors the Shea builders hire for work and some of the contractors average 2 and 3 stars with aweful reviews. I expected more but i am disappointed with my new purchase. Living in the home i am constantly finding new things that are wrong with the home. Would i ever buy another Shea home or reference anyone i know to buy a Shea home, the answer is simple NO! ... More

star-rating Careless

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Randy C.
  • Spring, TX
  • February 16, 2021

Take your business elsewhere. Shea built us a subpar home that is not worth the premium pricing they asked for. There was very little receptiveness to criticism from us pointing out even the most obvious of issues. Ask to meet and talk to the construction manager before deciding to sign the contract. ... More

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback, Randy. Our team is and has been working with you to address your concerns about the home. We believe we will be able to effectively address these concerns in the normal course of business. shea ... More