Skip main navigation

Shea Homes Reviews in San Diego, CA

What San Diego Homeowners Have to Say About Shea Homes.

Read all 30 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Shea Homes in the San Diego area. San Diego homeowners have rated Shea Homes an average 4.3 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Shea Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Shea Homes

has 4.3 out of 5 stars in San Diego Area

30 Reviews in San Diego Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.3

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.3

Responsiveness 3.9

Customer Reviews

Shea Homes - I had a great experience with this builder and all the staff

  • Josephine M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 08, 2022
  • Valley Center, CA

I had a great experience with this builder and all the staff are very nice. I know it was a long process, but I knew it from the beginning because of this pandemic but it was worth it to wait. Price of the house was great. Over all is excellent. Thanks to all the staff, specially to Hella, Brian and Eddie.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - Excellent experience through the entire purchase experience.

  • Mark R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 08, 2022
  • San Diego, CA

Excellent experience through the entire purchase experience.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Great experience all the way around!

  • Anthony F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 02, 2022
  • Valley Center, CA

The entire team was very proffessional and informative. It was a pleasurable and easy buying experience.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - Took care of us from start to finish.

  • Edward G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 01, 2022
  • Valley Center, CA

Took care of us from start to finish. Great experience as a first time home buyer!

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Great end to end experience

  • Candy Z.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 24, 2022
  • San Diego, CA

Great end to end experience.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Great sales staff and great follow up

  • Ronald C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 25, 2021
  • Carlsbad, CA

The homes are built with quality. The sales staff were great. The follow up care is outstanding.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - All Shea Homes reps I was in contact with throughout the process

  • Michelle R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 16, 2021
  • Chula Vista, CA

All Shea Homes reps I was in contact with throughout the process were awesome and nothing short of helpful. Josephine was excellent during the purchase. Javier and Angel were great during the 1 month check. We love our new home!!!

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Customer Service

  • Shari C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2021
  • Encinitas, CA

Buying a new home is always a very involved process and The Shea staff has been very communicative and serving and have followed through thoroughly and professionally on any challenge that presented itself... with a great attitude. We felt very “taken care of” throughout the process.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - The best part of the experience was working with Sandy in the

  • David S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 07, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

The best part of the experience was working with Sandy in the sales office. She made everything seamless.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Good price

  • Jai R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 12, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

Very good floor plan

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - Highly recommend buying a home with Shea!

  • Katherine C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 11, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

Highly recommend buying a home with Shea! Great experience!

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Excellent quality, beautifully designed, Amazing People

  • Jane N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 29, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

Shea has quality construction and everything is beautifully designed. Plus They have amazing people that will take good care of you both before and after the sale. Top notch service!

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Outstanding experience working with Shea Homes

  • Erlan M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 26, 2020
  • Chula Vista, CA

All around outstanding customer service and experience buying a home with Shea Homes. As a first time home buyer, our sales representative made the whole process a smooth and pleasant experience! Would definitely purchase again with Shea Homes.

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Stunning Homes!

  • Joanne L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 17, 2020
  • Encinitas, CA

Customer service is excellent. Attention to detail is thorough and highly professional. Design and technology are impeccable, modern and beautiful!

Total Score 5


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes is proud of its new home communities and it shows

  • Stephen S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 18, 2021
  • Carlsbad, CA

I have never experienced such complete care and responsiveness as I have with SheaHomes. Every Shea employee demonstrated commitment to excellence and I am both impressed and satisfied.

Total Score 5


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

The hand over process was great and has continued to be supportive. Very pleased with that.

  • Timothy H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 02, 2021
  • Carlsbad, CA

The sales staff were great. Transition team were terrific. Site is well designed and home is great.

Total Score 5


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - My experience with the Shea representatives was excellent!

  • Michael F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 01, 2020
  • Chula Vista, CA

My experience with the Shea representatives was excellent! The team you have at Shea Sierra are amazing!

Total Score 5


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - Good and fast customer service

  • Lee E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 03, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

Good and fast customer service

Total Score 5


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

Shea Homes - So excited to be a part of Marquee!

  • Joseph M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 06, 2022
  • San Diego, CA

So excited to be a part of Marquee! Shea team was great!

Total Score 5


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

Shea Homes - Easy process and good quality home

  • Cristina B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 10, 2020
  • Encinitas, CA

Easy process and good quality home

Total Score 5


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

Shea Homes - Repairs are still pending, I had to send emails again

  • Seung P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2021
  • Chula Vista, CA

Repairs are still pending, I had to send emails again

Total Score 5


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Poor craftsmanship

  • Tara R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 22, 2022
  • San Diego, CA

Customer service has not paid attention to detailed request. Disorganized. Perhaps volume of repairs & poor craftsman gas made job more difficult to keep up with it’s understandable nothing would be perfect but I’ve had to repeat my request multiple times to clarify previous concerns. Most alarming leaky sink.

Total Score 4


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

The sales department was the best Custumer service of all the Shea home experience

  • Shirin S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 23, 2022
  • San Diego, CA

They used a lot of extra material for the model home that I bought which I really did not like there was not any option to change any of it. Which I thought was not fair if I am paying $80000 Above the actual price due to upgrades I should have been able to make some changes They way I like it not to pay that much extra because someone else decided for me. The garage opening is super small. I wish they could make some changes to that every in and out of the garage is a challenge. And finally the loan department is not customer friendly at all. Thank you for asking about my opinion I sure hope ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Great sales and post sales experience. Design process is terrible

  • Jindou L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 27, 2020
  • Carlsbad, CA

I loved working with the sales team before we purchased the property. And post sales was great as well. The final product is nice. But the design process was bad. Response was slow and when we got a hold of the designer, it felt like she did not care to really help us. And got to a point where she was not responding to our requests. Kind of like seeing a surgeon who is ready to punch the clock. And I mean we are spending a ton of money to buy the house, at least act like you care.

Shea Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback, Jindou. I've passed your comment along to the management team for our San Diego division. shea

Total Score 3


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Shea Homes - dissappointed with the overall quality and lack of customer support...need

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2021
  • Encinitas, CA

dissappointed with the overall quality and lack of customer support...need to elevate any issues to corporate before anything gets resolved. 4 months after movein, still don't have all of the features operational. general quality is also dissappointing....virtually no sound insulation between 1st and 2nd floors, garage floor was cracked, numerous chips on driveway, fit and finish of cabinets is off, etc.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 1