Skip main navigation

Pulte Homes Reviews in Washington, MD

What Washington Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes.

Read all 255 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Pulte Homes in the Washington area. Washington homeowners have rated Pulte Homes an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Pulte Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Pulte Homes

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in Washington Area

255 Reviews in Washington Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4

Responsiveness 4.1

Customer Reviews

Love the house, hated the homebuying experience.

  • Jacquelyn R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

While we love the house and the neighborhood, the process of getting here was terrible and we will never go through Pulte again. You have to stay on top of them on every little thing and not trust them to do what they say. Get everything in writing, check every option you pick for your home, follow up on the price of everything because they will get so much wrong and will try to overcharge every chance they get. Be aware that their mortgage options through Pulte are very invasive and will require more financial paperwork and hoops to jump through than a regular bank will, although the extra ...

Pulte Homes responded:
While we are glad to hear that you love your home, we are so sorry that your experience was unpleasant and you didn't feel you could trust your local team. If there is anything we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - Would not purchase from Pulte again.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 13, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Would not purchase from Pulte again. Communication and transparency are lacking.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you experienced bad communication while building your new home. We would be happy to look into an unaddressed concerns you have experienced. If so, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Pulte Homes - the qualitiey of the sink is poor,

  • MaryEsther N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 08, 2020
  • Germantown, MD

the qualitiey of the sink is poor,

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of your home. If there are any concerns we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AS

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Pulte Homes - Awful experience with mortgage and finance department

  • Rich R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 22, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Awful experience with mortgage and finance department

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience working with Pulte Mortgage. If there is any additional feedback you would like us to share with them, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Townhouse

  • Ronald C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 14, 2020
  • Ashburn, VA

Issues show up daily. Overpriced extras.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear this, but we thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share or if we can help get any of your issues addressed, we're always listening at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 4

Rushed to complete house to meet settlement date

  • John W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 13, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Too many problems when we moved in. For the price we paid the problems should have been corrected.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are dealing with unresolved concerns with your home and that you felt rushed to close. We would like to help address these items for you and would greatly appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of these unresolved concerns along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Unusual Experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 12, 2021
  • Dumfries, VA

We were impressed with the design and spec of the house and decided to go with Pulte vs. other builders during the pandemic. Once we sat down, we recognized several red flags but went ahead because we needed a place. The first one was the premium for the lot. We asked for an estimate of a property next door and the price difference was outrageous. It wasn't a few hundreds but a more than ten thousand with less options than our current lot. Then, they wanted to charge us for LED lights that we later found out it was standard. Then they reduce the points for the Realtor once they found ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate hearing that you had such a frustrating experience and now regret your decision to build a home with us. If there are any concerns we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to share, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Sewage Flood

  • Brian K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 19, 2019
  • Germantown, MD

Sewage Flood - Pulte response was to offer $100 visa gift card.

Pulte Homes responded:
This is incredibly disappointing to hear and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. If there is anything we can help address or if you would like to discuss further, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Great looking homes but not so great to live in

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 03, 2022
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Pros: - Appearance and layout of home - Sales staff and build manager are responsive, informative and easy to work with - Base selection options (appliances, cabinets, flooring etc) were generally all decent quality - Builder's mortgage was competitive and great to work with (always shop around other loan estimates) Cons: - Horrendous impact sound insulation. If you have neighbors, especially upstairs/downstairs you WILL hear every footstep, door opening and cabinet closing they do. I can't emphasize enough how poor the sound insulation is, I would be more than happy to pay a higher sales ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at customersupport@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 4

Great Sales Team member "Mary Dela Vega"

  • Korey C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 30, 2021
  • Laurel, MD

House had a lot of imperfections in the paint job, flooring buckling, spackling of outside stairs had holes in it and concrete perfections on the outside stairs leading to front door. gouges in the garage floor.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at customersupport@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Lack of Creativity

  • Maleka G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Laurel, MD

There was a serious lack of creativity when it came to figuring out the siding delay. It was very frustrating! Not to mention that communication did not come from the top down. It’s important that customers know that companies care; not just the sales people.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience working with our team but we thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback so we can share it with leadership. If there are any outstanding concerns we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you again. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

get everything fixed prior to closing - slow warranty service afterwards

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 05, 2020
  • Dumfries, VA

Warranty service is very slow and sometimes unresponsive. I have to email/ call multiple times for same issue before someone finally gets back to me..

Pulte Homes responded:
We are disappointed to hear that our warranty response has not been excellent. If you could please send your full name, address and contact information along with some additional information regarding your warranty requests to customersupport@pultegroup.com we would be happy to send your concerns over to local leadership for their review. ^AS

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Very disappointed with after move in

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 24, 2020
  • Gaithersburg, MD

I wish Plute’s sale person could have provided truth rather than misleading information to convince the customers to buy the condo. For example, I was told by the sale that the building will be using Pulte patent structure and we will not hear noise from upstairs. It turns out not true, I can hear neighbors above me walking around their rooms. If the sale did not exaggerate, I will buy the unit on the top floor. I asked the sale if I could have hardwood floor instead of carpet for the bedrooms. He told me that it is not an option item, but I can always change to hardwood floor after moving ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you were given unclear information and are not completely satisfied with your new home. We would like to learn more about this situation and work with you to make things right. Please send some additional information to customersupport@pultegroup.com and our team would be happy to assist. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Overpromised, under delivered

  • Daniel M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 07, 2019
  • Germantown, MD

I can preface this with "should have gotten everything in writing", but in the moment easier said than done. Our experience started off great with a sales person telling us everything we wanted to hear, immediately after signing to start construction the experience began to degrade. Communication in the beginning was horrendous. All of the meetings we were told would be scheduled(in regards to construction) never were, unless we called endlessly to schedule them. The field managers were great during the build process but the quality of work was sub par. It appears that all of the contracts ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we wish for you to have during your home building journey. We'd really like an opportunity to work with you to correct these issues and make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can be in touch. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Poor quality esthetics Won’t recommend

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 25, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Poor quality esthetics Won’t recommend

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at customersupport@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Homes - Visit your homesite constantly to view progress.

  • Kori S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Visit your homesite constantly to view progress.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are disappointed to hear that you didn't feel like you could trust your local team as they built your home. We would like to learn more so we can work to address these concerns accordingly. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of the situation along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

disappointed

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 19, 2020
  • Gaithersburg, MD

The quality of the material used is a very low grade. No proper insulation, even the noise of TV can be heard by the neighbors. Quality of the wood floors are terrible, with a small contact they get scratched, tiles in the bathroom are loose, crack on the wall.

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate to hear that you aren't impressed with the quality of materials used to build your new home but thank you for taking the time to leave a review. If there is any additional feedback you would like to provide or anything we can assist with, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and our team would be happy to assist. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

The community is nice but so far our experience with builder is not great.

  • Silvia C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 17, 2022
  • Dumfries, VA

This is the 3rd new home that we have purchased in the last 10 years or so. Initially, everything sounded great and it seemed as if Pulte truly stood behind what their employees said. Now we are noticing too many issues with the craftsmanship and no one giving a solution to the repairs needed from a water leak. There has been a hole in our main floor roof for almost 3 weeks now and we are told that someone needs to come assess the situation AGAIN next week. Most of the craftsmanship issues are misalignment of cabinets/drawers, door latches and hinges, and french doors. Also making cuts too ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief description of your issues, address and contact information so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Poor quality and non responsive to requests to fix

  • Maggie Y.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 02, 2022
  • Dumfries, VA

The sales consultant and construction folks were very responsive and thorough but the quality and workmanship is so, so poor. After closing there were areas that were not painted that we did not catch, the stairwell started chipping, the railings were crooked, things that were promised at the walk through were not followed up on. The worst part is that I had a leak in my basement that wet a large area of the carpet and now the dry wall has been cut to look for the leak and it’s been almost a month and nothing has been fixed. I went over a list of items that needed to be fixed because it was ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of your new home and are experiencing concerns since moving in. We would be happy to escalate these concerns for you if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of the issues along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Poor Workmanship & the Cheapest Materials Ever Seen!!!

  • Kerrie A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 23, 2021
  • Laurel, MD

This has been the worst experience ever & I’m so disappointed in my new home. I went from super excited to experiencing the worst disappointment of my life. The worst decision ever. I wish I went with a different Company!!!!!

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of your new home and are experiencing concerns since moving in. We would be happy to escalate these concerns for you if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of the issues along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

LIED TO AND BULLIED FROM DAY 1

  • Devin T.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 04, 2022
  • Dumfries, VA

I should have known dealing with Pulte was going to be a disaster from day one. From the very initial VIP phone call, all the way through the entire almost 18-month process has been nothing but a disaster and lies. Pulte only cares about the money and does not care about their customers or doing the right thing for its customers. Pulte manipulates and twists things around and takes advantage of their clients. They are greedy and they are unethical. I have more faith and trust in a used car salesman than I do dealing with Pulte. I would never suggest or recommend anyone have a home built by ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry you had this experience and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

I would not trust Pulte

  • Diana A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2022
  • Laurel, MD

Make sure you get your price in writing, and signed. I was given a price, paid my deposit, then got a call the next day saying they were increasing the price by $10k, take it or leave it. Since they never countersigned, they had a legal right to do this and they would not budge. Clearly, profits took priority over customer service and integrity.

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Thompson. We are so sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience working with our sales team. We take this feedback seriously and have shared it with leadership for their review. If there is any additional feedback you would like to provide or anything we can help address, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you.

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Lack of Responsiveness to questions

  • Raymond O.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 06, 2022
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Its has been a horrible sales experience and the followup has been even worst. I wouldn't purchase a Pulte Homes property again. I feel that your company doesn't care about their customers and its all about the money!!

Pulte Homes responded:
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and let us know how we can improve. We apologize that our communication has not been up to par and will certainly share these comments with our local leadership team. If you have additional feedback, we're always listening at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Minimal communication from construction manager, felt like a

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 12, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Minimal communication from construction manager, felt like a number to Pulte

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry that a lack of communication made you feel like you weren't a priority for our team. If there is anything we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and make sure to include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Terrible communication from start to end, terrible quality and

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 24, 2020
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Terrible communication from start to end, terrible quality and overpriced! I made a costly mistake!

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry you have experienced poor communication and feel your home purchase was a mistake. If there is anything we can do to assist or any additional information you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 1