Pulte Homes

star-rating (2428 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes

Pulte Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Pulte Homes’s 2428 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2428 Reviews - 473 Communities

5 ★(1194)

4 ★(523)

3 ★(346)

2 ★(196)

1 ★(169)

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

star-rating 03-2020-Stonehaven -Boerne, TX

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Boerne, TX
  • May 26, 2020

Paid extra for an upgrade. Not worth it. Tiles & Grout were not sealed. Tiles have stained marks & excess grout. Bannister missing screws and nut bolt exposed. A toilet is loose. Vents/Extractors in bathrooms very inefficient. Places for show only. Paint lines crooked. White paint on the metal rails. POWER keeps tripping. Outside railing not stained. Garage and driveway excess cement not cleaned. Garden not weeded before closing. 30 day walk through still not done. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate to see this list of concerns and hear that they have not been addressed. If we can help in any way or if you would like to provide additional information, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and our team would be happy to discuss. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Awful customer service and a whole bunch of issues with the sales team and construction quality control

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Joshua T.
  • Westfield, IN
  • May 26, 2020

We had many issues throughout the build process, most were due to the incompetence of the sales rep. On several occasions we were told we were getting one product by the sales rep only to find out too late in the build process that those items that heavily swayed our decision to purchase, either 1. Weren't available, or 2. Were only available if we chose a different option or 3. We were mislead on what we were getting. I could go on and on but there's not enough space. We never even got a response from supervisors when we had issues that warranted it. Overall there are so many issues, and now that we have closed the builder has been silent ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate hearing that you felt frustrated throughout your new home build and were not able to get the additions to your home that you wanted. We would like to make things right and would appreciate if you could email customersupport@pultegroup.com with some additional information so we can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Homes built as cheap as possible

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Nicolas R.
  • Fort Myers, FL
  • May 26, 2020

Pulte has some good home designs, but in the end, they fall short because they hire the cheapest labor possible using the cheapest materials possible. Fit and finish is terrible, and there doesn't seem to be any inspection of the work performed. For example, many of the doors inside the house don't close. EVERY window has crooked or wavy framing and drywall work. The floor tiles throughout the house are uneven so furniture wobbles. Any purchased upgrades use the least expensive materials possible. The homes would be much better quality if someone actually followed up on the work performed to make sure it was done correctly. That piece seems to be missing. It would have been beneficial to have hired my own home inspector to follow up periodically during the build. On the bright side, the WildBlue area is beautiful. Landscaping is done well. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback as it is essential to us in bettering the new home build process for our customers. We are concerned that you are experiencing these issues with your new home and would like to look into the situation. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch we would greatly appreciate it. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Quality of Construction is Poor

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Ravi G.
  • Apex, NC
  • April 08, 2020

Quality of Construction is Poor and they just want to sell the houses. They also build the same elevation houses next to each other.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you aren't satisfied with your experience and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention so that we can share them with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Very disappointed with after move in

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Gaithersburg, MD
  • February 24, 2020

I wish Plute’s sale person could have provided truth rather than misleading information to convince the customers to buy the condo. For example, I was told by the sale that the building will be using Pulte patent structure and we will not hear noise from upstairs. It turns out not true, I can hear neighbors above me walking around their rooms. If the sale did not exaggerate, I will buy the unit on the top floor. I asked the sale if I could have hardwood floor instead of carpet for the bedrooms. He told me that it is not an option item, but I can always change to hardwood floor after moving in. That’s why I did not upgrade the carpet since I will change it to hardwood floor. After moving in, I was told that I cannot change carpet to hardwood floor for bedrooms due to county regulations for the condo! I would like to have the fan in the bathroom connected with shower light instead of vanity light. The sale and field manager told me they cannot do it, but ensure me that it is very easy to be switched after moving in. After moving in, the electrician informed me it is very complicated/impossible to switch it! I was happy with Pulte until I moved in and found these problems. Pulte should provide true information to customers especially when it can have big impact on customers’ decision. Also, Pulte does not provide spared tiles and paints to home owners. If these are important to you, you better add them in the contract. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you were given unclear information and are not completely satisfied with your new home. We would like to learn more about this situation and work with you to make things right. Please send some additional information to customersupport@pultegroup.com and our team would be happy to assist. ^Abby ... More

star-rating I will never recommend Pulte Homes

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Trisha S.
  • Pflugerville, TX
  • February 20, 2020

I have entirely too much negative feedback to share but let’s just leave it there - i’ve lived in the house almost 4 months and they are still coming in and out of my home to fix things that should have been done before we closed.

Pulte Homes responded:
It's disappointing that you have so much negative feedback that you don't want to type it all out but we thank you for taking the time to summarize your experience. We would be happy to assist in working with you to finish resolving your concerns. To do so, please email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Tough to recommend this homebuilder

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Brian F.
  • Duvall, WA
  • February 19, 2020

I base this review only off of our personal experience. We have talked to other people who had a positive experience with their homes. We however have not. Things that we have experienced: Construction delays (installed the wrong color of cabinets, smoke detectors did not work properly and were not identified until the day of closing), poor build quality for what we paid for the house, problems that were identified well ahead of closing that were not fixed and still haven't been fixed after two months of living in our home. Hopefully soon on that though though. After living in our home for almost 2 months, I would have a very hard time recommending Pulte to anyone I know. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate to hear that you had construction delays and are not pleased with the quality of your new home but we thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can be of assistance. We would like to help get these items moved along and would appreciate if you could send some additional information to customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Feedback on home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • February 18, 2020

Very average. Helpfulness and getting issues handles very poor

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We apologize that you haven't been receiving excellent customer service and we'd like to know more about your experience and how we can improve. We're always listening at customersupport@pultegroup.com. ^Sarah ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Kyle D.
  • Albuquerque, NM
  • January 21, 2020

We moved in almost 2 months ago and we still have issues from before closing that have not been resolved.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling disappointed and we encourage you to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can learn more and assist in getting your issues addressed. ^Abby ... More

star-rating ELP House Review

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Orlando, FL
  • January 21, 2020

Our initial build was not what you would expect from a new home of this caliber. However, Pulte so far has stood behind making it right and getting the home where it should have been at closing. This is completely due to Kristi from the Pulte Warranty department and in no now way reflects the oversight of the initial build process. There are still 3 more vendors coming to do work with the worst one being Synergy - which in a month and 10 days after close has still not completed the work we paid for when we bought the home. Also, the tile floor is on round 3 of being fixed and is still WIP. At the end of the day, we are confident we will be where things should have been with this house. Pulte has been good in that regard with most of the issues now resolved. But this is not the process any buyer of a new home should have to experience. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you have had a frustrating experience but we are glad to hear that our team is working to resolve your concerns. If there is any additional feedback you would like to provide or anything else we can assist with, please don't hesitate to email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Home not done!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Phil H.
  • Henderson, NV
  • January 21, 2020

Many, many aspects of the home were not completed at closing. There are many flaws throughout the house.

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience, we want you to have. We'd really like an opportunity to discuss this feedback with you and try to make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Honest review meets their ‘guidelines’?

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Florence, AZ
  • January 16, 2020

Struggle to get repairs completed! When repairs are finally made, the repairs are shoddy and careless. Things go from bad to worse when trying to get things fixed under warranty.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry our warranty response hasn't been satisfactory, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. If there are unresolved issues that we can assist with, you can always reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • William K.
  • Wesley Chapel, FL
  • January 08, 2020

Very disappointed with all the issues that needed an need to be delt with

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us but we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Please feel free to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Dr. Shah

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Dr. S.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • January 07, 2020

Problems keep popping up which shouldn’t happen. Very lazy with requests.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt follow up on your repair items and we'd like to know more about the situation so we can assist. Please don't hesitate to email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Bad experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Wenbin Z.
  • Fremont, CA
  • December 10, 2019

When I receive the keys, the walls are cracked. The doors are cracked. The garage doors are wrong.

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we want you to have. We'd really like an opportunity to discuss this feedback with you and try to make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Overpromised, under delivered

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Daniel M.
  • Germantown, MD
  • December 07, 2019

I can preface this with "should have gotten everything in writing", but in the moment easier said than done. Our experience started off great with a sales person telling us everything we wanted to hear, immediately after signing to start construction the experience began to degrade. Communication in the beginning was horrendous. All of the meetings we were told would be scheduled(in regards to construction) never were, unless we called endlessly to schedule them. The field managers were great during the build process but the quality of work was sub par. It appears that all of the contracts were given to the lowest bidder. "every" piece of visual detail was awful. Spackle was used as a universal fix for everything. Trim falling off the wall? Just lean it back up, no one will notice. To say the process was stressful would be an understatement. All in all once you get in the home and either repair issues yourself or just get over the small things, the home is nice, but if I had to do it over again I likely wouldn't have gone with a pulte new construction home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we wish for you to have during your home building journey. We'd really like an opportunity to work with you to correct these issues and make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Below average quality at an above average price

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Christopher J.
  • Winter Springs, FL
  • December 04, 2019

We have been in the house for 2 months in a new neighborhood. Between HOA issues, improperly installed irrigation systems, non-working electrical outlets, Bon-working heat pump, counter-top defects and other issues; we have had a contractor at the house every week since we moved in. The USPS couldn’t even get us our mail for over 3 weeks after we moved in, b/c Pulte didn’t get them a key to the mailboxes. Very disappointing to this point. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can assist in getting your concerns addressed. ^Abby ... More

star-rating The sales persons response time was zero. To get one answer from him took 5 days. Pathetic.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sheena L.
  • Tomball, TX
  • December 04, 2019

He wouldnt response to emails, texts or phone calls.

Pulte Homes responded:
We apologize if you've been having a hard time getting in touch with the local team, but we can help with that! Please send an email to socialcare@pultegroup.com with your address and contact info so we can assist. ... More

star-rating Quality of the home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Hopkinton, MA
  • November 28, 2019

Pulte has not built our home to the expectations that Pulte has in the market. Our basement leaked and we had a contract come and fill it, but it's still unfinished, we moved the end of September and it's almost December but it has not been finished. I am surprised that there are no gutters on the side and the back of the house, Pulte has to do better than what is just expected of them. Overall, with garage door having an issue, crack on walls, poor quality paint every where, I am disappointed in the work and the quality of our home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you aren't happy with the quality of your new home. We would like to assist in getting your concerns addressed and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Not The highest quality,

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Adam M.
  • Liberty Hill, TX
  • October 02, 2019

From the street it looks amazing, after being in the house for a few months you find all the things not done or half done. - Paint on the outside stone (a lot) from when they painted the trim - Drywall tape coming off, multiple spots - They used broken base when doing the trim. - Bad caulking job everywhere - The dampeners in the attic were not even hooked up to power and are set to off. (WOW) - They used 1/4 round on the base in the main area of the house because they couldn't schedule the trim after the flooring was done, you do this when you screw up. - 3 doors didn't even latch when you shut them. - I'm still finding issues. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Adam. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that you have unresolved concerns. Please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will be in contact. ^Abby ... More

star-rating A cosmetic disappointment

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Sara H.
  • Wadsworth, OH
  • September 19, 2019

Be diligent about addressing issues with the home. They’ll try to sneak them by you and cross their fingers you don’t notice. We upgraded and paid for paint and have been horribly disappointed. There were several spots that were missed. A lot of dry wall issues because someone left the windows open and it rained and the drywall on the windowsills are all cracked. Front door painted black but painted with the door open so there is black paint splatter on our light gray floors. Uneven walls. The trim on our stairwell was painted white which splattered on the upgraded rod spindles. It’s hard to look past all these issues. The list gets longer the longer we live here. There was little care or attention to detail to provide a quality home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Sara. We are so sorry that you have had such a negative home building experience. If you have outstanding concerns or want to discuss further, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will look into the situation. ^Abby ... More

star-rating TERRIBLE attention to detail.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Fort Mill, SC
  • September 11, 2019

I highly recommend working with a smaller, more localized builder or purchasing an existing home and working with a contractor you can pay more attention to detail with along the way in order to customize. Overall, we like our home because we chose the neighborhood over the floor plans to begin with, but we are also willing and able enough to fix the mistakes made by the builder on our own and with the help of [capable] contractors. Based on the quality of work, we are glad we passed on several builder upgrades so that we can have them installed by true professionals. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry we haven't lived up to our goal of delivering an excellent home buying experience for you, but we're very appreciative that you took the time to leave this feedback. If there is anything else you'd like to share with us, or any issues we can help address, we're always reachable at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Never see the terrible workmanship!!!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Decatur, GA
  • August 08, 2019

This is the second time for me to buy a new home(previous one was from Bezer). Pulte hired non-professional workman and did a terrible job and the quality control is also not in place. The workmanship is totally worse than a DYI. Even the house was closed, the house still needs a lot of work. If I can upload photos, I surely will present them. To buy a new home from Pulte actually buys yourself frustration, I am still dealing with Pulte. ... More

star-rating Good floor plan and construction, poor home buying experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Philippe B.
  • Carmel, IN
  • August 07, 2019

Pros: Good floor plan (Alison), Very Nice and competent building manager ( Ryan) Cons: Inflexible and contract focused interactions with sales. ( If you have to ask for something that is not spelled out in the contract, don’t bother, the answer is NO). Excessive (in my opinion) “Earnest Money”.... more than $50K (10%) in our case. Once you have paid that much, you are locked in and not much room for flexibility/requests after that. Compared to our old Carmel subdivision, no pool, clubhouse. Not a welcoming HOA and community feel... got 2 “courtesy notices” within the first 3 weeks as we were still unpacking ( eg Trash visible) ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your experience and we appreciate you providing feedback so that we can share it with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you have additional comments or concerns, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Very frustrating experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Naperville, IL
  • August 07, 2019

I found the process to be very frustrating. I had a lot of surprises of things that were considered upgrades but that I would have expected were included. I found the field managers nice but not empowered to make hard decisions when it was related to mistakes made in the field. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're very sorry to hear that your experience left you feeling frustrated, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. If you'd like to discuss this with us, we'd be interested in learning how we could have done better. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More