Pulte Homes

star-rating (2428 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes

Pulte Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Pulte Homes’s 2428 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2428 Reviews - 473 Communities

5 ★(1194)

4 ★(523)

3 ★(346)

2 ★(196)

1 ★(169)

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

star-rating Likely will not repeat this mistake...

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Scott G.
  • Canton, GA
  • April 08, 2020

Several years back when I moved to Atlanta I had great experience with Pulte. They built my new townhouse and I was included each step of the way, had a great finished product and great follow up. For this purchase/build, I purposely sought them out as this was to be my 'retirement' home (as in I didn't want to move again until I truly retire in a few years). But with all that has happened since I financed with Pulte, took ownership of the house and lived here for a few weeks I do not plan to A) stay here for the long haul or B) invest in another Pulte home. As always I am glad to work with Pulte on the issues and a better result, as some of those folks have helped with several issues thus far. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We thank you for being a loyal Pulte Homes customer but we are sincerely disappointed to hear that you haven't had a superb experience this time around. We would like to learn more about this situation and see what we can do to help. If you could send some additional information to customersupport@pultegroup.com we would greatly appreciate it. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Disappointing experience with new Pulte Home at Lake Emma Sound

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 1

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Sunny K.
  • Lake Mary, FL
  • April 08, 2020

My wife and I fell in love with the model home and went ahead with purchasing of the home. The Sales Associate that we worked with was awesome. The building experience was not bad either. We relocated from Chicago so could only come down a few times to review the progress on the home. Project Manager building home Was responsive as well. We had scheduled our final walk through 6 weeks in advance and had requested an early morning meeting as my wife had to leave for business trip right away and was going to be gone until closing. The night before the PM calls to reschedule saying he had a closing to go to. The final walk through was done haphazardly. The day before the closing we were notified that due to some issue with Pulte and City of Lake Mary, they were not issuing us closing rights. My realtor and I had to rush to the City and ask them to allow the closing as the issue was not with the buyer but Pulte, and they accepted our appeal. Once we moved into the home, we have had issues with every appliance not hooked up properly, water not turned on etc. Poor to average workmanship in the home. This is the third new home that my wife and I have purchased and compared to the other 2 homes, the experience here leaves a sour taste. I will never buy another home from Pulte nor recommend any friends and family to buy from them. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are glad that you had a positive building experience but are truly disappointed that your walk-through/closing was difficult and you have unresolved issues with your new home. We would like to make leadership aware of this situation and learn what we can do to help. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com we would greatly appreciate it. ^Abby ... More

star-rating The home I just purchased was leaking from the master bedroom shower and the air ducts were making noise when heat is on! Customer service after purchase is very bad.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Nameer Y.
  • Macomb, MI
  • February 18, 2020

I don't recommend this builder to anyone.

Pulte Homes responded:
Oh no, we hate to hear that you haven't had a good experience with our customer support team. We would like to learn more about your situation so we can best assist you and would appreciate if you could email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Was sold on quality- but got the opposite.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Westfield, IN
  • February 17, 2020

Pulte talks a lot about quality but the contractors they use for fit and finish are terrible. We closed on our house and there are still a lot of issues that Pulte has yet to fix. From missing siding, to poor caulking, uneven drywall, scratched appliances- you name it. I am confident that our framework was done correctly but from a fit and finish standpoint Pulte misses every mark. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so disappointed to hear that you're not satisfied with the fit and finish of your new home. If you'd like to tell us more or if we can assist with anything, please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with your name and address so our team can look into this. ^Sarah ... More

star-rating Build sell and fix after the sale

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jeffery S.
  • Hollywood, FL
  • February 11, 2020

Very disappointed in the quality of workmanship. They rushed to finish in order to get paid before end of year. A number of things were not done correctly.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are incredibly sorry to hear that you have outstanding concerns with your home. We would like to discuss your experience with you and try to make things right. Please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with some additional information so our team can be in touch. Thank you. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Untrustworthy and Poor service!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Prashanth J.
  • McKinney, TX
  • January 26, 2020

The good - the build quality was generally good. It's been a month since I moved in and I see the quality and workmanship are comparatively good to homes that I had researched. The bad and the ugly - 1) I was cheated in the options package. I opted in for a smart home package which included among other things a smart garage door opener. This item along with the smart door lock were the only items which warranted the price quoted. I later learnt from neighbors that the smart garage door opener was standard and was installed even if we don't opt for the smart home package. I was never given an answer and no response was given as I found this late in the game just a couple of weeks before closing. Please do your due diligence - talk to neighbors before believing Pulte. 2) Since the day I've moved in I noticed that there was water that was continuously draining from my water meter into the drain in the streets. I made multiple calls to the builder. Though he came in to check on it a couple of times, he was unable to fix it and told me that it was a "mystery" to him. When I wanted to escalate as so much water was wasted and I had to pay the water bill - he lied to me saying the city had emailed him saying Pulte had to pay the bills until the issue was fixed. It's been > 50 days since I closed and the water still keeps flowing into the drain 24*7 with no end in sight. I would've never bought a home from them had i known this was the kind of service I'd expect ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are deeply disappointed to hear that you haven't experienced the level of service that we strive to provide to our customers. We would like to work with you to make things right and would appreciate if you could email some additional information along with your contact information to socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and provide ways that we can improve the home building experience. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Minimum quality for minimal price.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Durham, NC
  • January 07, 2020

Just closed on a new Pulte home and the they tried their best to get me to close with most of the finish work sub standard. I spent lots of energy getting them to do a half decent job when they tried to pass off substandard work. Subs rush through the work and don't care a bit about getting things straight, flat, or aligned. Pulte will attempt to fix things if you complain but even then it's still minimal quality. Go for a base home and add things after closing. Any extras you pay for aren't worth it because the workmanship is so poor. Make sure you get everything in writing because their word doesn't mean anything. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback so we can continue to improve the home building process. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt follow up on your repair items and we'd like to know more about the situation so we can assist. Please don't hesitate to email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Mixed Experience

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Ramlal V.
  • Louisville, KY
  • December 24, 2019

Hello, This is second time we are building a new home. This time it was from a big national builder-Pulte Homes. We liked their open concept plan and we think we got a good price for the house. But the build experience was bad. Lot of dried up drywall dust on the floor and windows, it was not cleaned up well especially on window frames. They had missed some key things we had purchased-no garage opening machine and keypads, flat panel tv package etc. The walk through and closing was all rushed because of issues with county inspections so we couldn't do a comprehensive check before closing. I do give credit they did address the missed items upon closing but quality of drywall painting and cleaning is something they have to address. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience and we encourage you to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can help get these issues addressed. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Sewage Flood

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Brian K.
  • Germantown, MD
  • December 19, 2019

Sewage Flood - Pulte response was to offer $100 visa gift card.

Pulte Homes responded:
This is incredibly disappointing to hear and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. If there is anything we can help address or if you would like to discuss further, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com ^Abby ... More

star-rating Disapointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Brian D.
  • Menifee, CA
  • November 12, 2019

This is my 3rd new house and the craftsmanship is disappointing, cheap materials, poor paint job, doors rub/warped. We have only been here a short time and now we are having appliance issues. The construction workers do not respect that someone is living here now, starting work before 7 am, parking in front of my house so guest can not, blocking my driveway. The supervisor was nice offering help after we moved in but he left with out introducing us to his replacement, abandoned us. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience as well as being unhappy with the quality of your home. We would like the chance to make things right and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com so a team member can be in touch. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Not a quality build

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Brian B.
  • Buckeye, AZ
  • October 30, 2019

Not happy with the quality of our build or the way the house was rushed to closing to meet numbers for builders production.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so disappointed to hear that you aren't happy with your new home. If you want to discuss further or have unresolved concerns, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will look into the situation. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Tortella Home Buying Experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Joseph T.
  • Schertz, TX
  • September 25, 2019

Reference the feedback I submitted back in August...very unpleasant experience dealing with the sales team and the lending team.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that Joseph and will definitely pass this information along. If you want to discuss further or have any other concerns please feel free to email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will be happy to assist. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Buyers Remorse with Pulte

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Wanda P.
  • Fort Mill, SC
  • September 25, 2019

Monitor the different building stages of your home. During your walk-through check all appliances to see if they open and work appropriately. Make sure the home is cleaned properly prior to you moving in.

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Wanda. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your home building experience. We would be more than happy to discuss further or to help you with unresolved issues. To do so please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and a team member will be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Parkside at Mason Mill

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Adam N.
  • Decatur, GA
  • September 04, 2019

Competitive pricing and features from a market review, nice location. Negatives are the initial sales process and that many of the items promised prior to closing were not fixed...subsequent follow up has been poor after the sale was completed. Recommend allowing enough time to hold accountability on getting items fixed PRIOR to closing. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear you haven't been happy with your experience. If you would like to discuss these issues more or for additional assistance regarding your home please email socialcare@pultegroup.com with your address and some more detail. ^AS ... More

star-rating Pulte experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Jodi R.
  • Atlanta, GA
  • July 17, 2019

Excellent experience up until 8 weeks before closure. However, the closure and now 6 weeks post closure has been an exhausting experience, with the need for me to become a project manager of all the open issues in my home. I’ve had contractors in DAILY for repairs- electrical, plumbing, CAT wiring, drywall, painting, duradeck, cooling system, security systems, GApower.....and before an escalated email to a Pulte VP, it would’ve continued. No postal mail service for last 6 weeks and still unresolved. The communication from pulte, pulte mortgage and post closure to the ga customer care and field managers is nonexistent. Beautiful home, but nightmare experience in getting anything completely resolved post closure. ... More

star-rating Mislead

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Alycia B.
  • Estero, FL
  • June 13, 2019

We thought we were going to have a beautiful home built for us. We walked through the model and fell in love. Unfortunately, we ended up receiving a completely different product than what we were anticipating. We feel very mislead. We have many issues with our house. We are hoping everything can be fixed, but I'm not feeling too optimistic. I believe for the amount of money spent on this house, the craftsmanship and attention to detail should be close to perfect. I am not at all pleased with the quality or lack there of of this house. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're incredibly disappointed to hear that you aren't pleased with your home and have shared your comments with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Lacking an eye for detail....

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Michael R.
  • San Antonio, TX
  • June 13, 2019

This is our first time buying a Pulte Home, we've owned a DR Horton home. Pulte did offer everything that we were looking for in a home, which was the reason why we went with Pulte. But Pulte lacks that eye for detail in the workmanship of their homes. Poor caulking technique throughout the home, grout on the tile that was not cleaned up before we moved in, lack of detail in their sheet rock cutting. Follow up is poor to get the work completed. Would I purchase another Pulte home in the future if given an opportunity...probably not. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear this, but we thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share, we're always listening at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Good from a distance

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Daniel W.
  • Commerce Township, MI
  • June 12, 2019

Pulte homes go up quick and look good from a distance. It’s clear that the work is rushed and vendors are under paid by Pulte. Pulte will fix anything you point out but it’s a job to find everything. Why should I have to??? The finish work and paint is rough at best. The home was dusty and needed to be cleaned. They delayed closing because work needed to be complete which puts you in a bind with your move in date and forces you to settle with many mistakes. It’s a quickly built home but it offers a poor value. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good experience and thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share, we're always listening at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Subcontractor work/craftsmanship is disappointing

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Alan F.
  • Albuquerque, NM
  • June 11, 2019

Pulte staff good to work with. Overall quality of workmanship/construction is well below the standard for the price and “luxury townhomes”

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed and we encourage you reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to talk to us about your experience. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Pulte Homes - Watch your house being built as much as you can.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Alva, FL
  • June 11, 2019

Watch your house being built as much as you can. Sub contractors are not the best tradesmen. Many issues during the build and more with the finished product.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you experienced issues with your new home and have shared your feedback with our local leadership team. If you'd like to discuss this further, please get in touch with us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Great house and location horrible experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Mount Pleasant, SC
  • June 07, 2019

We love our house and location but we had no shortage of issues from the very beginning and all the way through in working with Pulte. There is a clear leadership issue in this region. I would buy one of their spec homes but I wouldn't build with them ever again in South Carolina. The location is key and the houses are beautiful once they're done just be prepared to fight for what's right along the way. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry you had a negative experience and we'd like to learn more about what happened and how we can do better. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Disappointed

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Carmel, IN
  • May 22, 2019

We are not happy with the quality of the house built by Pulte. Our previous home was also a Pulte home and was in a great condition after more than 10 years. We are disappointed to see that the quality has gone down with the new house even though it is a more expensive home. There were many errors in the building process that we caught and had to bring to the field manager's attention. There were still many issues that need to be addressed after the closing. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed as it our goal to deliver a great home and home buying experience. We have passed along your comments to our local leadership team and encourage you to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional feedback. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Poor performance

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Hyder M.
  • Plymouth, MN
  • May 21, 2019

The finishing of the house is below average and the price paid for the house seems pretty high. The corners are very rough and not finished as per expectations. Those were not smoothen for a nice look. The baseboards were left with holes; though the field manager send someone to fix those but those are still looking pretty rough. The paint on the baseboards is not smooth; it is still showing the filled holes different from the paint. The transitions and turns of the baseboards are not aligned and shows big gapes. The woodwork on the stair doesn't seem to be done by a professional at all; the nail holes are filled but are very prominent and can be seen easily at a first glance. The window frames were left very rough and were not smoothen for a nice look. I believe the house is completed in a rush and lot of things to be fixed are left without any attention. Pulte really need to revisit the house and fix those things to the minimum expectations. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and letting us know how we can improve. We apologize that you experienced issues with the quality of your home and will certainly share these comments with our local leadership team. If we can assist with any of these issues or if you have additional feedback, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Disappointed with workmanship

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Flemington, NJ
  • June 22, 2020

Double and triple check every detail during your walkthrus especially concerning electiical work. You may be told prior to purchase that your townhouse will look exactly like the models. It won't. Models have pavers and wrought iron railings. The entrance walkways to townhouses have concrete walkways and very few have wrought iron railings ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear you did not receive the elements you were expecting in your new home and are not pleased with the workmanship our team provided. If there is any way we can assist or if there is any further detail you would like to make us aware of, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Be an advocate for your home

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • June 02, 2020

If you are not an advocate Pulte will try and pull things over on you to meet their deadlines etc. great neighborhood but house quality and transparency by pulte is poor

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate hearing that you had a negative experience but thank you for sharing so we can make leadership aware. If there is anything we can assist with or any additional information you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and our team will be in touch. ^Abby ... More