Pulte Homes

star-rating (2283 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes

Pulte Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.1 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Pulte Homes’s 2283 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.1 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2283 Reviews - 474 Communities

5 ★(1142)

4 ★(490)

3 ★(323)

2 ★(181)

1 ★(147)

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4.1

Responsiveness 4

star-rating Dr. Shah

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Dr. S.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • January 07, 2020

Problems keep popping up which shouldn’t happen. Very lazy with requests.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt follow up on your repair items and we'd like to know more about the situation so we can assist. Please don't hesitate to email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Bad experience

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Wenbin Z.
  • Fremont, CA
  • December 10, 2019

When I receive the keys, the walls are cracked. The doors are cracked. The garage doors are wrong.

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we want you to have. We'd really like an opportunity to discuss this feedback with you and try to make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Overpromised, under delivered

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Daniel M.
  • Germantown, DC
  • December 07, 2019

I can preface this with "should have gotten everything in writing", but in the moment easier said than done. Our experience started off great with a sales person telling us everything we wanted to hear, immediately after signing to start construction the experience began to degrade. Communication in the beginning was horrendous. All of the meetings we were told would be scheduled(in regards to construction) never were, unless we called endlessly to schedule them. The field managers were great during the build process but the quality of work was sub par. It appears that all of the contracts were given to the lowest bidder. "every" piece of visual detail was awful. Spackle was used as a universal fix for everything. Trim falling off the wall? Just lean it back up, no one will notice. To say the process was stressful would be an understatement. All in all once you get in the home and either repair issues yourself or just get over the small things, the home is nice, but if I had to do it over again I likely wouldn't have gone with a pulte new construction home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we wish for you to have during your home building journey. We'd really like an opportunity to work with you to correct these issues and make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Below average quality at an above average price

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Christopher J.
  • Winter Springs, FL
  • December 04, 2019

We have been in the house for 2 months in a new neighborhood. Between HOA issues, improperly installed irrigation systems, non-working electrical outlets, Bon-working heat pump, counter-top defects and other issues; we have had a contractor at the house every week since we moved in. The USPS couldn’t even get us our mail for over 3 weeks after we moved in, b/c Pulte didn’t get them a key to the mailboxes. Very disappointing to this point. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can assist in getting your concerns addressed. ^Abby ... More

star-rating The sales persons response time was zero. To get one answer from him took 5 days. Pathetic.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Sheena L.
  • Tomball, TX
  • December 04, 2019

He wouldnt response to emails, texts or phone calls.

Pulte Homes responded:
We apologize if you've been having a hard time getting in touch with the local team, but we can help with that! Please send an email to socialcare@pultegroup.com with your address and contact info so we can assist. ... More

star-rating Quality of the home

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Hopkinton, MA
  • November 28, 2019

Pulte has not built our home to the expectations that Pulte has in the market. Our basement leaked and we had a contract come and fill it, but it's still unfinished, we moved the end of September and it's almost December but it has not been finished. I am surprised that there are no gutters on the side and the back of the house, Pulte has to do better than what is just expected of them. Overall, with garage door having an issue, crack on walls, poor quality paint every where, I am disappointed in the work and the quality of our home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you aren't happy with the quality of your new home. We would like to assist in getting your concerns addressed and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Not The highest quality,

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Adam M.
  • Liberty Hill, TX
  • October 02, 2019

From the street it looks amazing, after being in the house for a few months you find all the things not done or half done. - Paint on the outside stone (a lot) from when they painted the trim - Drywall tape coming off, multiple spots - They used broken base when doing the trim. - Bad caulking job everywhere - The dampeners in the attic were not even hooked up to power and are set to off. (WOW) - They used 1/4 round on the base in the main area of the house because they couldn't schedule the trim after the flooring was done, you do this when you screw up. - 3 doors didn't even latch when you shut them. - I'm still finding issues. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Adam. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are sorry to hear that you have unresolved concerns. Please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will be in contact. ^Abby ... More

star-rating A cosmetic disappointment

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Sara H.
  • Wadsworth, OH
  • September 19, 2019

Be diligent about addressing issues with the home. They’ll try to sneak them by you and cross their fingers you don’t notice. We upgraded and paid for paint and have been horribly disappointed. There were several spots that were missed. A lot of dry wall issues because someone left the windows open and it rained and the drywall on the windowsills are all cracked. Front door painted black but painted with the door open so there is black paint splatter on our light gray floors. Uneven walls. The trim on our stairwell was painted white which splattered on the upgraded rod spindles. It’s hard to look past all these issues. The list gets longer the longer we live here. There was little care or attention to detail to provide a quality home. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Hi Sara. We are so sorry that you have had such a negative home building experience. If you have outstanding concerns or want to discuss further, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will look into the situation. ^Abby ... More

star-rating TERRIBLE attention to detail.

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Fort Mill, NC
  • September 11, 2019

I highly recommend working with a smaller, more localized builder or purchasing an existing home and working with a contractor you can pay more attention to detail with along the way in order to customize. Overall, we like our home because we chose the neighborhood over the floor plans to begin with, but we are also willing and able enough to fix the mistakes made by the builder on our own and with the help of [capable] contractors. Based on the quality of work, we are glad we passed on several builder upgrades so that we can have them installed by true professionals. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry we haven't lived up to our goal of delivering an excellent home buying experience for you, but we're very appreciative that you took the time to leave this feedback. If there is anything else you'd like to share with us, or any issues we can help address, we're always reachable at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

star-rating Never see the terrible workmanship!!!

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Decatur, GA
  • August 08, 2019

This is the second time for me to buy a new home(previous one was from Bezer). Pulte hired non-professional workman and did a terrible job and the quality control is also not in place. The workmanship is totally worse than a DYI. Even the house was closed, the house still needs a lot of work. If I can upload photos, I surely will present them. To buy a new home from Pulte actually buys yourself frustration, I am still dealing with Pulte. ... More

star-rating Good floor plan and construction, poor home buying experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Philippe B.
  • Carmel, IN
  • August 07, 2019

Pros: Good floor plan (Alison), Very Nice and competent building manager ( Ryan) Cons: Inflexible and contract focused interactions with sales. ( If you have to ask for something that is not spelled out in the contract, don’t bother, the answer is NO). Excessive (in my opinion) “Earnest Money”.... more than $50K (10%) in our case. Once you have paid that much, you are locked in and not much room for flexibility/requests after that. Compared to our old Carmel subdivision, no pool, clubhouse. Not a welcoming HOA and community feel... got 2 “courtesy notices” within the first 3 weeks as we were still unpacking ( eg Trash visible) ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you weren't satisfied with your experience and we appreciate you providing feedback so that we can share it with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you have additional comments or concerns, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Very frustrating experience

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Naperville, IL
  • August 07, 2019

I found the process to be very frustrating. I had a lot of surprises of things that were considered upgrades but that I would have expected were included. I found the field managers nice but not empowered to make hard decisions when it was related to mistakes made in the field. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're very sorry to hear that your experience left you feeling frustrated, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. If you'd like to discuss this with us, we'd be interested in learning how we could have done better. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Lots of Issues and Slow Response

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Boca Raton, FL
  • August 07, 2019

We have a long punch list that needs to be addressed - some noted prior to moving in and some after. Pulte employees are very nice, but the lack of response to addressing the issues is growing increasingly annoying. Product is decent but recommend not closing until 100% satisfied with product. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt service and we'd like to know more about the issues so we can help. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Disappointed!!!!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Katherine C.
  • South Weymouth, MA
  • August 05, 2019

Very disappointed in quality and functionality of this condo. Appliances are flimsy and stove is terrible. Both Whirlpool and Pulte should not be happy with that range. The bottom drawer falls out when you pull it open for starters. The tub does not seem to be a standard size but a bigger problem is that those tiny spaces for shower needs are absurd. Can't barely place a shampoo bottle let alone a full size soap on those. Did anyone try these out for function? The cabinetry is very mediocre but the need for organizers underneath sinks is hampered by the fact you can't put a pull out organizer due to the under the sink design. The toilet is certainly cheap as are the faucets and fixtures. I expected a bit better quality from Pulte. The selection of a tankless hot water heater is a poor choice. So we save on electricity while we waste huge amounts of water just to wash hands with hot water. I have no one above me yet, but I am scared to death that this construction only means a lot of noise overhead when someone does arrive. I might have been better off renting than buying something like this. I would find it hard to recommend Pulte. I suspect this does not meet your guidelines but is an opportunity for me to express to Pulte some things that were just not done right and perhaps Pulte should think about. I had no problems with the sales office or Pulte Mortgage just terribly disappointed that I chose to buy this condo. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're incredibly disappointed to hear that you are unhappy with your home and we appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so that we can share them with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Lack of communication and customer satisfaction from warranty dept.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Raicel P.
  • Odessa, FL
  • July 24, 2019

Lack of communication and customer satisfaction from warranty dept.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you weren't satisfied with the service you received and we'd like to know more about your experience so we can help. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Did not meet expectations

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • July 23, 2019

These homes have been rushed and not competed correctly, There are so many mistakes that could have been fixed prior to closing, We are very unsatisfied with Pulte,

Pulte Homes responded:
We're very sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with your home and we have shared your feedback with local leadership. If you'd like to discuss your experience with us, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Misleading

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Summerville, SC
  • July 20, 2019

Consumers should be allowed to go to the design center prior to finalizing the contract as the design center adds 10's of thousands of dollars to the purchase price. This not revealed up front. They build the homes too quickly and do not give enough attention to quality. The materials used are not good quality and the subcontractors are not supervised and they do very poor work. The homes are very expensive with cheap materials used so the profit margin is high and the consumer does not get a quality product ... More

star-rating Better quality of material and workmanship was expected

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Robert M.
  • Peoria, AZ
  • June 15, 2019

For the money I paid, I should have received a better quality house. For a $550K, cheap material seem to have been used. Everything was extra and not came with the base price.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the quality of your home and have shared this feedback with our local leadership team. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to discuss this further. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Basic things that supposed to come

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Narasimha P.
  • New Hill, NC
  • June 06, 2019

Basic things were not provided. I was disappointed on the way handling the issues

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that you're disappointed with the way issues in your new home have been handled and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. If there are unresolved items that we can assist with, you can always reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Poor

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Evan K.
  • Charlotte, NC
  • May 27, 2019

Multiple issues addressed prior to closing were not resolved. Closed in March issues not resolved until May - this included a leaky roof. Would not purchase from Pulte again.

Pulte Homes responded:
We apologize that you've had this experience and if you'd like to discuss it with us please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah

star-rating Pulte's home quality issues

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Mahesh G.
  • Lutz, FL
  • May 20, 2019

Pulte did not meet our expectations with respect to the quality of workmanship of the house. There were so many drywall issues before closing which Pulte didn't bother fixing and asked us to close the home first and rest will be taken care right after closing. It's been 6 weeks since we moved in and our drywalls were not fixed as promised. They kept postponing dates and only performed temporary fixes and not resolving the issue as a whole. Due to this we are unable to settle down in the house as quickly as we could. If I could build a home all over again, I would go with a different builder. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're incredibly disappointed to hear that you aren't satisfied with your experience and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention so that we can share them with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Pulte Homes - Not trustworthy, they ignore issues that are brought to their

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • May 15, 2019

Not trustworthy, they ignore issues that are brought to their attention. Rude foreman, lied to us several times. I will not buy from them again.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so disappointed to see this and we'd like to hear more about your experience. Please send us a message at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah

star-rating Good start, ended poorly

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Armando S.
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • May 14, 2019

We had a great initial experience while at the model home and home design process. There were minor issues which were easily resolved. Towards the end things went poorly. It was obvious there were milestones that needed to be met even if standards would be sacrificed. We ended doing our final walkthrough with the home being unfinished. There were literally walls that were unpainted and holes. When we closed there were actually still open holes with exposed electrical pieces. I received many apologies and excuses. It is now two months after closing and still receive intermittent emails about how they will update me in 48 hours and this is over a week ago. My biggest mistake is giving good marks on their quality survey, which they will ask you to do. I guess it was foolish of us to think that they would not complete the work that needed to be done if we gave the low survey scores they actually deserved. We spent well over $500k on our home and would recommend that you consider your options carefully given what we have experienced and are currently experiencing. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so disappointed to read your review as this is certainly not the experience we want you to have. We'd really like an opportunity to discuss this feedback with you and try to make things right. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Listen to the age old warnings

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Tucson, AZ
  • May 08, 2019

The woman who handled our purchase has been great and has been very responsive when we brought up concerns. However, the man responsible for our home construction was nice enough, but we are still waiting a month later for him to fix problems noted prior to closing. Though he repeatedly told us that he would be with us for thirty days following closing. The warning about “getting work done before they get your money” could not be truer. He missed two options we had requested. The first was fixed prior to closing. The second was a double sink in the bathroom. There was only one sink installed. He “guaranteed” the correct set up within 4 days. Then it was moved to the next week and then moved again. Finally, we said enough. However, the job we finally got left the bathroom filthy with three areas of the drywall needing attention (which I will end up doing). And now neither the mirror nor the lighting fixture is centered. So we are forced to accepted substandard work because he did not read the plans. We also paid a lot of money for upgraded walls. As we paint the walls, I cannot believe all of the wall prep that I have to do to fill in problems with the drywall and sand down huge areas of paint drips. (I won’t even go into how bad the paint is.) But I will mention the poor workmanship with the baseboards. There are numerous gaps that they attempted to fill with caulk only to even do a bad job with the caulk. Right now, we are dealing with popping noises coming from the canned lights in the kitchen and bathroom, and a loud garage door opener. While these are the problem areas, there are some things that are done well and some nice unexpected touches. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear you encountered these issues with your new home and we'd like to get in touch with you to learn how we can help. Please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can assist. --Sarah ... More

star-rating Quality of Work!!!

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Mableton, GA
  • May 26, 2020

Pulte has been awful with the quality of work that has been performed, I have shutters that are coming of the home, I have not been in the home but a little over 60 days. The wood on my deck has completely cracked, there has been absolutely no one from warranty to address these issues whatsoever. ... More