Skip main navigation

Pulte Homes Reviews in Minneapolis St. Paul, MN

What Minneapolis St. Paul Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes.

Read all 249 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Pulte Homes in the Minneapolis St. Paul area. Minneapolis St. Paul homeowners have rated Pulte Homes an average 4 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Pulte Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Pulte Homes

has 4 out of 5 stars in Minneapolis-St. Paul Area

249 Reviews in Minneapolis-St. Paul Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4

Quality 3.8

Trustworthiness 3.9

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.9

Customer Reviews

Beautiful Home with Issues Along the Way

  • Alexandra G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 09, 2019
  • Lake Elmo, MN

We love our home, I should start with that. We are so happy with the location, lot, and upgrades that we chose. The floorplan is perfect for our growing family. However, we had many issues along the way. Our PM was difficult to deal with and did not want to help us with problems that his contractors caused (hole cut in the ceiling, cafe light installed in the wrong spot). This led to a lack of trust and shaken confidence in Pulte and our PM. Thankfully, everything turned out alright after we had to fight for these issues to be resolved.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Owner

  • Shadia A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 24, 2019
  • Prior Lake, MN

Overall they’re ok

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Canterbury Crossing Townhomes

  • Larry B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 05, 2022
  • SHAKOPEE, MN

Our ceiling seams and wall seams were less than professional. Pulte sent APV to address. The APV tech informed the only way to correct the ceiling mismatch was to have the complete ceiling texture reworked. It's been 2 weeks and no followup from a Pulte rep.

Total Score 4


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - We love our townhouse.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 07, 2022
  • Lake Elmo, MN

We love our townhouse.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

Pulte delivers but . . .

  • Gary H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 30, 2022
  • Osseo, MN

We like our new townhome and most of the workmanship is very good. Still, some small glitches are obviously covered over with a little elbow grease and paint. At the right light angle that becomes too obvious. However, I am thrilled with the most of it. Just be aware. Your choices session is WAY too short and pushed>

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Pulte: Great people!

  • Sheryl B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 17, 2019
  • Cottage Grove, MN

Every Pulte employee was a joy to work with from start to finish. All were clear, concise, professional, and friendly. Up until closing weekly updates were given and appreciated. In my opinion, workmanship and materials used are far from excellent. This includes sheet rock, paint, flooring, studs placed at 24 inches, lighting selections, and energy efficiency. The wind blows right through my front door. Since closing it had Ben difficult to get information and timelines for exterior work such as grading and concrete. The development is going to be beautiful and the location is perfect for me.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 5

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Pulte Homes - Pulte offers low basic house quality and tries to push for upgrading.

  • Ayman S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 05, 2021
  • Saint Paul, MN

Pulte offers low basic house quality and tries to push for upgrading. Example, they offer only two basic paint colors including white. If you choose the other color (not white), the wall and the ceiling will be painted with the same color. Because it is not common to have the ceiling painted with a color other than white, Pulte push the seller to upgrade or choose only white. Many of my neighbors including myself would prefer to by our house from Lennar if it has a better locations and lots. I believe that Lennar offers better quality houses, with great exterior designs with good prices.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - Check everything

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 24, 2020
  • Osseo, MN

Check everything

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Needs Improvement

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 01, 2020
  • Chanhassen, MN

Pulte will pressure you to buy a home with ALL of their products - their home insurance, their mortgage company, etc. They will not stop pursuing you until after your closing. Remember, you need to put your own interests first, and Pulte will put their own interests first. Carefully review your options and don't let them bully you into buying their products. Consult with people you trust to make the best choice. Their home product is great, but they need to work on not being so aggressive. Their mortgage lender was so ruthless that he lied to me via e-mail to get a reaction out of me. This ...

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

Expensive but good home

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 15, 2020
  • Dayton, MN

We built our new home and it is great, but Pulte up-charges EVERYTHING so the price gets very hi unless you don't do any upgrades. Overall it was a good experience but now dealing with yard issues such as grading and sod that is going to potentially take 4 months during the summer is hard and should not ever take that long.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - The quality of our home did not appear consistent with other

  • Heidi H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 27, 2022
  • Savage, MN

The quality of our home did not appear consistent with other homes done by Pulte. We were the last home in the neighborhood so we felt like our home was rushed and did not get the attention it should have. We are still waiting on several repairs and items to be finished nearly 2 months after move in. We do love the floor plan that we selected.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - I did not have the best buying experience with Pulte from the

  • Stacy S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 08, 2022
  • Saint Paul, MN

I did not have the best buying experience with Pulte from the mortgage issues to some of the details in the workmanship. I know the mortgage company is "separate" from the builder, however this is not my first new build and from past experiences with other builders, this one by far not the best experience. I had several issues upon moving in. The construction manager was great to work with but some of the other contacts did not live up to my expectations.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Closing timeline changed multiple times

  • Esther E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 02, 2022
  • Hamel, MN

Slow responses to reported issues after closure .

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Good location and options but construction quality is not good

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 02, 2022
  • Saint Paul, MN

Good location and property priced fairly but the construction quality is not good. Also, lack of responsiveness and follow-through when issues were raised.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Love my home so far... worst sod installation ever

  • Elizabeth Y.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 31, 2019
  • Osseo, MN

Very pleased with my home overall but I opted out of buying irrigation because my yard is so small that watering should not be an issue. Unfortunately the turf company laid poor quality sod over completely unprepared clay. Under the sod are multitudes of rocks and construction debris. The grass turned brown within 24 hours and now a week later, after heavy rain and copious amounts of water from a number of sprinklers I have purchased, there appears to be some hope that it may turn green. I have spent seven days outside, muddy, wet, bug bitten and suffering a shoulder injury from pulling a ...

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Some issues

  • John S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 16, 2019
  • Prior Lake, MN

Have had some quality issues with the home. Had a gas leak, A/C didn't have coolant due to a loose fitting, lumps in the floor under the carpet, hollow sounding floor in the kitchen. The person that handles the warranties had been very responsive. The yard grading is somewhat of a disaster in that the backyard has a really step hill that wasn't there when we purchased the lot. The neighbors on either side have flat yards so I'm not sure how it ended up this way. Having a hard time getting the builder to do anything about it. The house cosmetically is very nice. The stonework was very well ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry to hear that you've experienced issues with your home and we encourage you to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to discuss this further. --Sarah

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Impeccable service... until you close

  • Tyler M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 11, 2019
  • Chanhassen, MN

This was our first home purchase and our experience throughout the building process was phenomenal. Unfortunately, that level of service ended when we signed on the dotted line and handed over the check. There were a few remaining issues to be resolved at closing which we were promised would be handled promptly. That was not the case. We were left to project manage those repairs on our own along with the additional ones that popped up shortly after closing. Word of advice — when building with Pulte, do not close on the home until all issues are resolved or added to the escrow list.

Pulte Homes responded:
We apologize that our response after closing hasn't been satisfactory and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. If there are unresolved issues that we can assist with, you can always reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Sales and Closing Process was terrible

  • Kathleen G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 20, 2022
  • Waconia, MN

The entire closing process for our house was absolutely mismanaged and terrible. Our construction manager was great and bent over backward for us, but the corporate team members, sales staff, etc. were hard to work with and unresponsive.

Total Score 3


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - The sales and home design process was great.

  • James H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 19, 2021
  • Cottage Grove, MN

The sales and home design process was great. Our Pulte salesperson and design consultant were both wonderful and I can't say enough good things about Bob. Our experience with the rest of the process (construction and mortage teams) was a mixed bag. As an organization Pulte has great processes and procedures, but they struggled where the rubber actually meets the road in many areas. We are happy with our home, but had to advocate for ourselves far more than we expected to receive what we we expected. I would build a home with Pulte again and I would recommend them to a friend or family ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

The quality of material was poor

  • Nujuma Y.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 25, 2020
  • Blaine, MN

Quality of material very important

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Nice service until the closing date

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 18, 2020
  • Fridley, MN

I discovered a couple of issues in the construction and service. The Pulte provided a decent quality of service until the closing date. After signing on all the required paper, my request or inquiry email is not well responded. Follow-up appointments extremely hard to schedule. Pulte mortgage didn't do their job thoroughly, failing to pay to insurance company. No show for follow-up service, etc.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

New Home

  • Alexandra B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 08, 2020
  • Victoria, MN

We are happy with our new home, but the build process wasn’t seamless. We are still fixing issues after move-in.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

No Explaination!

  • Ronald W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 18, 2019
  • Fridley, MN

Purchased new Pulte model smart townhouse. No one would explain WI FI.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Disappointing Craftsmanship

  • Rodney H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 11, 2019
  • Fridley, MN

Would be a plus if Pulte hired some carpenters who know what a framing square was. Walls are so out of square it is hard not to cast your eyes on the defect. One short wall between doorways is 11 inches in length and 1inch out of square from end to end. It is a common problem through out the house, Very disappointing. Also a damaged washing machine that should have never been accepted or installed flooded our home and ditto for the dysfunctional water softener that re flooded our home a week later. There were other issues that have been addressed such as failing to cap the gas line to the ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Pulte Homes - For the price we paid, it should have been better.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 01, 2022
  • Lake Elmo, MN

For the price we paid, it should have been better.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3