Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes in Detroit

Read the 181 homeowner reviews of Pulte Homes's new homes in the Detroit area. Detroit homeowners rated Pulte Homes an average 3.6 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Pulte Homes’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

3.6 out of 5 stars
in the Detroit area

181 Reviews - 19 Communities

5 ★(67)

4 ★(39)

3 ★(31)

2 ★(21)

1 ★(23)

Quality 3.5

Trustworthiness 3.7

Value 3.7

Responsiveness 3.6

Pulte Homes - The sales people were excellent.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Novi, MI
  • August 20, 2020

The sales people were excellent. There are a bit nit picks in the house but mostly fine. The landscaping needs to be improved in the community.

Better than expected but difficult to deal with

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • David S.
  • Auburn Hills, MI
  • October 09, 2019

We were pleased with initial construction but concerns after closing have been difficult to get resolved. Has required multiple requests, multiple follow ups, multiple submissions of texts, emails & Pulte website service forms, promises to get back to us in two business days but receive no response. ... More

Lacks quality and precision; cheaply built with countless flaws

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Novi, MI
  • October 02, 2019

Pulte lacks craftsmanship when it comes to being a national builder, possibly due to outsourcing the various build jobs to cheaper unknown contrators without proper quality checks in place. To be more specific, the drywall and brick work was noticeably degraded and imprecise. Drywalls were crooked, lumpy and off by few inches around every wall, post, pillar, ceiling and window area. Bricks were misaligned and chipped all over. Pulte windows seem to be of the cheapest quality. Others areas of the construction were acceptable. The upgrade options are heavily overpriced, almost 2-3 folds, when compared to what those items sell for in the market. To sum it up, I would rate them a below average builder since Pulte is just a rubber stamp and the actual work is carried out my multiple small scale contracting companies. ... More

3rd time Pulte customer and not Happy

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

  • Theodore C.
  • Canton, MI
  • May 16, 2019

3rd time building a Pulte home. This last home building experience was terrible. Workmanship was terrible and the materials used super cheap. Nothing was done on time. If you are not persistent nothing will get fixed. You hear the same complaints from the neighbors. No flexibility on adding options after the build is started. Example additional lighting when the electricians have not started wiring the house. I’m shocked Pulte would not reach out or try to accommodate a 3rd time customer. I would not recommend Pulte this time. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're incredibly disappointed to hear that you aren't happy with your experience and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention so that we can share them with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

Bad craftsmanship

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Steven M.
  • South Lyon, MI
  • July 18, 2021

When you do your walk through make sure you pay attention to everything.

DisappointmentI

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Patricia P.
  • Auburn Hills, MI
  • December 06, 2019

I was shocked at the condition of my wood floors when closing. There should have been some type of covering on them.. The mud was horrible and it took me 3 cleaning to get it all up. There was paint on the floor and also on some of the dark wood. There were screws under the cabinets that had to be pulled out and holes were made. the calk on the fire place is a disgrace. The front door had a large gap and cold air was coming through, the garage entrance to the house would not even close unless I through my whole body weight against the door. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your new home. We would like to assist in getting these issues resolved and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

We had a lot of issues after the fact of getting things done that were promised. The drywall and paint in areas is horrible. They are finally coming to fix it 2.5 months after we have moved in even though we addressed them at the final walk throughs.

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Novi, MI
  • October 28, 2020

The home is beautiful but the craftsmanship in some areas seems quick and not up to par with what we paid for. We are hoping that pulte will make it right and fix the issues.

Seems great on the surface, but the more you dig, the cheaper and shoddier of a job they did.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Kenneth H.
  • South Lyon, MI
  • November 13, 2019

Pulte seems great on the surface, but the more 3rd party inspections we had and the longer we live in the house its very clear how bad of a job they did and covered parts up so you wouldn't notice. We had shelves falling over after 2 months of use, our garage drains towards the house, not out the garage door, doors hung wrong, tack strips poking through the carpet to the point they were drawing blood if stepped on, with no one offering to properly fix anything and just add more band aids over top. Some of my issues I pointed out during the buying process, was promised it would be fixed, promised it did get fixed then later I find out that none of that was true and its the exact same as it was before. All they care about now is money, not quality, or making good homes. Most of the contractors don't show any pride in their work, and its clear that instead of getting a slightly better contractor, Pulte just hopes you don't notice. Some things are done beautifully though, for example our tile work was done suburb. I hope in the next few years I can fix all the issues they have left me and have the home that I paid for. ... More

Slow responsive with issues

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • David P.
  • Canton, MI
  • October 05, 2019

Overall we like the lay out and lot of the house. Craftsmanship of drywall, paint and ceiling is poor. Responsiveness is poor after closing. Lots of promises but slow response, if any, with follow through.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for sharing your experience David. We are sorry to hear that you aren't happy with your home. For unresolved issues, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com and our team will be in contact. ^Abby ... More

Virtually no communication after closing.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Brandon M.
  • Canton, MI
  • August 15, 2019

At our final walkthrough, we were told to watch for any issues that may need to be addressed within the first week after closing. We kept a list after moving in and reached out to the job site manager on day 6 to go over the needed repairs. He told us that he would have everything scheduled or repaired within 2 weeks. We have now been in our home for nearly 2 months and the only issue that has been partially addressed is the touch-ups on our cabinets. We still have nails on our roof, paint on our windows, cabinets that don't close properly, cracked hardwood floor boards, torn screens, etc. and I'm starting to seriously doubt that these will ever be addressed. I had texted him (his preferred method of communication) 3 times over a 2 week period to check in on the status of the repairs, and only heard from him 3 days ago. He says that everything is now scheduled, but after so many empty promises already, I'm a bit skepical. My advice to anyone buying a home from Pulte is to go over everything with a fine-toothed comb BEFORE closing, because after closing, good luck getting anyone from Pulte to return your calls. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're apologize that our communication hasn't been satisfactory and that the issues with your home haven't been addressed in a timely manner. We'd like to learn more about these concerns so we can assist. Please reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

Pulte Homes - The whole sales process was amazing, when it came to building

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

  • Andrew C.
  • Westland, MI
  • July 21, 2020

The whole sales process was amazing, when it came to building that when we started having issues. We have issues in our home that still need to be fixed. we thought we had a 30 day evaluation check list but that was all lies. We are still missing a rack from our stove and Zack the construction manager said he ordered but that was a month ago and still haven't revived it. I and very dissatisfied with the construction part of the home, and something need to change quick. ... More

Should be in Love!

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Westland, MI
  • April 23, 2019

I should be “in love” with my new Pulte home, but I am not! I’ll start with my salesperson Dave. He was all about getting us to sign the contract, no matter what it took. Our contract was contingent on 2 things: 1) 4’ bump out on the master bed room & the sale of our old home. Even though we mentioned this to Dave several times if not 100 times, he did not add the sale of our home to the contract. This became a problem when Pulte set up closing. While my husband & I worked it out, Pulte Mortgage was just awful! Moving on to the 4’ bump out, instead of the 4’ bump out, Pulte/Dave offered a 2’ bay window. The decision on the type took approximately 30 days & Pulte/Dave tried to blame the city & the plot plan, saying the lot was not big enough to allow the bay window. I escalated to both the city & Dave’s senior management. Finally Pulte agreed to allow the bay window, but not without me paying for it upfront! Dave told me afterwards, that I may have won that battle, but I would not win the next. The other option we wanted was 4’ extension on the garage. Dave told us we could not have it! Imagine my surprise (AFTER) moving in, that there was/is enough clearance to have added the extension on the garage. I will give Dave credit for always remaining professional (except that comment about the battle). He always claimed to ask “corporate” but the reply was always no! I believe Pulte sends employees to Dale Carnegie’s class “How to say no & still when friends & influence people”. The other issue with Dave was that he did not give us the “Design Center Catalog” before our appointment. We went in without knowing what was available & we were overwhelmed! Tips for New Pulte buyers: • You want to be “in love” with your new house! Don’t settle! And don’t rush! This is a 30 year decision! • Wait for the lot you truly want. The salesperson will tell you the price will go up! Yes, the price might go up, but it might not! You don’t want to “shoulda, woulda, coulda” on the lot! • Pulte won’t make all the lots available! Wait for the lot you truly want! • Ask for the plot plan to determine what options are available (ie: sunroom, garage extension. • Double-check the contract for sale of your home contingency! • Ask for the Design Center Catalog before your design visit! And don’t rush! • If the options are easily replaceable, go with builder grade (shower heads, water facets)! If it’s costly replacement later, upgrade now, but don’t expect the “midgrade” upgrades to be the very best! • Visit the construction site often! Be mindful small things: the placement of thermostats on the wall, lights in the closet, lights centered in the ceiling! Pulte is notorious for wasting space, so be mindful of opportunities to turn a nook into a closet! • Repeating: “You want to be “in love” with your new house! Don’t settle! And don’t rush! This is a 30-year decision! No one will live it, but you! ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate to hear you're not in love with your new home and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we could do better. We will share your comments with our leadership team and please don't hesitate to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com if you'd like to discuss your experience further. --Sarah ... More

The poor quality of the skilled trades they hired.

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Todd B.
  • Macomb, MI
  • December 06, 2020

Be very careful. The home overall is spacious and planned well but the lack of care to the details makes this a new home filled with fixes. Slow down and really go through the house prior to the final walk though! For example, our master shower leaks water onto the floor, the standard size fridge space was measured/built incorrectly so that it did not fit a fridge, the fuse box was labeled wrong. Those are just the highlights. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are not pleased with the quality of your new home. We would like to learn more so we can address your concerns accordingly. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you for leaving a review. ^AH ... More

Pulte Homes - We were told during closing - Cosmetic things does not count

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Ankit A.
  • Novi, MI
  • January 06, 2021

We were told during closing - Cosmetic things does not count towards overall house completion and warranty. Which is not not so great as this is what we see. Whatever is inside dry walls, we will hardly know of. Every warranty item has a tolerance level with respect to concrete cracks and floor levelling (so far noticed only these two). And certain things are designed in a way, so can't be fixed. Outside lawn is not covered and HOA need to fix any workmanship defects. The list goes on, I guess you get what they build and get at closing, expecting anything else is just too much. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are dealing with unresolved concerns in your new home. We would like to learn more so we can address this situation accordingly and would greatly appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH ... More

Beautiful house, terrible homebuilding experience

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • New Baltimore, MI
  • October 22, 2020

Though we love our home & are happy with how beautiful the house turned out....the process was miserable and we felt as though we were just a number to Pulte as a whole. There were some individuals working for the company who we had relatively pleasant experiences with but as a whole there was a SEVERE lack of communication. If asked by friends and family, I would not suggest Pulte. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
While we are happy to hear that you love your new home, we are concerned to hear that you had such a negative experience and would like to learn more. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your experience along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. ^AS ... More

Don't Push Delivery and Special Orders to Upset Us

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Jeff S.
  • Canton, MI
  • January 08, 2020

We made the mistake of planning move-in based on the dates the builder had given us. They made the date for closing but many items were missed or sloppily done for to make the date. After closing, we walked into workers in the house cutting holes in the drywall and hap-haphazardly installing the back splash tiles with all the associated mess. 6 Weeks later, we are still trying to get many items addressed. Most customizations we asked for were not allowed and any "late" changes to the order caused problems. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
It's disappointing to hear that the initial timeline of your home build was disrupted and left you disappointed in us. We would like the opportunity to assist you in getting your unresolved concerns addressed and work to make things right. If you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com we would greatly appreciate it. ^Abby ... More

Pulte is able to identify great locations to live, but not able to give a good home buying experience to go well

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Lake Orion, MI
  • December 19, 2019

Structurally our home appears good. Fine details are really terrible. We just gave up on complaining because it never got addressed. Even when they came to fix it multiple times. When you choose Pulte, you get a great neighborhood, but not a great house. (To the point when others come in and point out the bad looking fine details.) ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for letting us know about these issues. We have shared your feedback with local leadership and if you'd like to discuss your experience with us, please don't hesitate to contact us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More

Beacon Hill review - 1 month

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

  • William D.
  • Novi, MI
  • May 01, 2019

Disappointed in some of the bathroom fixtures, about as cheap as they could get. Frustrated that homes that have not closed have their cement sidewalks and driveways in and we have been hear over a month and still do not have our cement. Still are not graded either so we cannot plant grass. When painters came in to fix items they rushed and did not do a quality job. Front door repair looked like a 6th grader did the work. other homes being built in subdivision, so nails and screws all over the street and no-one ever cleans them up except me. Takes like 10 minutes, someone at Pulte could do it, as a result I have had a flat tire already. The paint is frustrating because it is easily marked and cannot be cleaned, must repaint. Disappointed in the return venting, rooms have vents above door instead of return vents in rooms, so allows noise and light in. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry your experience has left you feeling frustrated and disappointed. That's certainly not what we like to hear. We'd like to hear more and help if possible -- please email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

Would never build with Pulte again.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Joshua N.
  • South Lyon, MI
  • March 06, 2021

My wife and I built our first home and had a wonderful experience. We unfortunately had to move due to a family member’s declining health. We then decided to build again and found an area we were interested in, which was being built by Pulte. Prior to signing the purchase agreement, we asked our sales representative about the community’s water source and property taxes. We were told the community was on city water, but failed to mention this “city water” was actually sourced from a well and was very hard water. They also failed to mention the additional $6,000 tax assessment that would be added to our property taxes. Once this information came to light, Pulte refused to take responsibility for the information and their only “solution” was to offer us a full refund *11 days* before closing. That being said, our project manager was outstanding and built my wife and I a beautiful home. Unfortunately, due to the business ethics of the sales side, I cannot recommend Pulte for building your home. The Pulte mortgage and Pulte insurance reps I worked with were pleasant and helpful. Please note that Pulte requested I write a review and I chose to disclose my personal experience exactly how it happened. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us so we can make leadership aware and use it to better our practices moving forward. If there is any additional feedback you would like to provide or outstanding concerns we can help address, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you again. ^AH ... More

The home I just purchased was leaking from the master bedroom shower and the air ducts were making noise when heat is on! Customer service after purchase is very bad.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Nameer Y.
  • Macomb, MI
  • February 18, 2020

I don't recommend this builder to anyone.

Pulte Homes responded:
Oh no, we hate to hear that you haven't had a good experience with our customer support team. We would like to learn more about your situation so we can best assist you and would appreciate if you could email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby ... More

Good from a distance

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

  • Daniel W.
  • Commerce Township, MI
  • June 12, 2019

Pulte homes go up quick and look good from a distance. It’s clear that the work is rushed and vendors are under paid by Pulte. Pulte will fix anything you point out but it’s a job to find everything. Why should I have to??? The finish work and paint is rough at best. The home was dusty and needed to be cleaned. They delayed closing because work needed to be complete which puts you in a bind with your move in date and forces you to settle with many mistakes. It’s a quickly built home but it offers a poor value. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear that you didn't have a good experience and thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share, we're always listening at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah ... More

Pulte did not honor their word (sell promise). Big disappointment on the timely follow-up to close open issues. Pulte pushed to accept the house as it was right on the closing date, even when the house was not fully completed, as previously promised.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Rafael H.
  • Canton, MI
  • September 15, 2020

Pulte was working with me while the building process of the house was taking place (The Landings at Cherry Hill Village, Canton MI); right before the closing (on the same day) however, I was asked to accept the house as it was -OR- postpone the scheduled closing to a future TBD date. Some of the promises that were made through the building process were never addressed (did not honor their word, their promise). We did not have a choice to push the closing out as the moving from our previous house was already contracted. Once I have taken ownership of the house my requests continue to be open without a clear day on when these open issues will be resolved... Pulte has ignored my (many) phone calls, without even having one single phone call in return. It seems that once you are inside the house, Pulte "Warranty" only exists in an email address. I could not submit my "satisfaction" survey right after taking ownership of the house (I would not like to think the glitches in their survey systems were "coincidentally failing" when I tried to submit my dissatisfaction scores in their survey. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We hate hearing that you have had such a negative experience and are having a hard time getting your issues addressed. Although it is disappointing for us to hear, we thank you for taking the time to share this feedback as it is essential to us as we better the new home build process for our customers. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information, we would be happy to escalate this situation. ^AS ... More

Cut Corners and Misinformation

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Jenise K.
  • Westland, MI
  • July 24, 2020

I was so excited to build my second brand new home. We went with Pulte this time because we thought their reputation was good. There were a lot of corners cut. The first minor but major thing is the paint they use. I have never seen paint so cheap and thin in my life. My last builder used flat paint but it was a decent grade. This paint pulte uses the minute you wipe it you're down to the drywall. We had delays because of COVID that pushed our close date back several months. We understood that it was no fault of Pulte however because of that when we finally got our close date we were determined to not let anything else delay us as we were living in temporary housing because we sold our house expecting to be able to close. We did our celebration walk before close and listed everything we found wrong, ON our closing day we did another walk thru to make sure everything was fixed but they were in the house fixing it as we were walking through. We signed the paper saying things were satisfactory in good faith that things would be resolved that day. Well they weren't. And after we closed it's been a HASSLE to get anyone to come and do what they said they would do. We still have things that are not fixed and we closed over a month ago. They had the wrong shower doors in our shower they did replace them but instead of replacing the base of the shower they just replaced the door so there's an unsealed gap under our tile in our shower and two indentations where the old shower doors used to be. Our windows don't lock. The wire shelving they used throughout the house is TERRIBLE and flimsy. Our pantry has wire shelving and we HATE it. The least they could have done was use the thicker, more sturdy kind. A few cans on the shelf and it's ready to collapse. We live near the pond, the pond has nothing in it to keep the water flowing. A small water feature in the middle would have cost them $2400 so the mosquitoes are in abundance as is the algae that grows in the murky water. When asked about resolving that we were told to get with our neighbors and maybe "chip in" to get it done. During the buying process we had an issue with not being offered an upgrade on our walk out basement. We did a walk through and they had a regular door there. We upgraded the kitchen patio door to a sliding door (which should have been standard). When i told them we were never offered the upgrade they wanted to charge us $1200 to change it. We ended up settling on $600 which would have been the cost of the door. We also had a problem with the countertops not being what we selected at the showroom. They said they were but they didn't look alike to me. I understood that granite differs per slab however they were much different. I escalated the issue up to corporate where i spoke with a young man with a bad attitude and who continued to insult my intelligence. It was a lost cause so I dealt with it. We bought a samsung refrigerator and everytime we plug it up it trips the GFI and wont stay on. We were told we will need to get a different refrigerator. So in a brand new house we can't have the refrigerator we want? They told us to contact Samsung, samsung said it was a problem with GFI. We opted for gas appliances. The home came with a microwave, range(stove), and dishwasher, the range they gave us was electric. And apparently when they installed the range they removed our gas line. We had to have the plumber come back (which took some time because they claimed he was coming several times and he never showed) I expected so much more coming from pulte I do understand that there would be things wrong as this is not my first new build but the quality of materials used and the workmanship has me a little scared as to what else they cut corners on. All my neighbors have similar stories. I just talked my friend in dallas out of building with Pulte. I loathe companies with poor customer service. I could've overlooked every issue that we had if the customer service was good but after it taking a miracle to speak with field supervisor to get things fixed and speaking to someone at a CORPORATE level and being talked to like i wasn't spending my money and even going through their mortgage company I dont have anything nice to say about the company. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to outline your experience and share your frustrations as it is necessary to us as we work to better the new home build journey for our customers. We would like to make leadership aware of your experience. If you could please email your full name and address to customersupport@pultegroup.com we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you again. ^AS ... More

Have a lawyer ready

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Michael D.
  • Canton, MI
  • July 14, 2020

We moved in to a house with the outside property still under construction. We are extremely disappointed with the execution of the construction. The repairs to the outside promised were not done. The lawn has been a disaster waiting for, and the property is littered with rocks. Molding is not caulked and Pulte is now trying to direct us to put all the issues into warrantee. ... More

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry you are having a frustrating time working with our team to complete your home and address concerns. We would like to assist and would appreciate if you could email your full name, address and some additional information to customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. ^AS ... More

No Quality , not worth for the money

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Canton, MI
  • December 11, 2019

Quality of the home is poor and not meeting customer standard or satisfaction.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear this, but we thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share, we're always listening at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby ... More