Skip main navigation

Pulte Homes Reviews in Washington, VA

What Washington Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes.

Read all 252 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Pulte Homes in the Washington area. Washington homeowners have rated Pulte Homes an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Pulte Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Pulte Homes

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in Washington Area

252 Reviews in Washington Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4

Responsiveness 4.1

Customer Reviews

Lots off issues

  • Cregory B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 13, 2019
  • Germantown, MD

There's a lot of things I'm starting to see in the house that I might have issues with. I haven't used the warranty yet but some of these things should have been taken care of when the house was built

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Good, but not amazing

  • Ester J.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 17, 2019
  • Ashburn, VA

Check icemaker in frig, ours was block of ice missing the cube tray! Check all tv hdmi cable are easily accessible, ours was hidden deep inside the wall, had to dig it out. All receptables are on , none are “tripped” , cable man had trouble powering the internet panel...check gutters during heavy rain, water missing gutters.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - home price is high, but the quality lower than we expected

  • Huiyong W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

home price is high, but the quality lower than we expected

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Started well, ended ok

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 06, 2021
  • Rockville, MD

The sales process was good. The construction process mostly trouble free. The financing process was a joke, totally awful. The settlement company was useless, archaic and time consuming processes. Responsiveness to issues after moving in has been awful.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Home floorplan and value are great.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 26, 2021
  • Rockville, MD

Home floorplan and value are great. Quality and finishing touches seemed rush and lacking in craftmanship. The only consolation is the Pulte warranty program.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Mediocre

  • John B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 21, 2020
  • Dumfries, VA

Be thoroughly aware during inspection. Ask questions and don’t be pressured to buy.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Disappointed

  • Daniel B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 24, 2019
  • Dumfries, VA

Title says it all.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry to hear that you're disappointed and if you'd like to talk to us about your experience, please email socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - Have had a gutter issue since purchase.

  • Joseph H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 17, 2019
  • Ashburn, VA

Have had a gutter issue since purchase. Finally someone responded this week. Grass was dead at time of closing waiting for it to be replaced.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Timely Follow-Up Needed

  • L. F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 18, 2019
  • Alexandria, VA

Follow-up on issues that were not completed at closing has not been in a timely manner.

Pulte Homes responded:
We apologize that our responsiveness hasn't been satisfactory and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If there are unresolved issues that we can assist with, you can always reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Homes - Lot of issues inside and outside

  • Kondowou B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 02, 2022
  • Laurel, MD

Lot of issues inside and outside

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

No communication from builder as COVID distribution problems delayed building/settlement for months

  • Herbert P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 07, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

David, who ended up running the project on the ground in the final months, was first rate. His predecessor was not.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Upon moving in I'm not thrilled about the quality of materials

  • Theresa L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 02, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Upon moving in I'm not thrilled about the quality of materials and finishes of my townhome.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - Was very good

  • Ramesh P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 14, 2020
  • Germantown, MD

Was very good

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Not taking responsibility for issues

  • Pamela P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 03, 2020
  • Germantown, MD

Pulte is refusing to address poor insulation in the home that is resulting in excessive heat in the loft and extreme noise from the road behind my home even though I was required to pay for upgraded windows and insulation. They also refused to address high radon levels in my home which is a known problem in the entire development.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Never buy a new build Pulte home as a development is closing out

  • Michael G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 03, 2022
  • Gaithersburg, MD

We purchased one of the last condos in Crown East - Gaithersburg. The communication within Pulte departments was terrible. Many times, we were left to fend for ourselves working with the various depts (Mortgage, Construction, Sales and now Warranty. We have built 3 other homes in our past and none were as non-responsive as Pulte. One last comment that explains their lack of coordination. This request for our opinion states that we purchased an MPDU home. That is incorrect, we actually purchased a full priced Condo. Hopefully their records don't show this.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Issues with Quality Control/Oversight

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 25, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Bottom Line: If you buy a Pulte home do not close/sign until your problems are resolved because they will not care once the papers are signed. Building workmanship /quality came with many issues that were pushed off and required multiple trips by the construction team to fix simple items that should have been caught by the builder before we arrived. We were accepting that things are busy and that it may take some time to get people over to fix things but now we are a month in and still having issues getting these initial problems addressed. This lack of quality control on items that were ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Just Ok.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 19, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Everything about this experience was, “just ok.” This is not to take away from any of the persons involved in the process. We never had a bad experience with a single person involved in this transaction. However, from the choices in the design center to truly shoddy work throughout the home. There is still a hole in the concrete near the foundation of our home. There are patches of compound that were not properly sanded or painted over. Nails sticking out of cabinets and floor boards that we can easily snag ourselves with. For the amount of money paid to this company, I would expect far more ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Terrible customer service after move in

  • Michael R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 12, 2020
  • Dumfries, VA

We have been moved in since March 23rd and have had issue after issue that has gone unresolved. Pulte hasn’t sent us any help besides a few emails. In my opinion we shouldn’t even be paying the mortgage if none of our warranty or services are not being upheld.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Not fully pleased

  • Sharon T.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 18, 2019
  • Dumfries, VA

The thing that really bothered me was at the walkthru; the Pulte guys gave me an assurance that "If I needed anything to just reach out to them". Well I did. And no response. Guess they did not care anymore since the unit was sold. It was all song and dance.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are disappointed to hear that you have unresolved concerns with your new home. We would greatly appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com with some more detail so our team can assist. ^Abby

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Does Not Do What They Say They Will

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 05, 2022
  • Dumfries, VA

Pulte Homes does not do what they say they will. Sales Staff (Mark) is dishonest and not transparent about lot release dates, pricing or timelines. The Construction Staff (Robbie) deflects and places the blame on the sub-contractors. Which is silly considering Pulte Homes is ultimately responsible and pays the sub-contractors. They have not been responsive to the 12 month warranty items. Customer Care Team (Mariah) does not respond to service requests. If you have any other option choose them. You will not get what you pay for from Pulte Homes and their customer service is atrocious.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Not happy with the finish product, Some workmanship was very

  • Derrick D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 13, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

Not happy with the finish product, Some workmanship was very poor.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Homes - Limited communication, number of outstanding punch list items

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2022
  • Laurel, MD

Limited communication, number of outstanding punch list items not resolved, 4 months after settlement and have not received permanent garage door

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Love the house, hated the homebuying experience.

  • Jacquelyn M. R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Germantown, MD

While we love the house and the neighborhood, the process of getting here was terrible and we will never go through Pulte again. You have to stay on top of them on every little thing and not trust them to do what they say. Get everything in writing, check every option you pick for your home, follow up on the price of everything because they will get so much wrong and will try to overcharge every chance they get. Be aware that their mortgage options through Pulte are very invasive and will require more financial paperwork and hoops to jump through than a regular bank will, although the extra ...

Pulte Homes responded:
While we are glad to hear that you love your home, we are so sorry that your experience was unpleasant and you didn't feel you could trust your local team. If there is anything we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Pulte Homes - Would not purchase from Pulte again.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 13, 2021
  • Gaithersburg, MD

Would not purchase from Pulte again. Communication and transparency are lacking.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you experienced bad communication while building your new home. We would be happy to look into an unaddressed concerns you have experienced. If so, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Pulte Homes - the qualitiey of the sink is poor,

  • MaryEsther N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 08, 2020
  • Germantown, MD

the qualitiey of the sink is poor,

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of your home. If there are any concerns we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com and please include your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AS

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3