What Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar

Lennar has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.7 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Lennar’s 2230 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

3.7 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

2230 Reviews - 1270 Communities

5 ★(885)

4 ★(431)

3 ★(390)

2 ★(244)

1 ★(280)

Quality 3.6

Trustworthiness 3.7

Value 3.8

Responsiveness 3.6

star-rating Some cheap materials and corner-cutting is evident

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • James B.
  • Clovis, CA
  • June 30, 2019

My biggest gripe so far is the quality of the paint and surface finishes both inside and out. The interior paint is a powder or chalk type paint, which CANNOT be cleaned. If your kids touch the walls, prepare to repaint. The drywall texturing was cheaply done and has many flaws and clumps in the material, which chip and flake off. I will say that Lennar was honest about this and warned me that they really do slap it together and cut costs on paint and finish. While i dont dispute the overall value and service, i would respect them more if they used better paint in a family home. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi James, thank you for sharing your comments about the materials and workmanship in your new home. We are sorry for any inconvenience you have experienced. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you have any items you would like us to follow-up on for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Lennar - Quality good but not great customer experience and not trustworthy

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Bothell, WA
  • June 27, 2019

Quality of workmanship & materials - this is just my first year, so place for the first year looks good. But who knows what will happen after few years. Value for the price paid - Little bit more pricey for the same area. They have template homes and they keep the same plan across multiple communities, so if you are looking for one in a kind of home, please stay away. Trustworthiness - Oh man where should I begin, in my home orientation I was told that any issue that you will find will be resolved. We commit to our product and all that blah blah blah. Once we moved in, even for the smallest issue, I have to keep on asking them again and again to fix. Sometimes even after confirming the appointment, they do not show up. They just don't understand that we work as well and we are taking a day off or sometime off so that someone is at the house for the appointment but even after that they don't even show up and no response that why they did not show up or anything. Responsiveness to Issues - Once you move in and find some issues, it will take months to resolve them and you have to keep reminding them again and again. One of my issue took 6 months to resolve. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are sorry for the difficulties you described. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Not the best quality

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Homestead, FL
  • June 25, 2019

If looking for quality construction, look elsewhere. They’re attentive until your house is done, good luck after that. HOA at Florida Properties is absolute worst.

Lennar responded:
We appreciate your comments about your experience and are sorry for the response after closing. Please send any concerns you have to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can review and respond. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Not perfect but generally effective

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Foster City, CA
  • June 25, 2019

The overall hand off day was disjointed with mailbox keys missing and tool for the door missing. There were door handles on backward, bath wouldn’t hold water, bathroom lock inverted, appliance manuals missing, missing code required electric plugs in laundry - all which should have been done prior to possession. The elevators have been unreliable but the up and down get done. The location and design are superb and home is comfortable ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are sorry for the difficulties you described. If you have any outstanding items waiting to be addressed, please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating Details lacking

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • John D.
  • Kyle, TX
  • June 25, 2019

The bones of the house seem pretty good but pick any detail and you will likely find flaws. It appears from the things we have experienced that the actual people doing the work have no pride in workmanship. Also the construction manager we happen to get has been very non communicative. We just go through Lennar warranty for everything rather than the C.M. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments, John. We are sorry for the workmanship issues you've had. Please send an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you have any outstanding items that need to be addressed. Thank you again. ... More

star-rating Lennar - Lennars trade vendors seem to be in a big hurry and over look

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • John H.
  • Ocala, FL
  • June 18, 2019

Lennars trade vendors seem to be in a big hurry and over look a lot problems.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback, John. If you have any outstanding issues you would like us to review, please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. We'll be happy to look into them for you. ... More

star-rating Pay attention to detail

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • David K.
  • Venice, FL
  • June 18, 2019

Completion date: remember the completion date is only an estimate of when the home will be available for occupancy. Home structure: make sure roof and plumbing do not have defects which could result in leaks. Finishing work: look for cracks in crown molding, drywall, paint on pavers and flooring etc. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi David, thank you for your comments regarding your home purchase experience. If you have anything you would like us to review, please send an email to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. We'll be happy to look into it for you. ... More

star-rating Get clarification on everything!

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Charles B.
  • Johns Island, SC
  • June 18, 2019

Make sure you are complete informed on every detail of your home and make sure it is in writing in your contract!

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments, Charles. We hope you are enjoying your new home. If there is anything you would like us to review, please send an email to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. ... More

star-rating Lennar - Poor quality craftsmanship on a lot of the interior features.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Thornton, CO
  • June 12, 2019

Poor quality craftsmanship on a lot of the interior features. The wood floor is a cheap quality and scratches or dents with no effort. Some of the cabinetry was poorly attached to begin with. We had a flood in our kitchen a month after moving in, because the dishwasher was improperly installed and now we need repairs to floor and cabinets. While we were well taken care of during the buying process by the sales team - we have been disenchanted with some of the response from Lennar's warranty and repair team. Thank God for a full year of warranty, because there's already a bunch of things that need to be repaired or replaced - none of which is by our error or cause. For a house that cost so much, it's mediocrity at best. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about the craftsmanship in your home. If you will contact us with your address and outstanding items, we will be happy to review for you. Our email is corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. ... More

star-rating Average

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Carlos P.
  • Boynton Beach, FL
  • April 28, 2020

Poor quality of materials used in the kitchen cabinets and bathroom vanities. Many repairs had to be done before we moved in and after.

star-rating Lennar

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Yvette R.
  • Duluth, GA
  • April 28, 2020

I am still waiting on items to be completed from December, some of the craftsmanship although cosmetic, sloppy

star-rating Average support

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Adrian R.
  • South Elgin, IL
  • April 21, 2020

Average experience, multiple issues still open. We in the home so bottom of the priority list

star-rating Experience with lennar

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Sherry L.
  • Wimauma, FL
  • April 21, 2020

I've been in since Christmas. Still have issues that need to be addressed

star-rating House looks nice, but materials used are sub par

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Allen C.
  • Anoka, MN
  • April 21, 2020

The layout of the home is very nice as is the exterior, However, some materials used on the interior are very cheap. The carpet is very thin and padding is lumpy. There were lots of paint touch ups needed, which Lennar has been very responsive to correct. We discover new cracks or nail pops every now and then, which we know will be repaired by Lennar, but it's still disheartening. Gutters were not included, which caused serious icing issues during winter. ... More

star-rating Slow to respond to critical warranty issues

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Koen T.
  • Mount Pleasant, SC
  • April 11, 2020

Slow to respond to critical warranty issues Customer Service and Customer Representatives needs improvement with communication, reliability, completing jobs/repairs and ownership to resolving warranty issues.

star-rating Don't Rush and Take time

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Louis S.
  • Winter Springs, FL
  • April 08, 2020

I have had multiple issues and most have been resolved. My garage floor is making me extremely upset because there are multiple cracks in the cement floor. They extend outside of garage and stop at pavers. I was told that do to coronavirus I would have to wait for them to take a look at it. When I bought a house from Pulte the garage floor was so perfect I was able to put epoxy and sprinkles that made it beautiful. ... More

star-rating Beautiful house on the surface. WONDERFUL sales office. Craftsmanship and quality leaves a lot to be desired.

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • David M.
  • Littleton, CO
  • April 04, 2020

The purchase process was as advertised. It's a house in a box, and they were going to build it whether we bought it or not. The staff was super helpful throughout the process and flexible with our schedules. The home itself is beautiful on the surface, but the quality and craftsmanship have us seriously doubting that we'd ever buy another. Simple things like sloppily painting over debris instead of clearing it first have been extremely disappointing. And it's not just spot issues, this stuff is in every room. It's not just cosmetic issues either. We have a vaulted ceiling and about 60 lf of functional railing that's just not sturdy. It wobbles with the slightest touch. We don't trust it and we have a small child in the home. Things like that are unacceptable in a new build of this price point. We've also been disappointed with the post construction cleanup on our roof, gutters and yard. Lennar posts a sign in every community about their cleanup policy "Every Trade, Every Day" or something like that. It couldn't be farther from the truth. There was always a massive mess of trash, beer bottles, nails, screws, scrap metal, etc. At closing we saw entire magazines of nails in our yard. To this day we have rusty nails, scrap metal, etc. littered throughout our yard and all over our roof and gutters. It's basic cleanup work that we shouldn't have to do to move into a safe home. ... More

star-rating Lennar - Problems with the home after move in affect the ratings.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • William H.
  • McCordsville, IN
  • April 01, 2020

Problems with the home after move in affect the ratings. Customer service unable to correct problems.

star-rating Expected More

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Sarah W.
  • San Antonio, FL
  • April 01, 2020

I closed on the property 11/30/2019 but did not move in until 03/21/2020. I had heard from owners who had moved in before me that the quality of the water was awful. It smelled like rotten eggs. I expected this issue to be resolved by the time I moved in but it hasn't and I have to boil my water before I can use it. There are more issues but I don't have enough space to continue. ... More

star-rating Cheap quality & minimum standard

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • Woodbury, MN
  • March 31, 2020

Quality is cheap and house is price too high. Everything is definitely minimum standard only.

star-rating Seemingly too big to care

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • James N.
  • Holly Springs, NC
  • March 31, 2020

I love my home, the layout, and functionality. What I do not appreciate is the poor finishing work. The paint, caulk and general finishing work is very poor. We had construction mgrs change and that coupled with the close our year-end for the builder made the process for the walk thru etc. challenging. ... More

star-rating Lennar Feedback Las Ramblas

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Khoa H.
  • Miami, FL
  • March 31, 2020

Although construction was completed in a rapid pace, the final build was not of the highest quality or workmanship. Even the little details were missed, for example, light switches were not wired correctly, lights were not centered, etc. Standard building code items were not included, like rain gutters. Landscaping was very poorly put in. ... More

star-rating Need to improve quality

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Anonymous
  • Wimauma, FL
  • March 31, 2020

Too many issues for a new home. Need to improve the inspection process

star-rating Nice home, inconsistent customer service

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Anonymous
  • Noblesville, IN
  • March 30, 2020

During the building process, Lennar sales worked with us in a complex situation where we needed to sell our home in order to purchase the new one. In that regard, they were great. However, the walkthroughs were a joke as we had two individuals who did not know our specific home and could not answer questions about our specific build, just Lennar homes in general. Additionally, during the walkthrough the day of closing, we noticed additional items that we wanted taken care of and the individual conducting the walkthrough (the builder manager) was unwilling to fix anything that we identified, just to verify that other things were taken care of (i.e. workers had messed something else up like the grout and cabinets when trying to fix something else). Additionally, there was a lot of garbage in the yard from the building process in the neighborhood, and Lennar said they would send someone out, however, no one ever came and we had to clean it up. While we are happy with the home itself, outside of a few relatively minor warranty repairs, the empty promises made during the walkthrough had a lasting impression on us and I would definitely look at other builders. Additionally, at closing, the closing manager (associated with Lennar) was rude and treated us like he didn't have time for us. I didn't feel like a customer at closing, just a cog in their daily routine. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with Lennar. We are sorry for the difficulties you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional details or items needing attention, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

star-rating disappointed

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Telma P.
  • Ocoee, FL
  • March 30, 2020

People prepared to sell, however, do not finish reviewing the house after closing. A struggle to complete internal problems. 4 months and I still have blue tapes in my kitchen.

Lennar responded:
Hi Telma, thank you for sharing your feedback about your home buying experience. We are sorry for the difficulties you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any items needing attention, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Narrow Reviews by Area: