Skip main navigation

Lennar Reviews

What Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar.

Lennar has a reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.9 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Lennar 8196 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

Lennar

has 3.9 out of 5 stars in All Areas

8196 Reviews in All Areas

Ratings by Category

Overall 3.9

Quality 3.6

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.7

Customer Reviews

Prepare yourself

  • Kristin B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 31, 2020
  • Beltsville, MD

Buying a home can be a stressful experience, but with Lennar specifically you’re in for a wild ride, and I don’t mean in the fun way. Be prepared to receive an unfinished product, and be forced to close regardless. Be prepared for lack of knowledge of what Lennar even offers via sales consultant and lack of work ethic and cooperation. After the hurricane that was getting this home, 5 months later I can finally say it is a finished, beautiful product after many warranty claims, some of which are still unfinished. But the process in and of itself was a nightmare by most parties (they have ...

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm sorry for the delays or any inconvenience you've experienced. We would like to take the time to review your experience and address it to ensure it doesn't happen again. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your experience as you've stated it above, your contact information and your home address.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Disappointed in the condition of the house at point of sale.

  • Darlene P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 24, 2020
  • Woodland, CA

Major repair was performed in one bathroom shower enclosure that was cracked and a poor attempt had been made to cover it up. Plumbing noise during use of hot water supply to upstairs bathrooms. Stucco and paint over spray on all outside windows. All countertops and plumbing fixtures had excessive sealant product left on surfaces. The tile floors had excessive grout haze. Doors and baseboards were covered in construction dust. When windows were opened there was literally mud in the sill.

Lennar responded:
Hi Darlene, thank you for providing this feedback about your experience. We are sorry to hear about the items you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Put it on are web page...

  • Raymond A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 24, 2020
  • Rockwell, NC

Well we moved in and were told if there are any problems there a web page put all your problems there....If to bought a phone and I told you that there was a web site to go to if you have connection problems and you can't get on line how would you feel ?we have nails backing out..flooring problems..and paint that has piled back drive way cracks and you can't even have someone stop by know instead you send out surveys to make you feel better See how good we are..Ya no.....word of mouth go's a long way

Lennar responded:
I'm sorry to hear you are having difficulties communicating your concerns to us. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your feedback, contact information and home address so we can provide you with better guidance on other methods you can use to submit your requests.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Good build, but lacks customization

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 23, 2020
  • Tustin, CA

I hate Lennar's Everything's Included program. Buyers spend hundreds of thousands, sometimes millions for their homes and can't even do something as simple as select what color cabinets or countertops we get. The Everything's Included program is just a way for them to streamline their building process, make as many homes as fast as possible without giving buyers the option to make a house a home.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I would like to share this with our management team to review and address properly. Please share your comments with us by sending an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com and including your contact information and home address.

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Mixed feelings

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 06, 2019
  • Hoffman Estates, IL

I love my new home. Lennar had great floor plans and a variety of finishing options both inside and outside the home. Unfortunately there were some issues. Home itself was great. If you end up being a winter build, be ready to go through a maddening spring. If you close on your home in the winter, you do not get a driveway, sidewalk, or sod. This makes sense given the winter conditions. Here comes the fun part, so that Lennar can make its fiscal numbers, once spring comes, they prioritize their monthly closings first and the winter closings go to the bottom of the priority list for ...

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments about closing, especially during the winter months. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items. We will be happy to follow-up on them for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

Love our home plan, hate having to point out to the builder what’s not right

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 30, 2019
  • Fishers, IN

We love our floor plan and neighbors, but are really disappointed with the quality and expectations that Lennar has of its subcontractors. Apparently our standards are too high for a production builder.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced. Please reach out to us directly at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding concerns you have and we will gladly follow-up with you. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Safety concerns not addressed till today by land department

  • Natarajan M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 30, 2019
  • Cary, NC

My property happens to be the end unit on the side of the busy road where cars come at 45 MPH. I have taken photographs highlighting the need of the fencing similar to the fencing adopted by neighbor communities in Amberley area who are on the same side of the busy road. I wrote a note to Lennar sales, Lennar land department.. still they are not addressed. Their say is, its not in the layout and cannot be actioned upon. I have been asking the sales team to direct me to someone on the land department to talk about my concerns, I have never been directed till today. It has been almost 4 ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Natarajan, thank you for sharing your comments about your street. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with the details and your location, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

Lennar - Craftmans ship is terrible.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 26, 2019
  • Wake Forest, NC

Craftmans ship is terrible. Trim used is cheap wood. Paint was terrible and all over our flooring.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments about your home. Please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items and we will be happy to review and follow-up. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Second time around was a disaster.

  • Burnham L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 22, 2022
  • Mount Dora, FL

Lennar did not deliver as promised. It's my second home with Lennar. It's NOTHING like the first time. From the timeliness to quality of work being subpar. Quite honestly im NOT a happy camper. The only thing I got from Lennar on a timely and consistent basis was EXCUSES that didn't make sense.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Lennar - At the end of the experience, I do love my home, but it was not

  • Kimberly Jean C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 17, 2022
  • Naples, FL

At the end of the experience, I do love my home, but it was not easy going through the process. There were multiple mistakes made along the building process. Fixes took way longer than they should have and many of these were not performed to the standard that I would have expected for a new home. There were multiple delays during the build process - 5 weeks went by with no progress being done on the home and we closed on our home 2.5 months late. Further, when Lennar did close on the home they did so when they were not finished with the home and it has been a painful process getting things ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Andrey

  • Andrey D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 14, 2022
  • Naples, FL

To this day the houses front entrance of the house is still no painted. Part of the driveway is broken. And the other part is covered in stains. We also have to add water to the pool every couple days because the overflow system is not working properly and the water level gets too low for the cleaning systems to work. One of the sides of the kitchen cabinets is damaged. And part of the wooden trim in the kitchen is missing.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Go to another builder

  • Marianne R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 14, 2022
  • Katy, TX

First off , this was my first home and I was very excited . I began noticing workmanship problems throughout the building process with half done work . I noted several things like literally a slanted front door install, slanted kitchen window and framing . Leaking dinning room window, hole in stairs and carpet placed over . Those are just the things that presented before closing. I have been in my home now 8 weeks and recently discovered in the building process a giant nail was stabbed into a drain line in my laundry room which leaked for 8 weeks before it showed itself . I have had nothing ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

Mediocrity with intent

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 03, 2022
  • Port Charlotte, FL

First, the villa was four months late. That's not unusual during the pandemic, but the fact that none of the people who said they were in charge were willing to lift an estimate of completion until after it had passed. And all said they were the person to go to with a question, until you went to them with a question. The house was finally completed, and we've moved in. The house appears sound, although the cheapness of amenities is evident, starting with the low-level appliances and the poorly managed cabinetry. Also, subcontractor work on the irrigation system caused an emergency call to the ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Lennar - Not able to lock the price and lock the rate.

  • Nhut Van N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 17, 2022
  • McKinney, TX

Not able to lock the price and lock the rate.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

This has been an irritating experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 17, 2022
  • Tampa, FL

In my experience, buying the home was not the issue, it's been the follow up. Things like purchasing the home were explained clearly and upfront. Things like follow up about who to pay for the mortgage through Lennar the first month, how to pay the HOA, and how to get the key fob for the clubhouse or even where to get my mail from have been like pulling teeth!

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

The workmanship was sloppy and careless

  • Shawn R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 17, 2022
  • Summerville, SC

The workmanship on this house is ridiculous. There is paint on the carpet, clumps of caulking everywhere, careless installation of the water lines, paint splattered on the floors….honestly, I could go on and on. The response to my work repair requests have been great so far.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

HORRIBLE JENNIFER DUDLEY

  • Colston H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 10, 2022
  • Haslet, TX

Unbelievably horrible service on Jennifer’s part. Never would I recommend her services to anyone. Stay away!!!!!!

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 5

Generally poor quality of workmanship from subcontractors

  • Gerald R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 10, 2022
  • Westfield, IN

This was not a great home buying experience. This is our fourth new home in 25 years, and was next to the bottom in our satisfaction as customers. Our primary concerns were the very poor quality of workmanship (painting, caulking/grouting, etc...) and the almost total disregard the subcontractors had for protecting finished surfaces (LVP, carpet & countertops) as they finished detail and trim work. We spent many hours cleaning paint overspray, joint compound splatters & residue and grime after we moved in. Some places in the LVP were permanently marred by their behavior. Lennar's performance, ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Lennar - I feel that once the deal close all assist close too!

  • Jeffrey T.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 10, 2022
  • Fort Worth, TX

I feel that once the deal close all assist close too! I need help setting up my smart home! Cabinets not complete! I had issues with two cabinet and one was fixed and Alex will not confirm the two cabinet that also had a split in it they try to paint over but it need new cabinet

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

You get what you pay ( track home) for ?

  • Bartholomew R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 08, 2022
  • Noblesville, IN

Experience started out really well. Realitor was very helpful and called me every week with progress reports. This was great , and everything seemed to be going as planned. We set a close date and I flew in to close taking a late flight to make it to an 8 AM walkthrough prior to closing. When I arrived there was no welcoming party or Realitor. Just the builder stating he this was his first walk through without his team. The house was not finished with the blue tape touch ups and it was not cleaned. Because I got in late and was tired I took the builder at his word it would get taken care of. ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Lennar - Given the real estate market in the Denver area, Lennar is constructing

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 19, 2022
  • Thornton, CO

Given the real estate market in the Denver area, Lennar is constructing homes too quickly without much attention to detail which leads to poor craftsmanship and poor attention to detail. There are way too many issues with our new home, especially when paying this amount for a new home. You'd hope that those little things/details like adjacent electrical outlets lining up, ensuring HVAC wiring is correct so that the furnace and A/C condenser aren't running at the same time, picking up the debris/nails around the perimeter of the home prior to closing, ensuring paint is off of windows, ensure ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Great Lennar people but subcontractors lack attention to detail and quality control.

  • George S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 12, 2022
  • Canby, OR

We don't have any real problems with the Lennar people on the front lines, those we dealt with face-to-face. Our sales rep was terrific and our Lennar Mortgage rep was terrific also, but his underwriter/manager was an unreasonable nightmare, demanding documents and substantiation two days before scheduled closing, when that stuff should have been asked for weeks in advance. The stress that caused was enough to register on the Richter Scale. Beyond that, there were two big irritants, one as we were going through the buying process and one after we moved in. First, Lennar's marketing hype ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Great home, bad experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 05, 2022
  • Winter Garden, FL

We closed on our Lennar home recently. We are happy with our lot selection, home size, finishes, and price paid. Karly was excellent to work with in regards to new home orientation. However our trust was broken the entire time due to poor communication by many other working for Lennar, and false expectations cost us thousands of dollars in temporary housing. Given the supply and labor issues being faced in the industry, delays are understandable. However, setting realistic expectations would have been appreciated. Emails either went unanswered, answered late, or arrived with vague ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Bad Communication and unkept Promises

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 05, 2022
  • Apollo Beach, FL

There is a lot I could unpack here. 5 month delays, miscommunication, lack of communication, and being ignored. From sales to financing this entire team seems like no one has the right information...and those that do fail to communicate. The house itself is fine...but working with Lennar people is an exercise in frustration. They *say* they will answer your texts and return calls. They dont. They say welcome to the Lennar Family. Well this is a family that only sees each other on occasion and rarely speaks...

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for this review. We want to apologize for the delays and poor service you were provided throughout the entire process. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us in the future, if there's anything we can do to follow up. Our team can be reached directly at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Working through the mortgage process was terrible at best

  • Dennis James S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 29, 2022
  • Longs, SC

I knew going in the house for the money is good workmeship not so good moldings sloppy doors don't fit properly, hoa rules to many restriction neighborhood is very nice.

Lennar responded:
Hi Dennis, thank you for this review. We are sorry to hear about your poor experience with mortgage and overall workmanship with your new home. If there is ever anything we can do to help in the future, please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 8196 reviews about Lennar are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.

Narrow Reviews by Area

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 8196 reviews about Lennar are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.