Skip main navigation

Lennar

(5057 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar in Indianapolis

Read the 153 homeowner reviews of Lennar's new homes in the Indianapolis area. Indianapolis homeowners rated Lennar an average 4 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Lennar’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4 out of 5 stars
in the Indianapolis area

153 Reviews - 47 Communities

5 ★(72)

4 ★(37)

3 ★(23)

2 ★(14)

1 ★(7)

Quality 3.8

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3.9

Getting in on ground floor of any community is a must in order to give

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Westfield, IN
  • August 08, 2021

Be prepared to be on site daily to ensure quality workmanship and materials. Use of substandard wood products is unacceptable even if “wood is hard to get and you get what you get” attitude. They build these homes repetitively so efficiencies should be passed down to the consumer but is not. Homes are fit together to tightly with no room for mowers to slide through. My air conditioner was hit snd dislodged. The landscapers do not grade yards properly including picking up rocks and proper leveling before laying down sod. Also they set up a founders club if first 15 buyers to run the community. Abit unfair in representing the rest of the community / also it was kept rather secret. Another secret is they allowed under 55 year olds to buy into the community. Information needed to be truly transparent with new owners. ... More

Lennar - Problems with the home after move in affect the ratings.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • William H.
  • McCordsville, IN
  • April 01, 2020

Problems with the home after move in affect the ratings. Customer service unable to correct problems.

Nice home, inconsistent customer service

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Noblesville, IN
  • March 30, 2020

During the building process, Lennar sales worked with us in a complex situation where we needed to sell our home in order to purchase the new one. In that regard, they were great. However, the walkthroughs were a joke as we had two individuals who did not know our specific home and could not answer questions about our specific build, just Lennar homes in general. Additionally, during the walkthrough the day of closing, we noticed additional items that we wanted taken care of and the individual conducting the walkthrough (the builder manager) was unwilling to fix anything that we identified, just to verify that other things were taken care of (i.e. workers had messed something else up like the grout and cabinets when trying to fix something else). Additionally, there was a lot of garbage in the yard from the building process in the neighborhood, and Lennar said they would send someone out, however, no one ever came and we had to clean it up. While we are happy with the home itself, outside of a few relatively minor warranty repairs, the empty promises made during the walkthrough had a lasting impression on us and I would definitely look at other builders. Additionally, at closing, the closing manager (associated with Lennar) was rude and treated us like he didn't have time for us. I didn't feel like a customer at closing, just a cog in their daily routine. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience with Lennar. We are sorry for the difficulties you described. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional details or items needing attention, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Quick builds

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Fortville, IN
  • October 08, 2019

They quickly build and move on without a care about quality of craftsmanship and a pain to get to come fix things.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Lennar - Leslie the building consultant was the best part of the experience.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Tabbitha D.
  • Indianapolis, IN
  • June 22, 2021

Leslie the building consultant was the best part of the experience. Everyone else in the company is questionable.

Repairs

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Satinder S.
  • Greenwood, IN
  • April 29, 2021

I have too much repairs left in my new home and I reported so many times but no one responds

Lennar - We are experienced home builders - house #5 I have never feeling

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Yvonne K.
  • Westfield, IN
  • November 24, 2021

We are experienced home builders - house #5 I have never feeling so disconnected from the build - for first time home owners that f do not know better would be a good experience. Subcontractors cut corners example you touch the wall and paint is do thin it marks ... More

Love our home plan, hate having to point out to the builder what’s not right

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Fishers, IN
  • July 30, 2019

We love our floor plan and neighbors, but are really disappointed with the quality and expectations that Lennar has of its subcontractors. Apparently our standards are too high for a production builder.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the disappointment you have experienced. Please reach out to us directly at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding concerns you have and we will gladly follow-up with you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Everything included

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Loretta H.
  • Westfield, IN
  • June 29, 2021

Once the buying process was completed - Lennar has not upheld the convenance & restrictions of the neighborhood. They don't hold trades accountable for their lack of performance. And the property management team is lacking. It would help if tasks were completed successfully the first time instead of making promises that issues/concerns will get better. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Loretta, thank you for taking time to write a review. We would like to apologize for the items you've outlined, especially the lack of follow-up from Customer Care. If you have any items still requiring attention, please send us an email at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up for you. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Not impressed !

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Carmel, IN
  • March 04, 2020

Had a prior Lennar home, felt would be similar in good built quality , not impressed , have had issues with cabinets, cracks , poor built quality and over all fair !

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your contact information and address so we can have the appropriate management team review the situation for you. ... More

So Disappointed

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Brownsburg, IN
  • February 26, 2020

We built the new “everything’s included” home. Sounded like such a great thing. In order to get and “everything’s included” home, they cheat everywhere they can. Downstairs cabinets have soft close hardware. Get upstairs, not included. Plastic faucet upstairs on an upgraded laundry room. Only one hearing/air vent for the entire kitchen, living room, entryway. Upstairs is so hot and downstairs is freezing. Workmanship is poor. So many thing have had to be fixed already. Carpet is so cheap. We’ve been in the home 4 months and the carpet looks like it is 10 years old. Terrible, terrible quality. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I'm sorry you aren't entirely satisfied with your new home. Please send us your contact information to CorporateCustomerCare@lennar.com so a member of our team could speak with you in detail about the items you've listed out. - Lennar Corporate Customer Care ... More

Was led to believe incorrect information and poor follow through with problems

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • John H.
  • Pendleton, IN
  • June 29, 2021

First, when we requested for an independent inspection, the time scheduled was changed and then work continued before the inspection was done. When non-code items were found, the builder tried to state that they were within code and our inspector had to send them the code for them to change it. Even after this code notice, we have noticed that our neighbors' houses have outside electric covers has not been changed. It almost seem to tell us that unless one complains or point out a problem that only that person's problem will be solved, instead of every house built there after. Also, Lennar's mortgage had promised us that they could secure us a VA loan for us and then later told us there were unable. And by closing on a Saturday, they would not allow us to work with another lender. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi John, thank you for this detailed review. We are sorry to hear about the poor communication you received during your home purchase and disappointment resulting from poor follow through on your items. If there are any outstanding issues requiring attention, please send us an email at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any details you can provide. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Not impressed.

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Eric J.
  • Carmel, IN
  • April 15, 2020

Closed on the home with items still outstanding. Assurances given that all would be taken care of in short order. Not to delay the closing and moving plans, etc. we went ahead and closed. Now we still have outstanding items, no contact with our superintendent who conveniently leaves a message on his voicemail that he does not check voice mail messages, and to email instead. Turns out, he does not respond to emails either. Felt very rushed to close, then they vanish. Not impressed and not happy overall. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Eric, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear about the issues you are still experiencing with incomplete items in your new home. Please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with details of any outstanding items and we will research follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

My whole experience was disheartening.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Yiesha B.
  • Avon, IN
  • March 18, 2020

False advertising about when amenities would be complete (that was a huge selling point for my family), their financing dept. (Eagle Home Mortgage) was horrible, horrible job on my kitchen back splash (it looks like I did it) and they pretty much keep you out of the loop on any changes (like us not having our pool, playground, etc until next year). They actually told a perspective buyer (that I referred) not to tell me about the amenities not going in! Luckily she told me and I called afterwards, total surprise to me. The people are nice to keep you “happy” but my overall experience was disheartening for my first time building. Never again. ... More

Lennar responded:
I'm sorry to hear you experienced some communication difficulties during your home building experience. I would like to have our sales management team review this further and address it with the team. Please share your experience, contact information and home address with us by sending an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. ... More

Survey You Land

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Jaci G.
  • Brownsburg, IN
  • March 17, 2020

We payed for a premium lot size and found out after closing when we went install a fence that we are missing 10 ft of side yard. After doing some research, this is a common complaint for Lennar and there is nothing you can do about it except make sure you have the land surveyed prior to the start of your build. ... More

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments and I'm sorry to hear of your concern. I would like to look into this further for you and ensure it gets addressed by management. Please send us and email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your concern, contact information and home address. ... More

Poor craftsmanship

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Troy Douglas T.
  • Noblesville, IN
  • October 19, 2021

There were several items that had not been completed by the time of closing and several more issues once we moved in. We have now been in our house 4 months and are still experiencing issues. I feel that Lennar is now more about quantity than quality. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Troy, thank you for this review. We are disappointed to hear about the incomplete items in your home at the time of closing. We would like to apologize for the frustration this caused for you and would like to do anything we can to help. If you have any outstanding items requiring attention, please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Poor finish work

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

  • John H.
  • Westfield, IN
  • September 28, 2021

Quality of finish work is sub par , paint finish and quality is straight garbage. Your contact to repair this is overworked and doesn’t have the time to be helping with repairs. This should be put on the trades.

Lennar responded:
Hi John, thank you for writing a review. We would like to apologize for the frustrations you experienced with finish quality in your new home. Please reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, if there are any outstanding items that require attention and we will follow-up. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

I'm very very disappointed

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Matthew P.
  • Bargersville, IN
  • May 18, 2021

The process started well. At the time of closing, the quality of the home "appeared" to be what we expected. We put a great deal of trust in the builder on delivering a house that was as advertised and a high quality of work. But within the first several days and weeks it became apparent there were a number of "quality" related issues that went beyond aesthetics and were fundamentally wrong. Issues ranging from faulty appliances to poorly designed/engineered duct work to improper placement of fire/smoke alarms. It has been over five months of taking two steps forward and two steps back working with Lennar and various service providers to try to correct the issues, but still to this day we have NO resolution on ANY of the original issues. At this point, we feel like we were sold a bill of goods and no one wants to take ownership or responsibility and correct the issues that should have never been issues to begin with. We have lost confidence in Lennar as a builder and would have a hard time recommending anyone using them unless you had no other choice. Like you see all too often, they talk the talk until the day of closing, and then no one has the time to do the right thing. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Matthew, thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry to hear about the extensive list of issues you have experienced since closing on your new home. Please reach out to us directly at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, if there are any outstanding items you would like us to follow-up on with the local team. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Lennar - follow-up on outstanding issues has been horrible

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Carmel, IN
  • April 29, 2020

follow-up on outstanding issues has been horrible

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your difficulty in having repairs completed. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Lackluster experience

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Sharon C.
  • Fortville, IN
  • September 25, 2019

I love the floor plan for my home but the customer service after I moved into my home has been horrendous!! I've not seen nor heard from the person who walked me through my home since he asked for a five star rating while delivering 1 star service. They've not followed up to get all the items from the original list nor address the ones I've added since the move. The quality of the flooring and cabinets is not worth the money charged! Most of the workmanship and material are decent quality but not to the standards expected at this price point. The most offensive actions is the decision to change the size and value of the homes in the community. This decision has a great impact on my investment and the overall look of the community. I would not have purchased my home in this neighborhood had I known that this switch was coming. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Sharon, thank you for sharing your experience since moving into your new home. Please email any outstanding items to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com and we will review and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Nightmare vs. Dream Home

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Brian B.
  • Greenwood, IN
  • July 30, 2019

The overall experience was far from a positive one. Our front door was hung backwards. SEVERAL doors were not level and wouldn't close correctly / lock. The electrician they selected to do our home was HORRIBLE. He made too many mistakes. SEVERAL light switches were installed in the wrong places. Smoke detectors and light fixtures falling from the walls / ceilings. DOZENS of nail pops on day of move-in, yet we were told to wait for more to pop-up before having them repaired. Roof installed incorrectly. Bath drain not sealed resulted in water leaking through the ceiling. Wrong shower installed and refused to correct it. Outside window frame busted upon move-in. Drywalled over the attic access. Busted cabinets found during move-in. Cracks / holes in walls. There were so many things wrong during our pre-closing walkthrough. It seemed as though they rushed to the finish line and the GC didn't oversee the project well enough. Perhaps too many homes being built all at once? We spent our first three months in our home dealing with "warranty repairs" and still had to do a great deal of work ourselves to fix what was done wrong. We're putting a lot of work into making this the home we should've received as a new build. The term "turn key ready" does not describe Lennar. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Brian, thank you for sharing your comments about the quality of your home and the overall experience of dealing with these items. We are very sorry to hear about this situation. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Workmanship - Windows

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Ralph D.
  • Brownsburg, IN
  • July 12, 2019

Overall exterior and interior trim work was extremely poor massive amounts of caulk used to close poor craftsmanship / millwork. MI windows are falling a part - they will all need to be replaced within 12/15 years.

Lennar responded:
Hi Ralph, thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry to hear about the issues with your home. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Unsatisfied

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Danville, IN
  • March 25, 2020

Quality of work and materials are poor, having issues with drafts coming thru outlets and told we just have to deal with it.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about your home. We are sorry to hear about these items. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding issues, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care ... More

Lennar - Many problems as I moved in

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Noblesville, IN
  • March 31, 2021

Many problems as I moved in

Lennar responded:
Hello, thank you for sharing your experience. If there is anything we can do to assist, please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional details you can provide and we will follow-up on your behalf. - Lennar Customer Care ... More

Lennar is a poor Company

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

  • Zoltan K.
  • Westfield, IN
  • October 22, 2020

I love my home and I hate the fact that I live across the street from a new Lennar Town Home that someone is using like a Hotel.They have 10-12 renters at one time living there that move in and out every few weeks or so.I was never told this or I would have found a better location.I gave you overall poor scores due to this and at some point I will sell this home and go find a new home. ... More

Lennar responded:
Hi Zoltan, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about any disappointment you have experienced with the location of your new home. If you would like us to follow-up, please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional details you would like to provide. - Lennar Customer Care ... More