Skip main navigation

Lennar Reviews in Chicago, IL

What Chicago Homeowners Have to Say About Lennar.

Read all 180 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Lennar in the Chicago area. Chicago homeowners have rated Lennar an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Lennar's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Lennar

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in Chicago Area

180 Reviews in Chicago Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 3.9

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4.1

Responsiveness 3.9

Customer Reviews

Below average

  • Molly Z.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 17, 2020
  • McHenry, IL

Home. Thing experience was great then we were forgotten about and treated poorly since.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lack of customer service after the fact.

  • Virginia C B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 19, 2021
  • Algonquin, IL

Initial purchase seemed ok but after the fact when needing help and things fixed it’s like pulling teeth to get things fixed or made right.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lennar - We have been in our home for 4 months.

  • Megan S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 28, 2021
  • Manhattan, IL

We have been in our home for 4 months. The first three were a nightmare. We had many issues and it was not acceptable. We had our spigot in the garage fixed 4x bc it leaks, and shot out of the wall and flooded our garage, the master shower flooring was not installed good and couldn’t use it the first month bc they had to keep adding foam and it still squeaks. Our mater toilet was leaking and called the emergency number and told it’s not a emergency and to shut water off and they’ll come tomorrow. The smoke detector goes off 10+ Times while you cook. The flooring in the master and hallway ...

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Lennar - Was very disappointed in my newly constructed duplex.

  • Kimille H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 10, 2021
  • Manhattan, IL

Was very disappointed in my newly constructed duplex. I have had my previous homes built and never had any of the issues I had with this purchase.The positive aspect is that customer service has been very responsive in resolving the issues

Lennar responded:
Hi Kimille, thank you for writing a review. We would like to apologize for the numerous issues you faced with your new home. If there are any items outstanding, please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Mixed feelings

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 06, 2019
  • Hoffman Estates, IL

I love my new home. Lennar had great floor plans and a variety of finishing options both inside and outside the home. Unfortunately there were some issues. Home itself was great. If you end up being a winter build, be ready to go through a maddening spring. If you close on your home in the winter, you do not get a driveway, sidewalk, or sod. This makes sense given the winter conditions. Here comes the fun part, so that Lennar can make its fiscal numbers, once spring comes, they prioritize their monthly closings first and the winter closings go to the bottom of the priority list for ...

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments about closing, especially during the winter months. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had. Please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items. We will be happy to follow-up on them for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

How hard the process for loan was.

  • Gaylene B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 19, 2022
  • Batavia, IL

Worst loan company I’ve ever dealt with

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Lennar - Although we closed on the expected closing date, the mortgage

  • Gregory C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 27, 2021
  • Oswego, IL

Although we closed on the expected closing date, the mortgage process could have been a lot smoother, poor communication. As a first time buyer I would say we love the house, only mishap was that we were expecting a step tray ceiling in the master bedroom and our home was built without, so again poor communication. Once moved in getting things repaired RIGHT has been nothing short of frustrating. The only thing I can add is that quality for the most part is above average however the drywall and painting is below average and getting these issues corrected is a pain. Needless to say I ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Gregory, thank you for sharing a review. We would like to apologize for any frustrations you have faced with your new home. We would like to help in any way we can. If there are items needing further attention, please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow up. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Not satisfied

  • Richard M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 31, 2020
  • Montgomery, IL

Let me start by saying Rich and Aaron are very great and helpful with issues. I appreciate all their help. They are the only good experience I have had with lennar. I am not to happy at this point with everything else. There is a lot of sloppy work done. Carpet and drywall feels very cheap. Floor boards are creeping everywhere. I feel this house was rushed being built. I was rushed to pick my colors and was refused a small changes. When my brick went up I informed salesman I felt that wasn’t the right brick color I choose before moving in. I was told it still needed to be washed and would ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Richard, thank you for providing this feedback about your experience. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you would like to provide any additional detail, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Lennar - Bad experience.

  • Agata Z.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 13, 2022
  • Oswego, IL

Bad experience. Wish I never bought a property. Unprofessional

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Lennar - Overall very disappointed in how the lennar staff handled issues

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 24, 2021
  • Crystal Lake, IL

Overall very disappointed in how the lennar staff handled issues that I encountered and I will likely not buy lennar again.

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to apologize for any frustrations you faced with getting issues resolved during your new home purchase. If you have anything still requiring follow-up, please send us a detailed note of the items at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Lennar - The lack of response with issues not corrected of warranty items

  • Richard K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 21, 2021
  • Huntley, IL

The lack of response with issues not corrected of warranty items and from closing after 4 months .

Lennar responded:
Hi Richard, thank you for sharing your experience. We are disappointed to hear about your outstanding issues from closing. If there are any items you would like us to follow-up on, please reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Not impressed

  • Kevin R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 28, 2020
  • Hoffman Estates, IL

From what I was told they higher production workers. Thus meaning quality is not the product they deliver. I’ve had other contractors come in and laugh at the final product. I had plumbing not completed. Which resulted in water all in my basement when running my washer for the first time. A lot of small things they chose to walk away from that should have been fixed. I do not understand why Lennar wouldn’t do a walk through of the house, prior to our personal walk through. Every issue I pointed out I received an excuse for the issue. I don’t bother contacting Lennar out of complete ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Kevin, thank you for your feedback about the condition of your home. We are sorry for any issues you've had. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any items needing attention, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

A lot of repairs needed

  • Claudia B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 17, 2020
  • Huntley, IL

We are still under a year but we need a lot of repairs such as the floor counters are coming off the wall. The trim is not staying attached to the wall

Lennar responded:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I'm sorry for any delays you've experienced. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your outstanding items, contact information and home address.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Nothing was fixed

  • Marrissa S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 12, 2019
  • Minooka, IL

I opened a case may 2019 for my door frame that is detaching from my front door and water in my basement with no response as of July 2019 and I find out the "case" was closed! My ac unit was not working either, they did come fix that but to spend the money I did on my home I deserve more respect and response. I feel like no matter who I call I am not getting a response.

Lennar responded:
Hi Marrissa, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about the difficulties with the case you opened. Will you please send a message to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with the details, so we can review and follow-up for you? – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lennar - So much disappointed with overall experience.

  • Ruchi P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 22, 2022
  • South Elgin, IL

So much disappointed with overall experience.

Lennar responded:
Hi Ruchi, thank you for this review. We are sorry to hear about your poor experience and disappointment with your new home. If you have any issues or would like to share additional feedback, please reach out to us directly at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com and we will follow up. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Lennar - Lennar built its homes sloppily.

  • JoAnn O.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 20, 2020
  • Manhattan, IL

Lennar built its homes sloppily. Poor appliances. Cheap carpet padding. Cheap bath fixtures. The woman who walked us through houses (Priscilla) wanted absolutely nothing to do with me after the sale. No guidance. Nothing. I ended up getting new appliances after 3 months and the company who installed my new ones said they’d never seen such sloppy work with the garbage and cans and nails left behind the old appliances. Dishwasher installed crookedly. Patio door lock broken. I got push back on some of my complaints which I don’t expect when I buy a house Smoke alarm so close to kitchen I had ...

Lennar responded:
Hi JoAnn, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry to hear about the disappointment you outlined with the finishes in your new home. Please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any additional detail you can provide, so we can follow up with the local team. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Lennar - Initially presentations were good.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 09, 2021
  • Elgin, IL

Initially presentations were good. Communication throughout the process has been lacking, specifically we were not told about delays. We were told projected meetings and weeks passed without contact. We were told we would be told if there were delays that would affect the delivery date. We were not told. This affected several things for us. That seems false. False expectations were set as if to commit us without follow through from Lennar. Dissatisfied. Would never recommend Lennar to anyone. Very unfortunate and negative impact.

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for the review. We are extremely disappointed and sorry to hear about the issues you outlined regarding the lack of communication throughout the build and completion of your new home. If there are any items still requiring attention, please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com, so we can follow-up. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 2


Quality 0

Trustworthiness 0

Value 0

Responsiveness 0

Lots happened in our experience

  • Haider A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 15, 2022
  • Plainfield, IL

Lennar knows it’s brand and knows it will get customers. Therefore, the have no care or put little value in the customers during the buying stage. With the Exception of Steve, the construction site manager and Lisa, the warranty manager. First, with Lennar, they screwed us over in the home pricing. They waited until the price went up to notify us that an option we had requested could be put in. We had come in a days prior to the price jump and we’re ready to pay the deposit had we had the confirmation. Then later on, as I’m trying to get my private home inspector ready to come out, Lennar ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Haider, thank you for this detailed review. We are sorry to hear about the poor experience you had during the buying process of your new home and the frustrations you faced. We do appreciate you sharing the positive words regarding the service provided by Steve and Lisa. If there are ever any items you would like some additional follow up, please send us a message at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com and our team will assist. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Lennar - Customer Service post-sale is terrible.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 09, 2021
  • Crystal Lake, IL

Customer Service post-sale is terrible.

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for this review. We would like to apologize for the poor experience you expressed regarding the Customer Care provided after closing. If you have any items requiring attention in which we could help, please feel free to reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

We love our house, but I’d never build with Lennar again.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 24, 2019
  • Minooka, IL

From incorrect colors and finishes to horrible, dead landscaping and a completely unresponsive contractor, we loved the process but were left with a home that was not exactly what we picked nor what we envisioned.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your feedback about your new home purchase. We are so sorry to hear about the issues you've had. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with any outstanding items, so we can research and follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lack of customer service

  • Adam R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 24, 2021
  • Volo, IL

Hard to get responses to issues. Management is a revolving door. This is the 3rd survey I’ve received. Stop sending out surveys and use those resources to improve customer service. Just come talk to me or some of our neighbors. Lennar is Good at marketing, bad at customer service.

Lennar responded:
Hi Adam, thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the frustrations you experienced with Customer Care in your Community. If there is anything we can help follow-up on, please send us a note at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Lennar - This home was supposed to be my dream home.

  • Karen N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 24, 2021
  • Joliet, IL

This home was supposed to be my dream home. I was not given upfront, honest information from the time I signed the contract to the building of my home. Front elevation by front door was not what i signed for , it was a bait and switch. Lot was not what I needed - specifically told sales rep I wanted yard with a pool, my yard has so much utility items now running through that I cannot have a pool. The company has not been responsive to my issues, I have had to follow up multiple times to get any actions completed. Their subcontractors are not reliable. Lennar does not return messages. ...

Lennar responded:
Hi Karen, thank you for sharing your review. We are very disappointed to hear about your poor experience with your new home. If there are any items requiring attention in which we can assist, please send us an email at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Awful experience purchasing.

  • Robert L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 17, 2020
  • Manhattan, IL

Awful experience from the rushed closing to dealing with their financing. We almost walked away. Ask around the developments prior to putting down a deposit.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I'm sorry to hear you ran into some difficulties during closing. I would like to review your sales experience further and have management address the situation. Please send us an email to corporatecustomercare@lennar.com with your experience, contact information and home address.

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Not worth the hassle

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 17, 2020
  • Joliet, IL

I love they layout of this home, exactly what I dreamed of. Everything else is awful. The quality, materials and workmanship is beyond terrible. Problems with every square inch! Looking into a lawsuit at this time.

Lennar responded:
Thank you for your comments about the workmanship in your new home. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. Please email us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com if you would like to provide any additional detail, so we can follow-up for you. – Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Will Never Buy Lennar Again

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Elgin, IL

TERRIBLE responsiveness to issues. Would have been really screwed had we not hired an external inspector. More workmanship errors and cut corners very apparent longer we are in there, and Lennar is VERY unresponsive and slow to these issues. I will NEVER buy from Lennar again

Lennar responded:
Hi, thank you for taking time to leave a review. We would like to apologize for the issues you faced with responsiveness of the team and workmanship in your new home. If you have any outstanding items requiring attention, please reach out to us at corporatecustomercare@lennar.com. - Lennar Customer Care

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1