Skip main navigation

KB Home Reviews

What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home.

KB Home has a reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.6 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of KB Home 6484 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

KB Home

has 4.6 out of 5 stars in All Areas

6484 Reviews in All Areas

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.6

Quality 4.4

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.5

Customer Reviews

Hit many bumps during the whole process

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 25, 2019
  • San Jose, CA

I wasn't impressed with my sales rep. Buying a new house is a lot of money and I expected top customer service quality (took several days to get a response, did not meet deadlines). Lot of the upgrades are overpriced to the point where it's still cheaper to rip out KB installed finishings and install new ones after closing. Lot of the base finishings is very low quality and that's how they keep prices competitive but get you to pay more to upgrade to something more reasonable. After closing, our After Sales Customer Service representative was also very hard to get in touch with and ignores ...

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration with your experience. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. --Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

KB Home - Having lot of post closing issues and those are not addressed

  • Dinesh D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 18, 2019
  • Denver, CO

Having lot of post closing issues and those are not addressed properly. No point of having 1 month check in of everything has to go through the product warranty.

KB Home responded:
Hello Dinesh, we are sorry for any frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Great Sales/Finance Staff, Poor Quality Builder

  • Robert E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 04, 2019
  • Bulverde, TX

Overall, very disappointed with our new home. Model homes look great, but the actual build on all the houses in our neighborhood are very poor quality. Cheap materials and even cheaper labor -- skill level of the contractors is abysmal. If you're looking for a quality home in the $325K+ range, look elsewhere.

KB Home responded:
Hi Robert, we are very sorry for any frustration with your home and materials. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 4

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

so many issues!

  • Angeline D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 03, 2019
  • Corona, CA

So many issues to mention...

KB Home responded:
Hi Angeline, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Poor attention to details.

  • Esperanza L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 11, 2019
  • Gibsonton, FL

Several annoying issues such as wrong appliance installation, cracks in the driveway pavement, and hanging electrical wires that impede the closure of kitchen cabinet drawers.

KB Home responded:
Hi Esperanza, we're sorry for any frustration with your home and driveway. If you would like to speak with a representative, we can put you in touch with a manager to look into your concerns. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Not a happy homeowner

  • Jerome D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 09, 2019
  • Moreno Valley, CA

In short, everything was just done to get the house off the market. Everything was mediocre. Thankful for our sales person Gina and superintendent Kevin for hearing us and doing their best to correct the errors. Tips: DO NOT sign off or accept keys till everything and I mean everything is completely done right. From paint jobs to working light bulbs. From flooring to any dents and holes around the house!

KB Home responded:
Hello, Jerome, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. --Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

KB Home - KB homes worked hard to sell the house but once I got into the

  • Tyler M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 12, 2019
  • Tucson, AZ

KB homes worked hard to sell the house but once I got into the house I have ID'd a lot of flaws that were identified during the walk through and were not fixed. During acceptance I was told they would get fixed after signing. When I called customer service to correct it I ran into a dead end so i went to the the office where I was told they dont handle issues like that once the house is excepted. I would not reccomend kb homes to anyone.

KB Home responded:
Hello Tyler, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know if we can assist. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with this matter. -Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

KB Home - Communicate communicate communicate and do no settle.

  • Colleen R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 01, 2019
  • Jacksonville, FL

Communicate communicate communicate and do no settle.

KB Home responded:
Hello Colleen, thank you for your feedback. If we can help with anything please let us know at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. --Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Not happy with KB

  • Fatih K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 10, 2019
  • Round Rock, TX

My home was not clean/ready before I moved in.Wrong keys given(I am not kidding..!!) I called for some repair at home, did not get any response for two months.Will not recommend KB to my friends.

KB Home responded:
Hi Faith, we're very sorry for any frustration with the move in process and repairs. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. Best wishes. -Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Disappointed

  • Khatija R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 30, 2019
  • Seffner, FL

Management at KB Homes were very unhelpful and inefficient. Problems still persist with home more than 3 months after closing and the company is slow and inefficient in their resolution.

KB Home responded:
Hi Khatija, we're very sorry for any frustration with your home. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. – Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Commitment

  • Joy R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 24, 2019
  • Apex, NC

What’s committed at the time of closing is not yet done . I am still waiting for that . And also no body contacted me for 1 month inspection.

KB Home responded:
Hi Joy, we're very sorry for any frustration. If you need assistance with this matter or have any questions please do not hesitate to email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will ensure you are contacted. -Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Remember, KB is a tract home builder

  • Kent V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 18, 2019
  • Longmont, CO

Workmanship is as a traditional tract home builder. Maybe even sub par against that benchmark and the associated competition. Limited attention to detail. Lower end components for the money; faucets, appliances, toilets, and carpet. Interior painters are terrible. I don't think they know what blue tape is or what it used for. Other than that, the house seems to be solidly built, so far.

KB Home responded:
Hello Kent, thank you for your feedback. We would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Enjoy your home. --Brian

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Hurriedly built home with poor QA/QC

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 08, 2019
  • Punta Gorda, FL

Trades unsupervised. Home not delivered on time as promised. 2 months trying to get issues resolved that should have been done correctly before closing. Representatives of KB relaying incorrect information.

KB Home responded:
Hello, Shirley Jo, thank you for your comments. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home management to discuss any concerns, please let us know at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. We would be happy to put you in touch with a representative to assist. -- Lynn

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Very unorganized company

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 20, 2018
  • Round Rock, TX

We moved in less than 3 months ago and the walls and ceilings are already starting to separate and show visible holes. There are 4 additional issues that we have been waiting to get addressed as well.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Kyler, if you need assistance with this, we'd be happy to help. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com. Best wishes. -- Lynn

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Don't walk - RUN Away

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 06, 2022
  • Seguin, TX

Great floor plans...that's the only positive thing I can say. It took over a year from down payment to close for a 1647 sq ft single story house...which wasn't even totally complete when we moved in. This was my 4th new build and even the house built by a high school construction class was far superior in both materials and workmanship. Definitely would NOT recommend a KB home.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

KB Home - Paint workmanship inside of the home is 2 out of 5 ratings.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 28, 2022
  • San Pedro, CA

Paint workmanship inside of the home is 2 out of 5 ratings. We've repainted many walls ourselves already. A few repair requests made in mid-May 2022 are still pending as of June 28, 2022. Responsiveness to issues is horrible.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

KB Home - Worst home buying experience ever.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 23, 2022
  • Castle Pines, CO

Worst home buying experience ever. We will never buy a KB home again.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Rough customer service experience throughout.

  • Tiffany B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 21, 2022
  • Avondale, AZ

I hoped that for the price we paid for our home that we would be treated like valued customers, unfortunately, that has not been the experience at any point during the sale, build, or post-build process. We have been on our own, have received very little communication and our issues have been passed off from one person to another. Very disappointed in KB Homes. Our pre-close walk-through was a joke and we were told everything would be taken care of through warranty. Post-close we failed to receive our 10-day inspection, finally received a call for our 30 day inspection and it took over a ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

KBHome Builder

  • Beverly P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 26, 2022
  • Jacksonville, FL

I am very disappointed in kb home builders because we closed on March 31, 2022. There are still issues that I brought to the superintendent for Carter Landing subdivision in Jacksonville, Florida (Chris) and csr (Cody) whose been downplaying our concerns, but continue building other homes around us as if everything is nonchalant and fine. I have sent pictures through text, provided them with list of concerns, provided them the information to fix our issues and they have sent out several individuals who have showed up, but not have fixed our problems.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

KB Home - building took over one year with small issues still not addressed

  • Marianne M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 19, 2022
  • Green Cove Springs, FL

building took over one year with small issues still not addressed after two months post closing.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

A mess

  • Cody P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 11, 2022
  • Green Cove Springs, FL

I don’t even know where to start here. 5 closing dates which were all pushed back, heavy pressure to close when house wasn’t ready, terrible follow up about things needed to done from superintendent and customer service, overall poor craftsmanship and not to mention my $2000 “full overlay cabinets” were different than in the design studio and they refuse to do anything about it. I will never build with kb again or recommend kb to anyone. No accountability in this company from the TOP down. I’ve been in my house 2.5 months and still have a laundry list of things that haven’t been done. ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

KB Home - house has so many issues

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 19, 2022
  • Las Vegas, NV

house has so many issues

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

No follow up

  • Raul R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 02, 2022
  • Madera, CA

Lots of broken promises yet to hear from anyone

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

KB Home - Lots of over promising and under delivering.

  • Zane E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 18, 2022
  • Groveland, FL

Lots of over promising and under delivering.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

KB Home - The initial completion date was not respected due to Covid-19

  • Hernandez K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 31, 2021
  • Santa Clarita, CA

The initial completion date was not respected due to Covid-19 related issues, but once i moved in, i noticed minor issues with the property, such as the concrete slab that we paid for, which was not installed and other structural issues with the property. We were also told of a 10 day follow up review, which never took place. Some knobs are loose, and all of this is happening as we just moved in.

KB Home responded:
Hello Hernandez, I'd be happy to ask someone from our management team to look into this. If you will email our Customer Relations team at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, we'll make sure you are contacted. Please include your home address and your preferred phone number. We'll contact you as soon as possible. - Sheila

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 6484 reviews about KB Home are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.