Skip main navigation

KB Home

(5072 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home in San Jose

Read the 93 homeowner reviews of KB Home's new homes in the San Jose area. San Jose homeowners rated KB Home an average 4.6 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of KB Home’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.6 out of 5 stars
in the San Jose area

93 Reviews - 5 Communities

5 ★(69)

4 ★(10)

3 ★(8)

2 ★(4)

1 ★(2)

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.7

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.6

Overall great experience

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Siva K.
  • Milpitas, CA
  • May 05, 2020

the whole team was patient and helped us address all our questions

Overall satisfied

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • January 28, 2020

Overall good buy. Material quality is barely average. Upgrades are pricy.

Fair value for money, but sub-par quality of workmanship

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Siddharth D.
  • San Jose, CA
  • January 14, 2020

I moved in to a new town home at Metro II @ Comm Hill. The location of the community and floor plan is really unique. These factors led me to make the purchase. Overall I think it was a good decision. I was surprised however by the sub-par quality of workmanship all throughout the house. Several chips and scratches in the wood on doors, cabinets, etc. Paint drops on the floor. Misaligned doors. The list goes on and on. For the money I paid I expected much higher quality. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hey Siddharth, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any frustration with your home. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding this issues you mentioned, please feel free to email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. –Brian ... More

Dream come true

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Gour N.
  • Milpitas, CA
  • January 14, 2020

I heard from my friends that KB homes were very good, When I moved to my new home i realized why they recommended KB homes. The quality of the materials they used is very good. What ever they mentioned in paper they mean it and you can see that when you live in KB home. I definitely recommend to go with KB homes. ... More

Great Service and process, mediocre materials and workmanship

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • April 14, 2020

In short, good experience with KB, the service, responsiveness. Would recommend the team and ease of doing business anytime. From a value and workmanship perspective, I think they are mediocre; some paper-thin walls (sound), rushed finishes, carpet tags and bolts missing (though again, good service to fix). I think value (price) is ok for the Bay Area. But for the $ I would expect better materials. ... More

KB Homes has professional, responsive and caring employees working for them.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • May 03, 2021

People are good. Quality of construction is ok.

So far so good. Not super responsive, but that's how things work in the bay area I guess

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • February 27, 2019

They were not super responsive after the contract was signed. Also, once the home closed, the responsiveness dropped to 0. There was no guidance on whom to contact in case of unforseen situations. However, it's been just a few months since the home was ready. Let's see how things go as the home ages. ... More

Great customer service but little value

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • January 24, 2020

House construction was delayed by 4 months, which is understandable to some extend but it wasn't easy dealing with temporary place to stay and having your mortgage rate lock expire since KB kept sending inaccurate closing dates. The home quality itself is ok. For being a new home I was expecting better quality in terms of finish. To mention a few things: nails sticking out the middle of the carpet, some gaps between floor and wall base, uneven layout of floor tiles that make a room look like its longer on one end than the other. Customer service however is very good, they are responsive even though the work and quality are not great. After speaking with some friends, it seems like they also have not had the best experience with KB when dealing with new built homes. I would not buy another new KB home, not worth the price one pays for. ... More

Many things falling apart

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • April 21, 2020

We are excited to own our 1st home , the price/value is great but then when we landed in home it started falling apart , there are number of issues like Gas leakage , Tank-less water heater not working , ceiling lights popping out , gaps on edges of stairs etc . The person who did our home orientation did not take things right way to address them and always we need to claim to south bay homes and depend on their availability. I did not expect these kind of issues happen with new home which is not pleasant. our Thermostat was not working , when i tried to replace with new one it went down and they claim its not under warranty .. the new home less than 30 days how does it dont function well. overall happy only with purchase and community but not the amount of issues happening . ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – Brian ... More

Terrible wear and tear; unresponsive warranty service

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • May 21, 2019

My home was delivered to me with substantial wear and tear, and KB insists that things are normal and will not fix all problems before closing. Some issues are just impossible to fix after you've moved in. They also seemed to have used low quality materials--I have windows that do not block sound at all, and a super loud ventilation fan system. To make things worse, my KB Home customer service rep is unresponsive, and does not answer email for weeks. This has been a frustrating experience for me. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. Please e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, and we will put you in touch with a KB Home division manager to assist with this matter. –Brian ... More

new KB home review

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • May 01, 2019

this is my first purchase from KB Home. the quality is average and the price is above average. Understood that the overall house-buying market in the bay area is crazy so I don't blame this on KB home. Cannot review on trustworthiness and responsiveness since I've just moved in for couple of days. I'm giving 3/5 just to be able to submit the result. ... More

What is really amazing is how little the KB leadership cares about their customers

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Aza O.
  • San Jose, CA
  • October 19, 2021

KB Leadership clearly just throws their customer facing reps to the wolves & leaves them hanging with little to no true managerial support. Its sad, its just hard to see the age old concept of a 'faceless corp.' at work... This company clearly cares about profits & investors far more then they could ever care about the person that is spending their life savings on their product? Too bad, they could be such a better company if they just tried to listen & understand their customers concerns... ... More

Stressful Home Buying Experience

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 4

  • Ravi K.
  • Milpitas, CA
  • June 17, 2020

The process of purchasing a home started out great, but turned out to be one of the most stressful experiences ever. Midway through, there were changes in loan officer, with no communication, and no timely updates. Appraisals took extremely long, way longer than usual. The entire process took nearly 3 months. There were many mix ups and lack of communications that caused the deal to nearly fall apart, but in the end it all worked out. There are some opportunities for improvement for sure. The KB staff was helpful and kind, it was just a tough time and third party challenges, but definitely a frustrating experience. Understandable that some of the delays in the process were due to COVID, so some of it was unavoidable. Appreciate the KB staff that i worked with, but next time, hope the process can be smoother. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi, Ravi, we're very sorry for any frustration. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance and we will ensure you are contacted. Best wishes. -James ... More

Great Home, Poor Sales Service

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • March 22, 2020

As first-time home buyers, we found KB Home's overall support and responsiveness unreliable and poor. Particularly, the communication from the sales team did not seem professional, and wasn't as informative as they had promised (weekly updates were promised but nonexistent; we had to follow up each time). We had a pretty good experience with warranty support after the sale. While there were a few (easily addressable) issues in the home, we really liked the home design and construction quality. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for any fristration and would be happy to connect you with a representative to look into any concerns. Please email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. Enjoy your home. --Nick ... More

Avoid upgrade and do it you own

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • January 17, 2019

Material used is cheap, upgrade is limited and expensive. Not very good build quality either.

KB Home responded:
Hi, Lei, thank you for your feedback. If you would like to be contacted by a representative of KB Home to discuss any concerns, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com for assistance. -- Lynn ... More

Hit many bumps during the whole process

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • September 25, 2019

I wasn't impressed with my sales rep. Buying a new house is a lot of money and I expected top customer service quality (took several days to get a response, did not meet deadlines). Lot of the upgrades are overpriced to the point where it's still cheaper to rip out KB installed finishings and install new ones after closing. Lot of the base finishings is very low quality and that's how they keep prices competitive but get you to pay more to upgrade to something more reasonable. After closing, our After Sales Customer Service representative was also very hard to get in touch with and ignores most of my emails asking for an update. KB subcontracts a lot of the final stages of work (carpet, counters, appliances, etc). In my experience, it was all sub-par (counter overhang turned out to be a underhang meaning the closed drawers extended past the counter edge, holes in shower wall slabs, missing door pins, missing dead bolt screws). I'm pretty easy going but my new KB home purchase left a lot to be desired. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, we're very sorry for any frustration with your experience. We can put you in touch with a manager of KB Home to discuss any concerns if you'd like. Please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. --Brian ... More

Disappointed

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Milpitas, CA
  • March 17, 2020

I have lived in a KB home all my life. My parents have owned two KB Homes and when given the opportunity to purchase my very own KB Home came about, I was excited. Unfortunately, the experiences I have had were not the same as my parents. I expected more from a long time and reputable builder such as KB Home. For the amount of money I have paid, you would think the workmanship would be at the ultimate highest level. What was even more disappointing is the "talking out of both sides of the mouth" that occurred. I was told things probably just to appease me and then there was no follow through; totally "ghosted". What made matters even worse, one customer service person tried to coerce me into giving a dishonest review, when I only spoke the truth from my experience, and because of that review, I was told they would not be doing something they said they would do, which I ended up having to come out of pocket for. Furthermore, I have taken to managing the "fixes" needed in my "new" house and currently working with a great person from another department to get things taken care of. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, I’m very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -Nick ... More

KB Home - dishonest and lack of knowledge

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • San Jose, CA
  • July 15, 2021

dishonest and lack of knowledge

KB Home responded:
Hi, We are very sorry for any frustration. I can ask one of our division managers to contact you to discuss your experience. If you would be willing to email your name and contact information to CustomerRelations@kbhome.com, I’ll make sure someone reaches out to you as soon as possible to look into any concerns you may have. -Nick ... More