What Homeowners Have to Say About KB Home in San Diego

Read the 41 homeowner reviews of KB Home's new homes in the San Diego area. San Diego homeowners rated KB Home an average 4.5 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of KB Home’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.5 out of 5 stars
in the San Diego area

star-rating

41 Reviews - 3 Communities

5 ★(29)

4 ★(7)

3 ★(1)

2 ★(4)

1 ★(0)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.6

Value 4.6

Responsiveness 4.8

star-rating Responsive

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • San Marcos, CA
  • February 03, 2020

KB Homes is always responsive to the needs of the customer.

star-rating Home buying

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Martin M.
  • San Diego, CA
  • May 14, 2019

Ryan was very helpful and thorough in our home buying experience

star-rating Kb home review

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jeffrey C.
  • Vista, CA
  • March 31, 2020

Great home buying experience. However since moving in m, I’ve noticed little kinks here and there.

star-rating Homey

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Leo S.
  • San Marcos, CA
  • January 14, 2020

Big furnitures and appliances can be difficult to set in place because of the 3 storey set up. The stack washer and dryer I bought is hefty in size and the room for it was challenging for the installation. The hookups are placed behind the stacked washer and dryer. It could have been easier if the hookups were placed on the side of the little room. If you will be doing the move yourself, have fun! It is doable of course. Other than that, my family and I love it here. It is a relaxing and comfortable place to be specially coming home from work. ... More

star-rating Great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jeffrey W.
  • Valley Center, CA
  • September 22, 2020

The process was pretty good, fairly streamlined.

star-rating Very well built home

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jeffrey R.
  • Chula Vista, CA
  • January 30, 2020

Some slight issues here and there after moving in but KB has been extremely responsive. Thanks to Thom, Dave, Jesus, and all the people at KB for a wonderful home.

star-rating KB Delivers!

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Vista, CA
  • January 15, 2020

So first time home owner on my own. They delivered the home a few weeks ahead of schedule, but all fixes that needed attention took weeks to correct. I did have quite a few issues, but when I reported it, managers took care of it right away and were pleasantly attentive. Definitely a value for any one purchasing with KB. I would recommend that upgrades be done after closing . Costs are quite high for what you get with their design center. Over all, very pleased with my choice to purchase here. This review is after 2 months of occupancy. Used KB to finance and homeowners insurance. ... More

star-rating KB Home - Only problem I had was there were alot of work debris left over

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Chula Vista, CA
  • January 14, 2020

Only problem I had was there were alot of work debris left over from construction. But once addressed the issue was promptly taken care of. I was also not getting communication from the loan guy that was assigned to me. At first would not return calls until the next day or very later that day and would sometimes not know what to the answer was, even with simple questions. Def5did not have a great experience with that. (The current loan officer). ... More

star-rating Great Customer Service

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Kasey S.
  • Vista, CA
  • December 03, 2019

Over all, the customer service of Kb has been great. We have had a few issues moving in, but KB has been extremely responsive and has resolved everything in a timely matter.

star-rating Good not Great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Richard S.
  • Vista, CA
  • October 26, 2019

Overall, the home was constructed well. That said, greater focus on small details would have made it better. One example is the placement of the water pipes underneath the master bath sink. The placement takes usable space away from the interior of the cabinet. On the positive side, Rory and CJ have been great in quickly responding to issues. ... More

star-rating A solid house, but there was a lack of trust to the sales rep afterwards

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Dmitry G.
  • Valley Center, CA
  • September 15, 2020

We bought our house from KB Home in Valley Center, CA. I asked a sales rep not to rush closing the deal as I wanted to avoid any mistakes. She made us feel that we had no choice, but to buy one of "the last two" houses left, while a half of the community was still being built. Then she neglected to offer us to customize our house in their KB Studio. The house, which she offered was completely built out and we had no choice, but to agree to buy it as it was without any customization. The funny thing is that they are still showing and building those houses. Was she lying to us in the first place trying to close the deal by the end of the month? Had she completely ignored her customer's wishes? She could have offered us another house, which they were still building and let us customize it to our taste. After the deal was closed, we noticed that the house had not gutters installed. She told us that the gutters were the optional feature and should had been ordered at the KB studio before the house was sold. The problem was she never even mentioned their KB studio to us. What a catch 22 situation! :) As for the house, I think this a very solid house for its price. The quality is good, but if you want something better, just make sure you ask for KB Studio design session to be arranged. Otherwise, you will end up with the most inexpensive options. The rest of the team on site was quite responsive to our needs and requests, when we had a couple of small issues after we moved in. So, overall, it is a good house for its price, but we were robbed of the joy of buying our dream house by a KB sales rep. ... More

star-rating Beautiful home

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Vista, CA
  • July 20, 2019

The home is absolutely beautiful. The entire staff from the construction team to the sales team are professional and friendly. There are some issues with its corporate management. They are non-responsive. Happy with the home but not happy with how certain concerns are handled or should I say ignored. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for your frustration and would like to help. Please feel free to email CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. Enjoy your home. -Brian ... More

star-rating Nice home but after being in it for a month quality control was obviously lacking

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Eric D.
  • Vista, CA
  • April 14, 2020

I purchased a new home and after moving in it became obvious that the quality control was poorly managed or nonexistent. The painting was poorly completed and the subsequent touchups that were done were done in a different finish. There are other issues as well, including the dishwasher not being installed properly which resulted in it flooding the kitchen. They respond quickly to the issues but it is obvious that no one tested anything before I purchased the home and I wonder what else was not properly tested. It seems to me that they slap that houses up as fast and cheaply as possible and then deal with the fallout later. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Eric, I’m very sorry for any frustration with the quality of your home. We would love to have somebody contact you regarding any concerns. Please email us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure a representative reaches out to you as soon as possible. -James ... More

star-rating KB Home - Throughout the process I have been let down by Kb homes every

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 1

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Taurean C.
  • Chula Vista, CA
  • January 14, 2020

Throughout the process I have been let down by Kb homes every step of the way. If I was to do it all over I would not purchase a home with KB.

KB Home responded:
Hi Taurean, I'm very sorry that you are disappointed with your experience. Please feel free to contact us at CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we can put you in touch with a KB Home division manager. -Brian ... More

star-rating Poor workmanship

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Frank H.
  • Valley Center, CA
  • July 14, 2020

The more I walk through the home , the more I find needing to be fixed. Most of what need to be fixed is from poor workmanship and what appears to be lack of oversight. Walls that curve, carpet with lumps, squeaky floors I have gathered 3 pages so far. KB has a good product . They really need to watch the contractors closer. KB has been challenged with the fact that Covid-19 hit and they had to lay off numerous employees. They did still push the house to market to achieve their financial goal . Unfortunately for us, we are the ones paying for it. ... More

KB Home responded:
Hi Frank, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you have not already contacted Customer Care regarding the issues you mention, please let us know. You may e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. – James ... More

star-rating Less than 1/2 optimal

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 2

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Marcos S.
  • Spring Valley, CA
  • June 24, 2020

Less than 1/2 optimal

KB Home responded:
Hi, Marcos, we are very sorry for any frustration. If you would like assistance please feel free to e-mail CustomerRelations@kbhome.com and we will ensure you are contacted. Best wishes. -- Brian ... More