Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes Reviews in Washington, VA

What Washington Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes.

Read all 283 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with K. Hovnanian® Homes in the Washington area. Washington homeowners have rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.5 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes

has 4.5 out of 5 stars in Washington Area

283 Reviews in Washington Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.5

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.6

Customer Reviews

Would not recommend

  • Renu S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 31, 2020
  • Chantilly, VA

The lady showing the house (Beth) - terrible experience with her. Sorry to say not trustworthy. Good experience with Robert - site manager.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Pricey, pushy sales people, but great overall product in the

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 09, 2019
  • Woodbridge, VA

Pricey, pushy sales people, but great overall product in the end.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

The builder delivered the house on the date that was stated in the contract.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 16, 2020
  • Mount Airy, MD

The builder met each milestones in the construction process. Builder informed us of any delays and was able to make the lost time to complete the house on time. On few occasions, we had to follow-up with the builder.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

McDaniel ll Townhome

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 07, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

McDaniel ll Townhome. This has 3500 square feet and a desirable floor plan. The craftsmanship was not what we expected for a Townhome in this price range.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Until you actually live in a home for a while, you don’t notice

  • Paul S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 29, 2022
  • Hedgesville, WV

Until you actually live in a home for a while, you don’t notice all of the issues that escape you on your initial visit. Walls were not properly prepped prior to painting. I use blue tape so as not to put marks on the wall itself. When tape is removed the paint comes with it. Painters were sloppy while around trim work (paint on floor). Front door casing not level which allows light and air in. Cheap vinyl flooring. Cracks in ceiling where tape is coming loose. Little things like this annoy me because it appears there is no pride in what is produced and supervised.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Eh.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 25, 2020
  • Aldie, VA

Make sure you get the radon tested before you buy a home -- K. Hovnanian is very quick to deny any responsibility for it. Some of the K. Hovnanian people were very responsive to our needs, and others were less so.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Not great sales and builder customer service

  • Matthew A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 22, 2019
  • Aldie, VA

The home seems built well, but during the sales process, the sales agent was horrible about getting back to us with answers to questions or when we needed to make changes. The home seems to be built well, and through the process the construction manager was pretty good. But we've had a couple issues (mostly completely dead sod and plants right at settlement) and these things still aren't resolved. I keep getting told they'll be done, but it's been over a month and nothing has been done. Followed up a few times and I just get long winded explanations and excuses.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Great floor plans and locations.

  • Shea W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 26, 2021
  • Fairfax, VA

Great floor plans and locations.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

They are ok.

  • Jemima D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 23, 2020
  • Woodbridge, VA

The basic materials used in half a million dollars house a joke.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

KHOV Review

  • Pedro R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 03, 2019
  • Woodbridge, VA

Have some problems with the house that could of been avoided if the workers pay attention to details. Problems such as leaking. The workers wants to build too fast to meet a death line even after I told them to take their time but to build a quality product.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Pedro - sorry to read that you experienced some leaking issues in your new home. If you continue to have any issues or need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we will pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

K. Hovnanian® Homes - I purchased this home at a reduced price on a county program.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 14, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

I purchased this home at a reduced price on a county program. Maybe I received subpar service/products because of that. Either way, I would NEVER purchase at full price from K.Hovnanian based on my experiences with the salesperson, the construction managers, and the warranty manager.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Melissa & Kenneth, thank you so much for reaching out to us we have shared your comment with our local management team for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2020
  • Ranson, WV

Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch. We have found a lot of issues since moving in. A lot due to poor workmanship and no quality control on the work being done. That said they are super responsive to issues which arise and work to fix it. But it’s a headache that should have been taken care of before hand. In closing, hire your own realtor to help you and no matter what get a home inspector.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Did not go as well as planned but the major issues were with

  • James B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 06, 2022
  • Woodbridge, VA

Did not go as well as planned but the major issues were with the Mortgage company. Way to many issues to list but it was an absolutely horrible experience. Some issues with the building process but that went pretty well and we settled on time. Mistakes were corrected and some had to do with supply chain issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi James - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

The antiquated processes.’

  • James W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 15, 2021
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

Our experience was one delay after another. We have great disappointment in the deliverable. The bright spot in this experience was the Community Senior project Manager. He seems to experience and very personable.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning James - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your new home and will send your feedback to the local management team for follow up. Thank you! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

The dishonesty of the sales team and management

  • Stephen D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 06, 2022
  • Fredericksburg, VA

KHOV sales and design center are not concerned with the best interest of the buyer, and you need to ensure all discussions are in writing. Truthfully I would not have purchased from this builder knowing what I do now, and the dishonesty that is plagued throughout the process.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Stephen - Thank you for providing feedback, we will be sending to the local management team for follow up. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - There were lots of offers.

  • Gisella H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 27, 2022
  • Mount Airy, MD

There were lots of offers. We paid for changes and upgrades for our home; however, Tyler never gave us the opportunity to pay for an office door and a deck which we really wanted. Since he did not offer us the opportunity to upgrade or select those options, we believed it was included in the price of the house. We were very specific and clear to him that we wanted our house with the same options as the model home. That’s why we asked for the upgrade of the guestroom with full bathroom, the Sun deck with the a lamp and the office . Exactly as the the model house. That did not happen. We were ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Gisella, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Lies and Misleading information / Not work the inflated price

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 04, 2022
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

I will never recommend K. Hov to anyone. The quality of products that were used to build this home, as well as the craftsmanship to put the home together, is something to be desired. Our first night in the house, we smelled smoke, like there was an electrical fire. Come to find out, the wires were crossed in the bedroom lights. This was just the start… tack strips not holding the carpet, shoddy cutting of the wood for the rails and baseboards, loose railings, poor grouting of bathroom tiles, nail pops EVERYWHERE after a month, lies about the swale in our backyard and how it “should” ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Janelle, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Poor Communication and Accountability

  • Danny S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 31, 2022
  • Fredericksburg, VA

Our overall home buying experience with KHOV was not as great as we anticipated. We have been understanding that the current industry norms has impacted the builder’s ability to deliver homes more timely. With that being said, for our community (New Post in Fredericksburg, VA), the issues were compounded by lack of communication and accountability with regards to issues with the home, quality of the craftsmanship, and not to mention we went through 3 different project managers for this community, causing added constraints to the timeline of home delivery and further breaking down the lines of ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Danny, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Decent Home, Poor Execution

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 02, 2019
  • Aldie, VA

We had some high expectations on our purchase of this home, but it was met with poor execution, poor supervision on the trade labor, and poor follow up to correct issues. This wasn't all bad, but if you are buying from this group, then make sure you have the ability to watch each step of the process closely as you will quickly get frustrated with the execution if it's not supervised properly. If executed correctly, it could be a wonderful home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi - thanks for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not satisfied with your new home. If you'd like to provide your contact information to customercare@khov.com we can send to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Waiting almost a year for a condo.

  • Kathleen S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 10, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

Having to wait for almost 10 months cost us a great deal of money and a great deal of anguish. The interest rate started at under five and ended up 5.5. Over the life of the lone that is a great deal of money. We bought the condo to be close to our grandkids. We missed a year of their life. It was very upsetting to keep your life on hold. My sister purchased a house three months after us and moved in three months before us. Some builders seemed to be able to get materials.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Kathleen, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We've seen your message and will pass it along to local management for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Buyer beware

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 01, 2021
  • Mount Airy, MD

We bought our home sight unseen, moving from out of state. The pictures looked nice and they gave us updates throughout the building process, but when we arrived we were sad to see the terrible lack of craftsmanship in almost every aspect of the home. Cheapest parts they can possibly use everywhere. Cheapest paint I’ve ever seen and nearly no wall texture, with no option to pay for better quality paint in the build. Cracked grout and caulk all over the place. Sod directly over boulders and rocks no topsoil and a hill behind the home where we were told it would be a flat lot, making over half ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we will be sending your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Not a pleasant experience overall!

  • Praveen D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 26, 2022
  • Mount Airy, MD

It all started great with Tricia. The minute we opted to go with an external lender (because KHov could not accommodate our needs), the attitude from KHov changed. The stones in our house was not what we asked for and the error was caused by the sales person transcribing the name of the stone in the selection list. KHov started blaming a sales person who left and failed to own their mistakes and just tried to escape from the situation. Even after several escalations, there were no options being considered at all. I know this is a common issue and usually builder fix it or compensate by ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Praveen - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Thiefs

  • Douglas D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 11, 2020
  • Ranson, WV

The company lied to us about drainage issues on the property from Day one and created a false appraisal of the new home, cheating out and lying to federal regulators.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank your for providing feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

What A Headache...

  • Kevin M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 12, 2020
  • Nokesville, VA

Quality of Workmanship & Material. The build quality is extremely poor. K Hov uses the lowest bid subcontractors and it shows. Every aspect of our house from the driveway to the fireplace to our roof to our septic was built wrong the first time, if not the second time. Also, K Hov will do everything it can to hide issues and hope you don’t find them during the final walkthrough. Trustworthiness. Everything our broker and construction manager told us was a half-truth. Basically, they tell you want you want to hear as opposed to what is accurate. Value for the Price Paid. I think our home ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Kevin - thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy and have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - This has been the worst home-buying experience my wife and I

  • Jonathan R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 07, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

This has been the worst home-buying experience my wife and I have ever had. We felt we were lied to and manipulated by the KHOV sales team; specifically Joe’s. without considering its deceit's economic ramifications. This has been devastating for my wife and me. The KVOV Sales and construction team at Pender Oaks Towns it’s all about misinformation, untruths, and deceiving actions. I would never recommend KHOV.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jonathan - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1