Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes Reviews in Dallas, TX

What Dallas Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes.

Read all 270 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with K. Hovnanian® Homes in the Dallas area. Dallas homeowners have rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.4 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes

has 4.4 out of 5 stars in Dallas Area

270 Reviews in Dallas Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.4

Quality 4.2

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.4

Responsiveness 4.4

Customer Reviews

Great name but standards across the board have declined

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 03, 2022
  • Melissa, TX

KHov plans are good and priced reasonably compared to other builders. Elevations could could be better though. Weekly updates are very good for buyers specially first time buyers. KHov did not increase prices after signing like some other builders. Response to escalations is very good. No flexibility to make changes after signing. Buyers can only choose from a designer package. No ala carte. Sales staff knowledge is questionable. Turn around time to fix issues raised by buyer should be improved. Construction quality is down.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Quality Home built on time

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 22, 2022
  • Justin, TX

Overall a pretty good experience with KHov. There were some issues along the way that should have been avoided but overall the experience wasn’t bad.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

The khov builder build the house with very reasonable market price.

  • Suneetha G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Celina, TX

The khov builder build the house with very reasonable market price.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

High quality materials, average finishing.

  • Christopher S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 26, 2022
  • Northlake, TX

I really like the quality tile, flooring, fixtures, etc. available with the included smart home features. The house is well made, but the finishing was a bit underwhelming. Some door handles were installed crooked, door frames and baseboards were rough in some places and did not present a 'polished' finish. Patched sections of the ceilings and walls (from damage during construction,which is common) didn't look new even after a second pass. Early warranty claim was resolved, but required us to follow up weekly for updates. Overall, we really like the home and were pleased with the timeline ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Christopher. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at Canyon Falls Villas. We are sending your comments to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

K. Hovnanian® Homes - The experience was good until the end when I had to actually

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 18, 2022
  • Northlake, TX

The experience was good until the end when I had to actually deal with my Construction Manager. Everything was to his standards time frame and no concern for the Customers input.

Total Score 3


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

K. Hovnanian® Homes - While somewhat disappointed in the quality for the price I paid,

  • Jack W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 30, 2021
  • Melissa, TX

While somewhat disappointed in the quality for the price I paid, the quality of people that work for KHOV here in Liberty is top notch. I could not have been happier with my salesperson and home builder.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

K. Hovnanian® Homes - The home is lovely but there are several workmanship issues we

  • Karen W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 28, 2021
  • Garland, TX

The home is lovely but there are several workmanship issues we weren’t expecting (Windows are not the same size on the top versus the bottom for example).

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

K. Hovnanian® Homes -

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 25, 2020
  • Northlake, TX

A K. Hovnanian home is worth looking into.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

In general a good builder, but if you are detail oriented...

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 22, 2020
  • Roanoke, TX

We identified several issues to the builder, they worked on it but it did not present the quality of work we expected, so we had to keep calling the builder to keep re-fixing again and again. We still have several open tickets, things are getting fixed slowly, but what a hassle. In general this is a good builder and they use quality materials (not the best, but still good). I you are paying top dollar for a house and expect detail oriented quality, find another builder.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

New Home Construction- Commodore @ Preston

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 29, 2020
  • Plano, TX

The sales process was strong however the overall craftsmanship is below average especially when paying premium amounts for upgrades and features. Attention to detail was below average as well. The completion was nearly one month behind schedule. The construction communication and past follow-up responsiveness to issues has been strong.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

About What We Expected

  • John K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 28, 2020
  • Northlake, TX

Overall, the home has turned out to be about what we expected. There were several frustrations in the home building process; most notably, the kitchen we were promised turned out to be the result of an incorrect drawing, making it impossible to build as shown. This caused a 2-week setback and a major reworking of the kitchen that resulted in other issues. We now have a dysfunctional dishwasher that is drilled to the floor instead of on legs, which means that in order to repair it, we will inevitably need to have our kitchen floors torn up in the coming weeks. Our lawn has been described by ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning John - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your homebuilding experience. We are disappointed to read that you are experiencing some issues and invite you to email us at customercare@khov.com with your information if you find that you need further assistance. Thank ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

All the things that did not go well.

  • Daniel P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 02, 2021
  • Forney, TX

While there are certainly many things to like about the house, location, and customer sales representative there also were too many problems along the way. Many delays, a lot of misinformation, failure to follow agreements without arguments, the worst finish grading job I've ever seen in my life, mediocre job of laying sod, mediocre finish carpentry work, absolutely stupid placement of the dining room light fixture, acute lack of kitchen & bathroom storage space. Other design issues inside and outside as well. We were relocating from out of state which made everything much more difficult. BE ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Daniel - Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry to see that you had delays and some issues with your new home and will be sending your comments to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

K. Hovnanian® Homes - I see so many things are ignored during the build process.

  • Jai K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 03, 2021
  • Frisco, TX

I see so many things are ignored during the build process. It means there was not attention during construction process.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Friendly staff

  • Markeya F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 08, 2020
  • Red Oak, TX

There was some perks such as incentive. I wish they had model homes visible to see to know exactly what your getting or blue print to go over what includes in the home and how and Carpet will be laid.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

My First home buying experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 30, 2022
  • Melissa, TX

Personally, I went with Khov because I did not want to get in a “bidding war” with a pre owned house and because I felt that the price was close to what I was wanting. As mentioned in my title this was by first time buying a home. Personally I felt like there wasn’t any guidance. The seller just wanted to sell, the builder just wanted to finish up his build, and the mortgage person just wanted me to go through them. There was no clear communication to me as to “what was next” in the process. I felt like everyone just wanted to make their money and leave. I don’t want to get into details on ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Gabriel, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Sub par communication, had to take the initiative when asking

  • Jefferson J.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 20, 2022
  • Forney, TX

Sub par communication, had to take the initiative when asking for updates during the building process

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Terrible closing experience - someone please call me

  • Jack S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2021
  • Roanoke, TX

Someone please call to discuss

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, your comments have been passed along to the division for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Work of sub-contractors was sub par and became apparent after

  • Michael R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Celina, TX

Work of sub-contractors was sub par and became apparent after move in (paint dripped on carpet, grout missing in spots in bathroom, irrigation not properly installed, etc.) I know times are challenging in building currently, but for the price we paid for our home we feel a little cheated. Our close date got moved several times due to issues with labor, I guessed we figured the labor would be worth it but it wasn’t in the end. Communication was also lacking during the build process.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Michael - thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to see that you experienced some issues and will be sending your comments to the local management team for follow up. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Reach out to me direct feedback…Thorough the process, we are

  • Christina S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 11, 2021
  • Northlake, TX

Reach out to me direct feedback… Thorough the process, we are so thankful for April and Addie!

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

April at the sales office

  • Delphia W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 28, 2021
  • Red Oak, TX

Overall it was ok, a few things were a bit disappointing. For instance the shower glass install was shotty. Didn't complain since I will behaving the bathroom remodeled. The people that work for the company are the high point of the experience. John and April.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 5

The construction process was very difficult

  • Cecilia V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 11, 2020
  • Celina, TX

During the construction, the general contractor was changed 4 times. We had issues with the constitution and was very difficult to get a response. The sales person and contractor were not coordinated. We didn't have the opportunity to get a predrywall inspection. We tried getting a meeting with someone higher than them, but no one made themselves available to hear about the issues and concerns we were having.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Okay.

  • Edgar R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 03, 2019
  • Richardson, TX

Very friendly people although it’s best to have everything in writing! Overall the house is great, minor quality issues in building and they will respond eventually, patience is key working with them. At the end of the day, we are happy but bumpy road to get there.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Smart homes that aren’t smart

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 02, 2019
  • Roanoke, TX

House is great but add on smart package and you aren’t being smart. A total waste of money and time spent in having to chase what you paid for. Months later and still not working nor complete with no estimated completion date given. I would suggest if you want a smart home you do it through an outside party. After care is hit and miss. Twice we have waited home for our punch list items to be completed with no shows. Totally disorganized and very disappointing.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Basic house, poor communication.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 05, 2021
  • Northlake, TX

Overall, our experience was okay. We love our neighborhood, and are happy with our house. We found that we did not receive much information from K Hovnanian in the time period after signing our purchase contract and closing, unfortunately. We didn’t receive any information other than a simple marketing piece that showed our chosen floorplan and elevations until after our first pre-closing walkthrough with the builder representative. After it became very apparent that we did not have all information, we were finally given a binder with information - a binder that detailed building timelines, ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

It took forever to get my house built

  • Michael A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 21, 2021
  • Sachse, TX

Shouldn’t have bought a home during Covid. Structurally the house is great. The fit and finish is the worst I have ever seen for $400,000 house

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Michael, we are sending your comments to the local team for further review. Thank you, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 4