K. Hovnanian® Homes

star-rating (774 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes

K. Hovnanian® Homes has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes’s 774 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.4 out of 5 stars
in all areas

star-rating

774 Reviews - 162 Communities

5 ★(525)

4 ★(112)

3 ★(68)

2 ★(28)

1 ★(41)

Quality 4.3

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.4

Responsiveness 4.5

star-rating Good, but needs work.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • League City, TX
  • March 10, 2020

The key to Westwood is Brandi in sales. The weak point in Westwood is Brent in the building process. Brandi sets just a great platform for Khov and tries to maintain the balance and clean up brent’s messes. He needs to be retrained, take a time management class or be able to do what he says he will, when he says, which is few and far in between. Nice guy, but not trustworthy and gives homeowners an uneasy feeling when making the biggest purchase of their life. Please fix the issue and try to resolve at the lowest level. Brandi works too hard in Westwood to be destroyed by Brent’s actions. ... More

star-rating Did an OK job

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Wendy B.
  • Magnolia, DE
  • March 03, 2020

As a whole, we were satisfied with the process. It seemed that if anything’s was asked for that didn’t fit in the box as is, it was way too much to discuss. Repair items that I mentioned were not only belittled but mostly unaddressed.

star-rating We love our KHOV home and would do it again.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Patricio G.
  • Fowler, CA
  • February 11, 2020

The KHOV process was made as smooth for us as possible, and we love our home. We had the builder Tim, the sales associate Saul, and the loan advisor Mrs. Mason work with us throughout the whole process, and they went above and beyond to ensure we received our home promptly. I would say that we were given a lot of incentives that we used towards our home upgrades and have enjoyed the benefit of being the first member of the community to live here in KHOV Fowler. There were a few difficult times with communication, as some plans went on ahead without our approval from higher up. The home designer was an issue as there was minimal communication from her. However, we managed to work past it. There are a few items we wished KHOV would have honored, such as allowing us to put in our wood floors, putting in our sprinkler system, adding our sod instead of the standard bark, changing the colors of the house, or putting in our own purchased carpet, but every housing community is different. We advise that during the gold key walkthrough that you take your time observing any fixes looking at every corner, under every shelf, and asking questions about anything, you seem unsure. Bring someone with you who is knowledgable about building homes. Like I mentioned before, turn to someone knowledgeable about homes and upgrades as sometimes it might be cheaper to buy things at Lowes than to get the top upgrades from the home designer. Rest assured, though, that the people who helped us with our process were very knowledgeable and would not allow anything to go wrong because they genuinely cared about our satisfaction. I love our house, and I know that others will be satisfied with their purchase. We are first time home buyers and our satisfaction is high. ... More

star-rating Good Build

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Travis B.
  • Northlake, TX
  • January 28, 2020

Overall a good build. Had some issues with the wiring lights in living room but KH was quick to repair. Also had my heater go out in the first month for unknown reasons.

star-rating Mistakes were corrected

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Lorain, OH
  • January 14, 2020

We had a rough start with the planning of our home. The wrong design was submitted, and we weren’t told about the siding color restrictions. Ultimately everything was corrected and we are very satisfied.

star-rating Got lucky With James taking over construction

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • James G.
  • Arnold, MD
  • November 12, 2019

If it wasn’t for the new construction manager James this would be a 1-2 star rating for all. James has gone above and beyond to make this process smooth. When we moved in multiple things were done wrong and the workmen ship was below par. There were things forgotten that we paid for. But James has been extremely understanding responsive and reactive to the situation. James should be highly appreciated in the company and be compensated for his hard work. He understands customer service and drive for getting the job done correctly. ... More

star-rating Happy New Home Owner

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Scott L.
  • Scottsdale, AZ
  • October 29, 2019

Nesha and Mathew were fantastic to work with, very attentive, responsive and understanding when issue arose. In fact all the people I had the opportunity to interact with have been extremely professional, friendly and attentive.

star-rating We had few issues.

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Dan N.
  • Cedar Grove, NJ
  • July 01, 2020

Even though we did not move to the new home: *our sink has RUST on it and its has to be fixed or changed. They said it will be fixed. I wanted to be documented that if after being fixed the sink still started rusting, IT HAS TO BE CHANGED. *as a result of rain, our basement got wet and had some water. it is very very bad to move to a house which damaged by rain water. *The sump pump was not draining. This problem has been fixed. *The air filter for air condition system was so bad and it was black even though no one used it yet. They put the used and damage one in there!!. This problem has been fixed. ... More

star-rating Love our house/Attention to detail

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Anonymous
  • Celina, TX
  • June 19, 2020

We love our house, but we are noticing a lot of little things, now that we are living here, that we missed on our walkthroughs. It seems to me a stricter check or verification of work after the house is finished should be in order. Nothing major, just little things you wouldn’t expect to find. Paint thinly applied on walls and cabinets, master bathroom toilet seat was up on both our walkthroughs, but when down reveals chips on the top of the lid, loose screws on kitchen cabinets, guest toilet running constantly, etc. etc. Overall, we are happy. Love the floor plan, and the house. ... More

star-rating Fast build, friendly team. mediocre quality

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Mary A.
  • Richardson, TX
  • April 07, 2020

Process was quick and easy. Craftsmanship was a bit lacking, just messy in some respect. LOVE the area.

star-rating need to be more responsive

Quality star-rating 3

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Anonymous
  • North Ridgeville, OH
  • April 23, 2020

Before the keys are handed over make sure everything is ready for the homeowner

star-rating Rating

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 2

  • Lawrence P.
  • Casa Grande, AZ
  • March 10, 2020

I had call in to have painters come back a few times to keep touching up and to paint where blue tape was. It was so bad that after 2-3 times I still have blue tape. I asked Anthony for paint so I could do it myself. The house was not done with all the issues the day I got my keys. I still have an issue with the driveway that is not corrected yet. I closed almost 2 months ago. I have a light switch to the kitchen that is not working. Sabrina and Anthony were great but I can’t really say anything else was great. Lights on outside garage should be standard. ... More

star-rating Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. ever again.

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Diane B.
  • Yorkville, IL
  • May 26, 2020

Great staff from the sales office to the building crew. I would never finance through Khov ever again. Terrible experience with that side of the business! Submitted paperwork several times; always had to resubmit additional paperwork; staff doesn’t return calls or emails. Was a real pain to work through the financial portion of this transaction. Not worth it to use their financing-and our loan was sold to Chase Bank the day after we closed. ... More

star-rating Overall Experience

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 3

  • Jose V.
  • Davenport, FL
  • January 28, 2020

In the beginning it was a great expérience but quickly went down hill. I am à Sales Manager in the auto industry for 15 years. Understanding your customer need and wants should. be a priority for Amy one in sales. Wé thought ois realtor really understood what we wanted but as time went on we réaliser that she just dis not listen To us. Wé had infomed Her what was important To us. We trusted her. When the situation was confronted her answer to us was that you should have been aware because you signed the contract. we understand that we signed the contract and we also trusted her into assuring giving us what we asked for. I believe we should have got options to correct the situation and it should have been communication between the design center in the realtor to assure that the customer got what they wanted and if there was any obstacles we could have all worked it out. knowing what I budget was it should have been kept in mind so the customer could have been informed where they stood with the cost but unfortunately that did not happen either so I had to come up with a significant amount of money at closing. The only upside to our experience as we were purchasing the home is Carl the head of construction for our home he was kind he was informative and he was personable he did an outstanding job and to date he is still driving around the community and asking how everything is going it's unfortunate that the real estate agent and Carl you not work together when it comes to selecting the plan of the home. Carl was very thorough when he reviewed the plans with us in the construction with us and always kept us updated every Friday about what needed to be done and what I got completed. Carl get 5 stars. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jose - thanks for providing feedback on your experience. We are sorry to read that you were not pleased with some things and hope that everything was resolved to your satisfaction. If you have issues in the future and need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate team members to assist. Thanks! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Could Have Been Better

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Judith S.
  • Morristown, NJ
  • April 07, 2020

The design and upgrade selection process was very aggravating. The Design Center manager failed to show up at our appointment. This was after a long trip for us and friends who joined us. When we did look at the available items and materials, we were very disappointed with the remaining choices. We contracted with First Choice Electrical for low-voltage wiring of audio/visual and cable. During construction the house was wired incorrectly and had to be rewired. After moving in we found more errors in wiring. It took much complaining and six visits to correct!! I've heard complaints from other homeowners about First Choice. ... More

star-rating Sales/Construction Team Great. Mortgage division POOR.

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Northlake, TX
  • January 29, 2020

Sales office at Canyon Falls is great. Tanya and her team are great, detailed oriented and answered all our questions. Even though there were some construction delays and our closing had to be pushed back twice, the construction manager was in constant contact with us and were able to work with us considering we were closing on Christmas eve. Even with a new construction manager Cody coming on board, he was able to answer all our questions and complete our asks. The main issue we had with this whole buying process was with the mortgage division of KHOV. There are way too many people contacting us. We counted at least 8 different KHOV mortgage team members calling and emailing us about different documents they needed, but never passing the baton to the next person or at least informing us that so many people will be contacting us. In today's world of fraud and scams, how are we supposed to know who is legit or not. There should only be one point of contact from the mortgage division. Then the closing and walk through meetings that the mortgage division set up was completely different than what I had agreed to with Cody, so we had to get involved again and sort out their communication issues. Now come time to pay first mortgage payment and there's no proper notification to all parties on the mortgage. Immediately after the first payment, KHOV is selling it off to Wells Fargo, so now we have to setup a whole other payment channel. All this because our old house hasn't sold yet. Do NOT work with KHOV mortgage division. Worst experience ever and still continuing. ... More

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Gerald G.
  • Mont Belvieu, TX
  • January 21, 2020

Make sure you understand that when they tell you that you have x values in upgrades that they are going to add that to your final sale price. Nothing is free.

star-rating Cornerstone

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Tara J.
  • Lorain, OH
  • November 21, 2019

Sales manager (Marlene) and construction manager (Keith) were great. A few bumps along the way, but that’s to be expected. The recommended mortgage broker was a NIGHTMARE. Would not recommend him to anyone.

star-rating K. Hovnanian® Homes - After a number of unforeseen events we greatly appreciated the

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Lawrence S.
  • Ranson, WV
  • December 08, 2019

After a number of unforeseen events we greatly appreciated the quick response and professionalism extended to my wife and I by Karen, Tim and Dale

star-rating Second time writing this!

Quality star-rating 5

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 5

Responsiveness star-rating 1

  • Kim W.
  • Lorain, OH
  • October 07, 2019

So the staff determined that my first review had to be redone because I named directly who was the problem. Well how else can you fix the problem if you can’t identify it? Let’s just say we are extremely happy with the house, but completely unhappy with the loan process. The financing process. The unnecessary stress process from there person handling the finances. I hope this is better and complies with your restrictions. ... More

star-rating Everything was great except for our salesman

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 3

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Jr., G.
  • Pasadena, TX
  • June 02, 2020

Salesman was not up front about easement or telephone wires, told me I could fit a pool but quotes from pool companies stated that I couldn’t due to size of easement.

star-rating Be wary of the trades

Quality star-rating 2

Trustworthiness star-rating 4

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Millsboro, DE
  • May 31, 2020

In and of themselves, KHovnanian is an exceptional company to do business with when considering purchasing a newly constructed home. That said, some of the tradesmen outside of the company that are involved in the construction leave quite a bit to be desired. Shoddy work caused us to have to contact Home Services numerous times within the first 6 weeks of moving into our new home which was frustrating. That said, KHov was incredibly responsive and corrected the issues in a timely fashion. We do recommend them as a builder, just watch the outside tradesman like a hawk if possible. ... More

star-rating Excellent service, terrible workmanship

Quality star-rating 1

Trustworthiness star-rating 5

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Garth L.
  • Winter Park, FL
  • January 28, 2020

Excellent service, terrible workmanship

star-rating Overall bad experience

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 3

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 4

  • Joy C.
  • Olmsted Township, OH
  • January 23, 2020

Overall bad experience building a new home. The mortgage and title companies they make you use lack severely in communicating with their customer. The sales consultant, design consultant, and construction manager, Sarah, Jocelyn, and Joe, lacked empathy to issues we had and at times could be down right rude. We have been in our house for a little over a month now and are having contractors come pretty much every weekly to fix issues we’re finding. I’m sure this is not uncommon for a newly built home but I feel this whole process could be improved if the customer is allowed to come and visit their home until the day they get their keys. I personally would never build with k hov again after this experience. ... More

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Joy - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience and are having a lot of issues. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com we can send along your concerns to the appropriate local team members in an effort to help. Thank you! khovnanianhomes ... More

star-rating Good but not great

Quality star-rating 4

Trustworthiness star-rating 2

Value star-rating 4

Responsiveness star-rating 5

  • Anonymous
  • Richmond, TX
  • January 22, 2020

Overall the sales price was nice. Professionalism and manners of staff not so great. They do not replace appliances or major fixtures in home even if needing to be replaced.

Narrow Reviews by Area: