Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes Reviews

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes.

K. Hovnanian® Homes has a reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.4 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes 2993 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes

has 4.4 out of 5 stars in All Areas

2993 Reviews in All Areas

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.4

Quality 4.2

Trustworthiness 4.4

Value 4.4

Responsiveness 4.4

Customer Reviews

Not the best home buying experience.

  • Andrew L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 19, 2020
  • Rancho Murieta, CA

Sales rep was extremely rude, lots of build quality issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best home buying experience, we have sent your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Disappointing

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 16, 2020
  • Roanoke, TX

We moved in a month ago and have had numerous issues. Two electrical problems, one where the fire alarms weren't wired. Our AC has been out twice and then was also not wrapped so blowing into the attic. Our backyard doesn't drain properly. One of the drains on our sinks had been kicked and knocked off so water was draining onto the floor. Cabinets missing chunks, fence falling off, back door not catching. All was fixed but response times were terrible especially for AC and most of the companies that came out to fix things left a mess and/or showed up way outside of the scheduled time window ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed. We have passed your comments along to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Not Satisfied

  • Bhabjot B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 27, 2020
  • Fowler, CA

Just one phone jack for landline and fax in kitchen, am I supposed to keep the fax on kitchen counter? Fax wont work without landline. Told by Lloyd this is the new standard. Was never told or informed that I would not be getting a place to plug in my electrical dryer. Surprised when I tried to dry my clothes and last minute had to buy a new gas dryer. Also told new standard. Rude people involved in the process overall from Construction to Sales. Only person on our side was Saul, who ended up leaving company. 3 different sales reps throughout home buying process. I wonder why. Bad paint job ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! We are sorry to hear about the issues you experienced in your new home. We will forward your comments to our local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Customer service is over after you sign!

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2019
  • Oswego, IL

The sales team is all smiles when you are considering buying a home. They make you feel very welcome and they also commit to delivery dates that they aren't going to make. The date on the contract means nothing. The construction manager will appear super nice, and deliver late, all for the sake of so-called quality. The house looks good to the naked eye, but there are several poor design choices, even when it come to placing an air vent above the Master Bedroom's door, therefore compromising privacy for the owner(s). They might as well be an open window constantly blowing air in the Master ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your experience. If you'd like to email us at customercare@khov.com with your contact information we can pass along to the local reps in your area. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Lies and Misleading information / Not work the inflated price

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 04, 2022
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

I will never recommend K. Hov to anyone. The quality of products that were used to build this home, as well as the craftsmanship to put the home together, is something to be desired. Our first night in the house, we smelled smoke, like there was an electrical fire. Come to find out, the wires were crossed in the bedroom lights. This was just the start… tack strips not holding the carpet, shoddy cutting of the wood for the rails and baseboards, loose railings, poor grouting of bathroom tiles, nail pops EVERYWHERE after a month, lies about the swale in our backyard and how it “should” ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Janelle, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Poor Communication and Accountability

  • Danny & Madeline S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 31, 2022
  • Fredericksburg, VA

Our overall home buying experience with KHOV was not as great as we anticipated. We have been understanding that the current industry norms has impacted the builder’s ability to deliver homes more timely. With that being said, for our community (New Post in Fredericksburg, VA), the issues were compounded by lack of communication and accountability with regards to issues with the home, quality of the craftsmanship, and not to mention we went through 3 different project managers for this community, causing added constraints to the timeline of home delivery and further breaking down the lines of ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Danny, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Poor workmanship and follow up.

  • Timothy M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 24, 2022
  • Mont Belvieu, TX

Bad. never again, these guys are amateurs.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Timothy- sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Lack of Customer Focus

  • Edward R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 24, 2022
  • Berlin, MD

Did not realize until after all was done completely but saw signs. Our account rep. was not looking out for us at all. misguided information. would NOT recommend this builder to anyone.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Edward, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will pass your comments along to local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Quick to close

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 12, 2022
  • Felton, DE

We appreciated how quickly they closed with us. However, the quality of the materials they used were poor. They had a pipe in the basement which had been broken and they failed to fix it even though they had written "broken pipe" on the pipe. Products they use are cheap and the paint has been an issue. They will not provide you with any paint sample or a touch up kit. There is no move in welcome package. The toilet seat broke only a few weeks after moving int so we had to fix that. They are very flimsy and slip around easily. The sales people requested good reviews which we found ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Kiera, thank you for your feedback. We will pass your comments along to local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Not what we expected

  • Eric K B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 01, 2022
  • Millsboro, DE

Our home buying experience started out OK in May 2021. Nice models to choose from, and home would be completed in 3 months from ground breaking. Our salesman was misleading and dishonest and at times downright disrespectful. Excavation started in August, we settled the last week in January. House sat for weeks at a time with little being done. Little attention to detail and virtually no quality control. I'm glad we hired a home inspector for pre-drywall inspection and final inspection. So many items were due to shoddy craftsmanship!! We had 4 project managers throughout construction, and ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Eric, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry your experience buying your new home was disappointing. We will share your comments with local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

The lack of 3 way switches. Cold air pouring in through the windows. Feeling the nail strips wherever there is carpet.

  • Douglas M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 13, 2022
  • Lorain, OH

Contractors did minimum work to get the job done. The designs are nice. Be over the top on checking in on your house. Even after you are things will still not be done correctly. Communication will not be great either.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Douglas - sorry to hear that you had some issues with your new home. We will send your feedback to the appropriate local reps for follow up. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

On time, but lack of care all around

  • Edward B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 01, 2022
  • Uniontown, OH

I like the home layout, the area, and the fact that the build was on time. However, there were many issues that I experienced. They were very hesitant during the build for me to have my own inspectors visit. This was a huge red flag, but I had them come anyways and there were a handful of small fixes they had to do. I’ve lived here for 3 months and I’ve noticed several craftsmanship issues including painting around doorknobs ( so you need to repaint when replacing doorknobs), a leaky shower enclosure, terribly flat paint throughout, and door knobs that are falling apart. They also don’t ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Edward - thank you for providing feedback, we apologize that you experienced some issues and will be sending your comments to the local management team for follow up. Have a good day. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

$200k finishes in a $500k house

  • Paul P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 27, 2021
  • Berlin, MD

Everything is finished to a 6' standard but once you get close its all beginner level trades doing the work. Door frame joint over a 1/2" out and use caulk to fill. Had a shower value not even brazed. Basement slab not even sealed so always chalky. Drywall dust and mud in grain of floor and hand rails. Carpet is super thin and cheap ( even with the 10lb padding upgrade) had cleaning crews still cleaning during walk threw so didn't find dirt and nasty floors till ink was dry cause floors where wet still have miss match tile Grout in shower ( 4 weeks later) the title says it all basically got a ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Paul, thank you for providing feedback. We are disappointed to see that you have some quality concerns and will be sending your comments to the local management team for follow up. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Quality needs improvement

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 21, 2021
  • MAGNOLIA, DE

The process started out well but quickly declined in the areas of communication, integrity and quality. Very poor craftsmanship and supervisors are not managing and being held accountable for workers poor work.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! We are sorry to see that you were disappointed in the quality of craftmanship in your new home. I am going to send your comments over to the local team for further review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Review every detail before signing.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 14, 2021
  • North Ridgeville, OH

Review every detail before signing. We thought we were getting 2 basement windows. Had 1 standard and 1 egress. Removed egress before submitting since we are not putting bedroom in basement and thought we were getting at least 2 standards. Upon receiving blueprint, only 1 window and had to call sales to ask where the basement windows were located on blueprints. Sales said only 1 and we could not add any further windows as it was past 5 days. Model shows master shower in one location, when receiving blue print, the shower was behind the door to enter the bathroom and the doors swing into each ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for providing feedback on your experience at Waterside Place. We are sorry to see that you're having some quality issues and are going to send your comments to the local team for follow up. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Quality issues

  • Ganghadhar M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 08, 2021
  • KATY, TX

Lot of issues with quality. 1) Water leakage within 4 days of house warming. 2) AC stopped working within 2 weeks. 3) Water stagnant on both Left and right sides of the home. 4) The response from the support and emergency teams is very bad. 5) Emergency team never answer the call. They call you after 2-3 days. 6) No response for emails too except the acknowledgement of the issue.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry that you experiencing some quality related issues. We are sending your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Not what I expected.

  • Fany O.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 27, 2021
  • Hawthorn Woods, IL

Not what I expected. House have lot of issues and the thing that they say it’s everything is normal. House floors and basement where dirty. Chip quartz’s at island. Baseboards dirty and not painted well. Kitchen doble oven was not installed correctly. Still waiting on the windows shutters haven’t being install and we have a month since we move in. 2 weeks to get our mailbox install. Not happy

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you Fany for taking time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that it was not what you expected and are experiencing some issues. We are sending your comments to the local team so they can review. Thanks again and have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Quality and Workmanship is very low

  • Scott S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 02, 2021
  • Lodi, CA

This is our second KHov home purchase. The first was in Monterey Park in Gilroy, Ca. The quality there was much nicer. This one, we have holes around the outlets, many light switched are setting at an angle. The cabinets are very good quality. We are still picking up cigarette buttes and nails from our front and back yard. It took several tries to reach our service person. The seams for baseboards and door frames have very obvious gaps andWe miss the manual, as the online portal is not secure and we probably wont use it until that is fixed. The thermostats are not centrally located. Overall ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Scott - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you are not pleased with the quality and workmanship. I am sending your comments to local team members for their review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

OrangeCoast

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 08, 2020
  • Hollister, CA

Wish KHov was more responsive and also used a different title company.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good Morning! Thanks for providing feedback, I've sent your comments over to the local team for their review. Have a good day. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Poor construction quality and finishes

  • Michelle H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 17, 2020
  • Lincoln, CA

I closed escrow on my new home 5/26. From the day I got the keys the house was not move-in ready. I trusted the builder to have completed the items needed to be fixed in the home visit new as I had purchased. However, not only were all the items not repaired but new issues arose and now seven weeks in the house I still have blue tape everywhere marking items that have not been resolved. From the cracked/split baseboards, AC upstairs blowing hot air, wood cracked on stairs, ceiling bubble throughout the kitchen to the garage door being hung incorrectly which caused the paint to scrape off to ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Michelle - sorry to hear that you are having issues getting repairs completed. In an effort to help, I have forwarded your comments over to the local reps for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lot 70

  • Jocelyn S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 11, 2019
  • Olmsted Township, OH

Sales was amazing!! Design was great!!! Everything after that was awful. No one was on the same page, responsiveness was not timely at all nor was the care of the customer...who is funding the whole project! There was no way the customer could make any changes but if the builder made a change there was no communication regarding it to the customer. Builder was more loyal to contractors who had an extremely low level skill than they were for the customer.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jocelyn - thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience. Sorry that you had some issues with the responsiveness of your local team. If you continue to have any issues or need further assistance please feel free to contact us at ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Decent Home, Poor Execution

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 02, 2019
  • Aldie, VA

We had some high expectations on our purchase of this home, but it was met with poor execution, poor supervision on the trade labor, and poor follow up to correct issues. This wasn't all bad, but if you are buying from this group, then make sure you have the ability to watch each step of the process closely as you will quickly get frustrated with the execution if it's not supervised properly. If executed correctly, it could be a wonderful home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi - thanks for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not satisfied with your new home. If you'd like to provide your contact information to customercare@khov.com we can send to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Buyer do your homework and be on top of EVERYTHING!!!

  • Donald K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 31, 2019
  • Bel Air, MD

Salesman was horrible. Lied to us about many things and failed to offer us any options including lights. For the price we paid we expected a lot more out of the house. We moved in and the house has many flaws that still need to be fixed. The carelessness in building the house could have been dealt with if they took the time when building the house. We were told they focus on 3 houses at a time but that wasn't true.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Donald - thank you for providing feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your sales consultant and that you are finding flaws that need to be corrected. We hope that things are soon repaired to your satisfaction. If you continue to have issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along your concerns to the appropriate local representatives. Thank ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Through out process poor communication lack of updates.

  • Dawn H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 21, 2022
  • Bluffton, SC

Through out process poor communication lack of updates. Repeated delays. Port quality workmanship. Cement problems, plumbing problems, siding problems, trim problems, paint and drywall problems floor problems, the list goes on. Everywhere I look something isn’t right. Disappointing. Frustrating. Now faced with being home for multiple appointments to correct what should have been identified prior to close! The only pleasant process was the mortgage process. Ben and Pete were communicative knowledgeable and available.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Dawn, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We've seen your message and will pass it along to local management for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Builder is not responding after closing

  • Yuan S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 31, 2022
  • Mount Pleasant, SC

Our home closed on 4/29/2022. However, there are a lot of things haven’t completed. Your site manager pushed us to close the house and promised to fix all of them in couple of days. Unfortunately, there is not too much has done in the month.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Yuan, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We've seen your message and will pass it along to local management for further review khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 2993 reviews about K. Hovnanian® Homes are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.