Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes Reviews in Sacramento, CA

What Sacramento Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes.

Read all 127 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with K. Hovnanian® Homes in the Sacramento area. Sacramento homeowners have rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in Sacramento Area

127 Reviews in Sacramento Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 3.9

Customer Reviews

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Got my home and couple things were not right.

  • M Mustafakamal A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 07, 2021
  • Roseville, CA

Got my home and couple things were not right. Reported them to the representative and have not heard anything back it’s been more then a month that things are reported but no one got back with an answer.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent experience, we are disappointed to hear that you are have not heard back regarding some repairs. I will send your comments to the local management team for review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Don't share all details and slow to fix issues

  • Ryan S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 16, 2021
  • Live Oak, CA

The sales person we worked with was great. Had she managed the whole customer experience it would have been a much more enjoyable purchase and our issues would have been resolved. Our design consultant didn't give us accurate information and met us at a different location instead of in the community where we purchased. This led to a lot of confusion when the final product was delivered since items we discussed were missing and we were told that was never part of the plan since the model was built with different options that are not available for the home. As for responsiveness to issues ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Builder quality and price

  • Michael R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 09, 2020
  • Plumas Lake, CA

Craftsmanship and quality from builder do not match price range for what house is worth. I've spent 280k on previous home in Clovis CA and everything about Wilson homes exceeded expectations. Insensitives from Wilson's where amazing and could not be beat. This new home is not worth the price we paid. I don't understand how I spent twice as much on this new home and it does not compete with the house previously purchased. After final walkthrough of home there are still several issues with washer, walls, cracks, glass, lights, and heating. Its very dificult to schedule to get issues fixed do ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

the lack of quality control

  • Daniel D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 07, 2022
  • El Dorado Hills, CA

Its unfortunate I need to be my own project manager because the QC in minimal and short lived. The lack of quality control concerns me in the long run. I can only hope all issues are addressed and remedied in a reasonable amount of time.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Poor quality of workmanship and materials

  • IZUMI M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 05, 2021
  • Winters, CA

The sales person was good, she was very responsive throughout the entire process. The most disappointing part is the quality of workmanship and materials. The cabinets are VERY low quality and workmanship of installation is VERY poor. Cabinet doors are not lining up, trim pieces are falling off from, sharp nails/staples are exposed etc. Both interior and exterior paint jobs are very messy and workmanship is VERY poor as well. There are many paint drips, splashes, missing spots, and even wrong colors on exterior trims. In addition to the poor workmanship there are many signs of ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to see that you are disappointed with the quality of workmanship and materials in your new home. We will be sending your comments to the appropriate local reps for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

K. Hovnanian® Homes - We have a lot of things that carried over into warranty.

  • Dustin G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 03, 2021
  • Live Oak, CA

We have a lot of things that carried over into warranty. We have not heard anything about them. Have not seen a ticket in the portal, not any follow up. Was told our contact was no longer with the company 2 weeks after moving in. Overall quality of work can tell there is lack to attention to detail.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

No pride in the quality of work

  • Joshua L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 29, 2022
  • El Dorado Hills, CA

We were very excited about our new home and waited almost 18 months for completion. Within the first two weeks of moving in, we have to submit over 10 warranty tickets including our HVAC system failing to work twice, our roof leaking and filed to be repaired after two weeks, causing damage to the ceiling which will take 5 weeks to be repaired. Carpet was installed and cut base boards, incorrect grout was used in different rooms, electrical outlets don’t work, etc. Overall surprising and disappointing in the quality of work K. Hovnanian provides

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Finishes

  • Audie A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 16, 2021
  • Live Oak, CA

The quality of installing of the finishes were poor at best. The doors will not close right,

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Morning Audie - we are sending your feedback to the local management team for follow up, thank you! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Very disappointed in the finishing touches of the house

  • Keith B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 12, 2020
  • Plumas Lake, CA

We are very disappointed with the overall finishing touches of the house. In our walkthrough we noticed the interior of the house had to be almost entirely repainted. You could see the paint roller marks where they tried to touch up the paint. On our final walkthrough we noticed the paint was better but that the paint bled onto the baseboards, windows frames and the ceiling. There was also a lot of paint splatter on the white tiles. We were told the house was going to be cleaned before we moved in but we have had to scrape paint off of the floors in multiple areas and under the cooktop the ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry that you are disappointed in the finishing touches, and have sent your comments to the local team for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Quality and and detail to work okay at best.

  • Gerardo A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 18, 2021
  • Winters, CA

Quality and and detail to work okay at best. Easily seen issues ignored unless brought up.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Gerardo - thank you for providing feedback! We are sorry to hear that you are having some issues with quality and detail work in your new home. I am sending your comments to local team members for review, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Cheaped out on a lot of items

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 27, 2020
  • Rancho Murieta, CA

No spigot in the backyard. How are we to water our plants. Put the recycled water in the center of the walkway so we need to pay someone to fix it. Cheap paint that need to be upgraded, a lot of things offered by other housing developments not offered. People we complain to have to power to do anything their are held by what they say they can and can't do and that is to cheap out and tell the customer they can't do it. Think twice before purchasing a KHov house. People have written to the top and have been ignored. Google to see what I am talking about.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, thank you for providing feedback. We have sent your comments to local representatives for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Great sales team, Few Options, Poor warrantee service

  • Rachel S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 29, 2019
  • Roseville, CA

The sales team were wonderful to work with and were very responsive through the sales process. However, the options offered by K. Hovnanian were far below industry standards. For example: it was extra for the electric garage door opener, it was extra for the man door in the garage, it was an extra for the 220 in the laundry room (we received it only after we demanded to get it put in) and it was extra for ceiling fans. All of the items listed were included as not an extra in our last two new home purchases, and were included in other models we toured. Additionally, we had to find the ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Rachel, thank you for providing feedback on your recent homebuilding process. We are very sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the options offered and the follow up from our homeowner service and construction teams. If you have any other issues or need assistance please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com Thank ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Not the best home buying experience.

  • Andrew L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 19, 2020
  • Rancho Murieta, CA

Sales rep was extremely rude, lots of build quality issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have the best home buying experience, we have sent your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Poor construction quality and finishes

  • Michelle H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 17, 2020
  • Lincoln, CA

I closed escrow on my new home 5/26. From the day I got the keys the house was not move-in ready. I trusted the builder to have completed the items needed to be fixed in the home visit new as I had purchased. However, not only were all the items not repaired but new issues arose and now seven weeks in the house I still have blue tape everywhere marking items that have not been resolved. From the cracked/split baseboards, AC upstairs blowing hot air, wood cracked on stairs, ceiling bubble throughout the kitchen to the garage door being hung incorrectly which caused the paint to scrape off to ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Michelle - sorry to hear that you are having issues getting repairs completed. In an effort to help, I have forwarded your comments over to the local reps for their review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Untrustworthy Sales Agents

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 30, 2020
  • Winters, CA

My experience with the K.Hovnanian construction foreman (superintendent, I assume) has been great, and the warranty folks have proven to be reliable, thus far. Both the warranty folks and lead foreman have proven to be courteous, helpful and responsive to home owners. My experience with the office sales agent(s) was good in the beginning but a few weeks prior to closing the trust that had been built was completely shattered - this breakdown of trust sits squarely on sales agents shoulders as it was discovered that a mandatory addendum, solar panel addendum, that should have been presented ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good afternoon, thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had some issues with your sales consultant that has created some stress for you during this time. We hope now that you are moved in, you will be able to enjoy your new home. If you do find that you are having continual issues please feel free to contact us at customercare@khov.com and we can pass along to the appropriate local ...

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Where to begin...

  • Marcus C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 09, 2019
  • Plumas Lake, CA

Saleslady failed to tell us that $17,000 solar panels, through K hovnanian's 3rd party, were not part of the purchase price even though California law mandates all new builds in 2019 to have solar panels. We are from out-of-state and did not know this , Only after negotiations on a purchase price did I discover on our purchase contract that we were mandated to buy solar panels. I brought this to her attention that our price of our home would be going up $17,000 after we agreed upon a price and her response was that she forgot to tell us. Moreover she straight-up lied to us that the two story ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, and thank you for providing feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with your sales consultant and are having some issues getting your repairs taken care of. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with details we can pass along to the appropriate personnel in your local area. Thank ...

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Greatly Disappointed

  • Terri L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 04, 2020
  • Plumas Lake, CA

Window issues, heating issues, painting issues, custom shutter issues, electrical issues. However I am Confident they will take care of my issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Terri - thanks for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with your heating and electrical systems, along with some other items. We are hopeful that things will be resolved to your satisfaction too. Enjoy your new home! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 4

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Miserable experience

  • Lynette D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 04, 2022
  • El Dorado Hills, CA

Most miserable experience. Even when I tried to submit my initial review, It was deleted and I was asked to re-write it. This pretty much sums up my entire experience. K hov simply doesn't care and they make that clear. They promised numerous items and a certain level of service that they chose not to deliver. When I addressed with Sr. Management I received rude and insulting emails stating that I should read the contract and I'm pretty much stuck. But what do you expect for a "high-end" builder? They had the audacity to justify their horrible service by stating "all the builders do ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Lynette, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We will share your comments with local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

The bad customer service from assistant super intendent and the poor way to resolve issues with my problems about my house concrete and workmanship cuality

  • Victor F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 15, 2021
  • Live Oak, CA

I was treated like I was intruder when my house was getting built I was told to leave or he will call the police on me and my wife poor way to treat people and with my repairs not getting done because they saying there is nothing wrong .crack concrete stain and poor repairs on a back patio I pay 14000 dollars to have poor cuality not very happy I will let you know is a good house but the people working on a construction at garden glen are poor mind people that they only looking at production and not quality and customer service to satisfy your buyers or home owners. Hope some one can ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Victor, thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. We are sorry to read that you are having some issues with repairs not being completed and will be sending your comments to the local management team for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Can’t wait to sell

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 13, 2019
  • Sacramento, CA

Can’t wait to sell

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Rushed, sloppy work. Rude sales representatives.

  • Sage G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 03, 2019
  • Lincoln, CA

Laundry list of issues with the house before we even moved in. Many items still haven't been fixed. Sales reps are great until you give them a deposit. The house was clearly rushed and I am sure we will experience more issues down the road.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Sage - sorry to hear that you are are experiencing issues in your new home. If you would like to email us at customercare@khov.com with more details we can pass along to the appropriate local reps. Thanks! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Poor workmanship

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 22, 2022
  • El Dorado Hills, CA

Quality of our home shows a total lack of effort. Some items are so embarrassing, one might think they would rush over to correct? No, wait weeks on end to get a repair that is only slightly better than the original mess. At some point you just give up which seems to be the K Hov warranty strategy.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi John, thank you for your comments. We will share them with our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - I will not buy again K.

  • Ryan K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 02, 2021
  • Roseville, CA

I will not buy again K.Hovnanian because Quality is really Bad.A lot of issues need to be fix.Construction worker and inspection are not professional.They don’t know how to do they jobs.We are not happy.If we know the kind of issues we wouldn’t buy a home from K.Hovnanian.We should buy other Builder.We spend so much money for our home but quality we got very very bad.I will not recommend all my family’s,coworkers and all my friends.All outside Electronically outlets no power until now.I told construction manager and supervisor but still not done yet.Home number sign has no light until ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Ryan - we are disappointed to read your comments and will be sending them to the local management team for additional follow up. Thank you for providing feedback, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - I have tried to post a review a few times, but I was asked to

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 15, 2021
  • Winters, CA

I have tried to post a review a few times, but I was asked to resubmit for inappropriate content. I have no idea what the inappropriate content was though; it is a poor review. I will keep this brief so that it does not get flagged again. I have had numerous issues with the builder from sales giving inaccurate information to builders' poor quality work. I have had a list of over 30 things to get repaired or finished. It was not completed within 30 days as promised. My house was still very incomplete at walk-throughs and dealing with contractors had been a headache. This is for Winters, CA but ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thanks for taking time to provide feedback on your recent experience. I have sent your comments to the appropriate local representatives for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Not happy with the warranty service dept

  • Renee G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 07, 2020
  • Winters, CA

There are several issues with the house that have not been fixed. I am very unhappy in kovanian homes warranty service depot. I feel I got ripped off buy buying this house

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Renee - Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback, sorry to hear that you are not happy with the homeowner service department. We have sent your feedback to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1