Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot Reviews

What Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot has a reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.1 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot 92 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in All Areas

92 Reviews in All Areas

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 3.9

Customer Reviews

Lack of communication, all subcontractors, triple the original timeline

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 11, 2021
  • Ashtabula, OH

Time will have to tell on the quality of the home built. Our experience was not great. Construction began 6 months after the original date, with no communication during that time despite our attempts to reach our. Project would be on hold for weeks with no communication as to why. Problems were ignored and then we were told it was "too late" to fix them, even though we had brought them up immediately during that construction phase. We closed 2 months ago and still waiting on issues to be resolved that would "definitely be fixed in 2 weeks". The subcontractors would constantly complain that ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! Your comments have been sent to the local team for follow up, thank you! khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot - I feel bad because the construction manager did his best but

  • Matthew K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2021
  • Avella, PA

I feel bad because the construction manager did his best but a lot of issues came across that needed done that were not done even after closing.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Disappointed in final quality.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 27, 2020
  • Amanda, OH

Over all the build went as expected. However, looking back there was too many problems, and too many things that they did wrong and refused to fix. One issue we let go when they wouldn’t fix, second issue we let go when they wouldn’t fix. Then we ended up with many issues that should have been fixed and weren’t. Khov ordered the wrong tub and made us buy the replacement on our own, as well as charged us additional to install. We were forced to clean the house ourselves despite being promised a clean house when we moved in. The cleaners refused to clean it, and Khov wouldn’t do anything about ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Mitch was great!

  • Seth K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 23, 2021
  • Grand Rapids, OH

Unless it's an "Upgrade", the finish materials & products are cheap junk.

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Very High construction manager turnover

  • Stephen C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 19, 2021
  • Avella, PA

A lot of infighting among employees, nobody takes responsibility for anything, everybody blames somebody else when problems arise.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Hi Stephen - thanks for providing feedback, we will send your comments to the local team for further review. Have a good day! khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot - This company doesn’t like to right their wrongs.

  • Douglas M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 28, 2021
  • Vincent, OH

This company doesn’t like to right their wrongs.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning Douglas, we are sending your feedback to the appropriate local associates for review. Have a good day! khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

overall experience ….. below expectation

  • Justin M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 22, 2021
  • Amanda, OH

the sales team was great in canal Winchester, however the tradesman that did the work we are still upset, and not happy with the drywall work or the front porch concrete work. we were left with what the company calls acceptable, however scratches, and chips out of concrete, window casings are not square and drywall was rushed around all windows, drywall powder from sanding caked in corners have led to cracking and needing repainted. paint splatters all over floors, grey paint on white ceilings, white closet doors left with grey paint on them...the cleaners hired did below average work and my ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Hi Justin, thanks for taking time to provide feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are not happy with your overall experience, I am sending your comments over to the the appropriate local representatives for review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Tough experience from beginning to end.

  • Tyler W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Evans City, PA

From the beginning the sales people hide details and cost. The building process is excruciatingly long and drawn out for an unknown reason. There is no communication between khov themselves and khov and buyer. The building process will sit for weeks with nothing being touched on the house unnecessarily. Details in the house have to be watched or they are left undone. After closing, it's sad to see things not done or done incorrectly with khov not caring. As a buyer you trust khov. Definitely disappointed in this process and discouraged

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning Tyler - thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed and will send your comments to the local management team for follow up. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot - I will never recommend KHov for a new build!

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 29, 2021
  • Vincent, OH

I will never recommend KHov for a new build!

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience. We are very sorry to read your comments and will be sending to the local management team for follow up. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 5

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Absolutely terrible communication. The same can be said for all aspects of the build process.

  • Eric M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 08, 2022
  • Ashtabula, OH

They are overworked and understaffed. They have no idea what is actually happening at your house. You are better off being your own contractor and scheduling everything yourself. There was no benefit from choosing this company. They only added unnecessary stress to our lives.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Hi Eric, thank you for sharing your feedback. We will pass your comments to local management for their review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

The initial upgrades in the model homes. You did not know what was the upgrade and was what was not an upgrade in the model homes.

  • Timothy C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Ashtabula, OH

We didn’t have a good experience overall . Needed more communication on a lot of things. Example like weekly updates on the house also the installment for the utilities.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! We are sorry to see that you did not have a good experience and will be sending your feedback over to the appropriate local reps for review. Have a good day! khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Thinking about building with Khov, DON'T

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 16, 2021
  • Evans City, PA

Sales rep was probably the best part about this experience. She was extremely helpful and communicated well, however she was new and didn't convey all the possible options available to us. Because of this, we had to pay more to add them in the next phase of the process. Next phase was pre construction. This phase was terrible. Additional details were ironed out here, some of which should have been included in the sales department, but since they were missed, discounts were not applied and they charged us more. Our contact for pre construction was terrible at communicating. It would take ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! We are sending your comments to the local management team, thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

How painful it was.

  • Chase J L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 01, 2021
  • Port Clinton, OH

Contractor got zero help from those above him, initial meetings with setup where very inaccurate +-10k swings and promises made that were not delivered nor ever could be, I managed more of the project then Khov did. My house still isnt finished , materials that were meant to be put in my home were not taken care of, i had to cleanup after every sub that was sent out leaving garbage and cigarettes everywhere, I would never recommend this company to anyone. It would have been easier for me to build it myself.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning Chase, thank you for providing feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience and will be sending your comments to the local management team for review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot - Would not recommend this company at all.

  • Kristen S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 11, 2022
  • Port Clinton, OH

Would not recommend this company at all. Nothing but issues, not small issues either but very large issues, the whole entire way through and even still now that we're in the home.

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Horrible experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 12, 2021
  • Evans City, PA

For what you are paying for it’s so not worth it. Now we are having issues after only living here a month and nothing is covered under warranty so they say. No one has the same answers to our questions. I would never recommend to anyone to use this company.

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. We have sent your comments to the local team members for review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Don’t even bother to build with KHov

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 03, 2020
  • Avella, PA

Horrible experience. I was actually waiting to figure out what I wanted to say. This morning we found out that our heat pump stopped working. We have literally been in the house a month. Between delays, bad workmanship, contractors smoking in our house, a plumber who doesn’t know what county he is in, and fighting tooth and nail weekly for an update on our house, it’s been an nightmare that I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy. And to top of off we have no direction of who to call IF something goes wrong. Word to the wise, don’t build run the other way!!!!

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! Thanks for providing feedback, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience. We sent your comments to local representatives for review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Bad experience

  • David R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 01, 2020
  • Vincent, OH

We had a horrible project manager and overall horrible experience there is no pride or quality in their work materials and not good quality never again would I build with a outfit like them

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. We have sent your comments to local reps for review. khovnaniansbuildonyourlot

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 92 reviews about K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.

Narrow Reviews by Area

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 92 reviews about K. Hovnanian® Homes - Build on Your Lot are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.