Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Homes by WestBay

Homes By Westbay has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.2 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Homes By Westbay’s 182 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

4.2 out of 5 stars
in all areas

182 Reviews - 10 Communities

5 ★(101)

4 ★(32)

3 ★(27)

2 ★(12)

1 ★(10)

Quality 4.1

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 4

After 30 days broken promises and house not complete after closing

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Daemmion B.
  • Riverview, FL
  • May 18, 2021

Title speaks for itself. I feel tricked. We closed with the promise all work that wasn’t completed would be done and after 45 days now nothing. They keep saying I will get a call and nothing. I

Homes by WestBay responded:
We strongly value our commitment to deliver a home that's 100% complete at closing, and apologize if this wasn't the case for your new home. Could you please write us at info@westbaytampa.com with more details regarding any incomplete work so we can look into the issue? You can also submit a homeowner Performance Request via our website and our Quality Assurance department will be happy to review and assess. Thank you for your feedback, and we'll do our best to earn your full satisfaction! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - The house was built very good and did a great job with the house

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

  • Stuart M.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • July 13, 2021

The house was built very good and did a great job with the house

Many small missing workmanship details

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

  • Daniel E.
  • Lithia, FL
  • July 15, 2020

More detail evaluation before closing To catch deficiencies on time.

Homes by WestBay responded:
Hi Daniel, we're sorry for your less than perfect experience with us. We strive to deliver homes that are 100% complete at closing, and offer an extended 2-year performance guarantee on all our new homes. If you haven't already, please submit any home requests through our website and our Quality Assurance team will assess and address. Thank you, and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Quick smooth process

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

  • Julie W.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • September 24, 2019

Lynn our construction manager was amazing throughout. Even after, she made sure we were always taken care of.

Beautiful designs that work

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

  • Allen Z.
  • Lithia, FL
  • March 09, 2021

The building process went smoother than I expected. Sale Team member Lisa was great to work with and went beyond to help my family out with all questions even on her days off or late evenings. Thank you!

Homes by WestBay - I am very satisfied with my Homes by Westbay home.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • David S.
  • Lithia, FL
  • May 05, 2020

I am very satisfied with my Homes by Westbay home.

Constructing Manager was AWESOME!

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

  • Raphael A.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • February 09, 2020

CM'S are great. They really are there to help homeowners feel at ease through this stressful time.

Homes by WestBay - Great builder .

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Robert L.
  • Odessa, FL
  • January 29, 2020

Great builder . Our Sales Rep was amazing and our Project Manager was extraordinary. Very easy to work with. I highly recommend Homes by West Bay

New home

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Rayner R.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • October 15, 2019

Th house came out beautiful. We are very excited to be in our Bowles home. WestBay was a pleasure to work for. Now being in the home for the last month, it seems like materials used were not top grade. Hopefully any issues we have will be taken care of by the warranty. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thanks for trusting us with your new home, Rayner! We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service, so feel free to email us at info@westbaytampa.com should you have any issues with any of our team members. Welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

The people at Westbay are great!

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Darin B.
  • Odessa, FL
  • July 09, 2019

From our sales person to the warranty person, all are quality people who want to do the best work they can for their customers. There were some issues that needed to be fixed by the subcontractors and Westbay was responsive to those requests for the most part. ... More

Homes by WestBay - Pre-ran Internet wires didn’t work.

Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Odessa, FL
  • April 15, 2021

Pre-ran Internet wires didn’t work. should’ve been tested prior to putting up drywall.

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thank you for your feedback. If you haven't already, please be sure to submit a homeowner Performance Request via our website and our Quality Assurance team will be happy to assess and address any issues with your home's CAT-6 ethernet ports. If you have any additional feedback, feel free to write us at info@westbaytampa.com. Welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Overall pretty good, but watch the subs

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Michael S.
  • Valrico, FL
  • July 22, 2019

The design center staff and selection process was excellent. The schedule affords the ability to visit multiple times, and the staff were excellent and never tired of us asking for assistance. The foreman wasn't very responsive and when provided independent inspection reports with items to correct, he wouldn't respond, even after multiple attempts at communication on our part, until we had a walk-thru and brought it up again, thus wasting my time and his. Some of the subs had very poor workmanship. Again, the foreman didn't correct the issues and instead we had to point out the items needing corrective action, multiple times, during our walk-thrus. The poor workmanship of the subs, and lack of attention to detail by the foreman caused our closing to be delayed. Post-closing the assistance and support with warranty items has been great. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we apologize for your less than perfect experience! We take pride in the quality of our homes, and will look into this matter. If you have further comments feel free to reach out to us at info@westbaytampa.com. Thanks for being a part of the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - The entire process of purchase was handled professionally and

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • July 15, 2021

The entire process of purchase was handled professionally and smoothly. All representatives provided high service levels with prompt responses to all queries.

Homes by WestBay - Be prepared and review upgrades and prices before the design

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • June 29, 2021

Be prepared and review upgrades and prices before the design center.

Custom built homes

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Johnny W.
  • Lithia, FL
  • June 15, 2021

Asome experience just make sure your construction manager is a finisher. On projects.

New home

Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

  • Petr B.
  • Odessa, FL
  • January 21, 2020

Very nice home

Good home, great Floorplan but...

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Edna G.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • October 17, 2019

A handful of design flaws a home of this price should not have our should be taken care of as courtesy. Example, some location of lights and garage door openers, the fact that flat paint is used in an over half a million dollar home is just embarrassing, some of the trades did a bad job... The purchase process was a bit painful and lacked information we may have based our purchase decision on. That was terrible and I have a list of issues. The construction manager was fantastic. We love the Floorplan but there is definitely room for improvement. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Edna, we're glad that you're happy with your construction manager and your home's floorplan. We do try our best to vet all of our trade partners to ensure they're delivering on the WestBay promise and am sorry that your experience has been less than perfect. We will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve. Thanks again and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

  • Laura R.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • September 17, 2019

Beautiful floor plans and community in Waterset!

Options, Options, and more options.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Riverview, FL
  • July 17, 2019

There are so many options that Westbay has to offer I think it should be explained in depth a bit more.

Homes by WestBay responded:
The homebuilding process can definitely be overwhelming, especially with all of the options we provide our homeowners. We try our best to make it a smooth and enjoyable process, and we're very sorry you've had a less than perfect experience. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - The sales office staff are EXCEPTIONAL and the quality follow-up

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Tameka S.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • July 13, 2021

The sales office staff are EXCEPTIONAL and the quality follow-up with home issues is SUPERB! Thanks Dominique and Jeremy!!!

The step by step guidance on the progress of construction.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

  • Juan J.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • May 18, 2021

We love our new home. It's everything we expected. The neighborhood and neighbors are excellent and there is a very strong sense of community. Nevertheless, there are small things one finds as one gets to know their home better. It's the small things that make the experience good to great. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
We're glad to hear you're enjoying your new WestBay home! We strive to deliver a home that's 100% complete at closing and also have an industry leading 2-year performance guarantee for those "small things" you may find after living in the home for a while, and as your home settles. Our Quality Assurance team will be happy to assess these items after you submit a homeowner performance request ticket via our website. Thanks for trusting us with your new home, and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - Good builder but needs to be more flexible

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Odessa, FL
  • October 21, 2020

Good builder but needs to be more flexible

Happy so far.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Robert W.
  • Valrico, FL
  • June 17, 2020

We are happy with the purchase. Westbay has done what they promised so far. No major issues, just a couple of small warranty items to be fixed.

Homes by WestBay - Great floor plan and selection of options at the design ctr,

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Francis M.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • September 24, 2019

Great floor plan and selection of options at the design ctr, however the prices for options are way over priced. Workmanship of the subcontractors is not that great. More attention should have been paid before accepting shoddy workmanship. Could spend an lot of time on this topic. This will do nothing for the future survival of West Bay ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thanks for the feedback, Francis! We pride ourselves in the quality of our homes and would like to hear more from you. Would you mind sharing more about your experience with us? Please feel free to email us at info@westbaytampa.com with further comments on your home building experience. homesbywestbay ... More

Loving the neighborhood at Bexley!

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Kamality R.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • June 15, 2021

We have been here for a month, the experience was good overall, besides the 3months of pushing back our closing date. That was very stressful. A few issues, but our construction manager David was very helpful making sure things get done and fixed, communicating and keeping us inform with the process. ... More

You can read all of Homes By Westbay’s 182 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

Narrow Reviews by Area: