Skip main navigation

Homes by WestBay

(219 reviews in all areas)

What Homeowners Have to Say About Homes by WestBay in Tampa-St. Petersburg

Read the 218 homeowner reviews of Homes By Westbay's new homes in the Tampa St. Petersburg area. Tampa St. Petersburg homeowners rated Homes By Westbay an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Homes By Westbay’s reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

4.1 out of 5 stars
in the Tampa-St. Petersburg area

218 Reviews - 9 Communities

5 ★(118)

4 ★(37)

3 ★(32)

2 ★(16)

1 ★(15)

Quality 4.1

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 3.9

Homes by WestBay - Great builder .

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Robert L.
  • Odessa, FL
  • January 29, 2020

Great builder . Our Sales Rep was amazing and our Project Manager was extraordinary. Very easy to work with. I highly recommend Homes by West Bay

New home

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Rayner R.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • October 15, 2019

Th house came out beautiful. We are very excited to be in our Bowles home. WestBay was a pleasure to work for. Now being in the home for the last month, it seems like materials used were not top grade. Hopefully any issues we have will be taken care of by the warranty. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thanks for trusting us with your new home, Rayner! We pride ourselves in our excellent customer service, so feel free to email us at info@westbaytampa.com should you have any issues with any of our team members. Welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

The people at Westbay are great!

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Darin B.
  • Odessa, FL
  • July 09, 2019

From our sales person to the warranty person, all are quality people who want to do the best work they can for their customers. There were some issues that needed to be fixed by the subcontractors and Westbay was responsive to those requests for the most part. ... More

Top quality product, communication lacking

Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

  • James M.
  • Riverview, FL
  • November 09, 2021

Final product makes the process worth it but some frustrating moments getting there. Lack of communication through the building process was my biggest pet peeve.

Homes by WestBay - Pre-ran Internet wires didn’t work.

Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Odessa, FL
  • April 15, 2021

Pre-ran Internet wires didn’t work. should’ve been tested prior to putting up drywall.

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thank you for your feedback. If you haven't already, please be sure to submit a homeowner Performance Request via our website and our Quality Assurance team will be happy to assess and address any issues with your home's CAT-6 ethernet ports. If you have any additional feedback, feel free to write us at info@westbaytampa.com. Welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Overall pretty good, but watch the subs

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Michael S.
  • Valrico, FL
  • July 22, 2019

The design center staff and selection process was excellent. The schedule affords the ability to visit multiple times, and the staff were excellent and never tired of us asking for assistance. The foreman wasn't very responsive and when provided independent inspection reports with items to correct, he wouldn't respond, even after multiple attempts at communication on our part, until we had a walk-thru and brought it up again, thus wasting my time and his. Some of the subs had very poor workmanship. Again, the foreman didn't correct the issues and instead we had to point out the items needing corrective action, multiple times, during our walk-thrus. The poor workmanship of the subs, and lack of attention to detail by the foreman caused our closing to be delayed. Post-closing the assistance and support with warranty items has been great. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we apologize for your less than perfect experience! We take pride in the quality of our homes, and will look into this matter. If you have further comments feel free to reach out to us at info@westbaytampa.com. Thanks for being a part of the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Beautiful home and clear building process

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Matthew B.
  • Riverview, FL
  • November 08, 2021

We love our new home. It is perfect for our family dynamic.

Homes by WestBay - The entire process of purchase was handled professionally and

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • July 15, 2021

The entire process of purchase was handled professionally and smoothly. All representatives provided high service levels with prompt responses to all queries.

Homes by WestBay - Be prepared and review upgrades and prices before the design

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • June 29, 2021

Be prepared and review upgrades and prices before the design center.

Custom built homes

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Johnny W.
  • Riverview, FL
  • June 15, 2021

Asome experience just make sure your construction manager is a finisher. On projects.

New home

Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

  • Petr B.
  • Odessa, FL
  • January 21, 2020

Very nice home

Good home, great Floorplan but...

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

  • Edna G.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • October 17, 2019

A handful of design flaws a home of this price should not have our should be taken care of as courtesy. Example, some location of lights and garage door openers, the fact that flat paint is used in an over half a million dollar home is just embarrassing, some of the trades did a bad job... The purchase process was a bit painful and lacked information we may have based our purchase decision on. That was terrible and I have a list of issues. The construction manager was fantastic. We love the Floorplan but there is definitely room for improvement. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Edna, we're glad that you're happy with your construction manager and your home's floorplan. We do try our best to vet all of our trade partners to ensure they're delivering on the WestBay promise and am sorry that your experience has been less than perfect. We will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve. Thanks again and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

  • Laura R.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • September 17, 2019

Beautiful floor plans and community in Waterset!

Options, Options, and more options.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Riverview, FL
  • July 17, 2019

There are so many options that Westbay has to offer I think it should be explained in depth a bit more.

Homes by WestBay responded:
The homebuilding process can definitely be overwhelming, especially with all of the options we provide our homeowners. We try our best to make it a smooth and enjoyable process, and we're very sorry you've had a less than perfect experience. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - The sales office staff are EXCEPTIONAL and the quality follow-up

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Tameka S.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • July 13, 2021

The sales office staff are EXCEPTIONAL and the quality follow-up with home issues is SUPERB! Thanks Dominique and Jeremy!!!

The step by step guidance on the progress of construction.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

  • Juan J.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • May 18, 2021

We love our new home. It's everything we expected. The neighborhood and neighbors are excellent and there is a very strong sense of community. Nevertheless, there are small things one finds as one gets to know their home better. It's the small things that make the experience good to great. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
We're glad to hear you're enjoying your new WestBay home! We strive to deliver a home that's 100% complete at closing and also have an industry leading 2-year performance guarantee for those "small things" you may find after living in the home for a while, and as your home settles. Our Quality Assurance team will be happy to assess these items after you submit a homeowner performance request ticket via our website. Thanks for trusting us with your new home, and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - Good builder but needs to be more flexible

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Odessa, FL
  • October 21, 2020

Good builder but needs to be more flexible

Happy so far.

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Robert W.
  • Valrico, FL
  • June 17, 2020

We are happy with the purchase. Westbay has done what they promised so far. No major issues, just a couple of small warranty items to be fixed.

Homes by WestBay - Great floor plan and selection of options at the design ctr,

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Francis M.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • September 24, 2019

Great floor plan and selection of options at the design ctr, however the prices for options are way over priced. Workmanship of the subcontractors is not that great. More attention should have been paid before accepting shoddy workmanship. Could spend an lot of time on this topic. This will do nothing for the future survival of West Bay ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thanks for the feedback, Francis! We pride ourselves in the quality of our homes and would like to hear more from you. Would you mind sharing more about your experience with us? Please feel free to email us at info@westbaytampa.com with further comments on your home building experience. homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - The designers and architect must be on drugs when they layout

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Robert S.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • October 26, 2021

The designers and architect must be on drugs when they layout floor plans; 1- third car garage too small 2- spaces between homes to narrow 3- bed room closet too small 4- bath tubs are made for Chinese people and too small 5- to much of wasted space 6- master bedroom is small compared to other homes 7- material is good workmanship not so good. Floor tiles popping out. 8- attic access missing in bedrooms some homes have it others don’t. 9- community is great no aminities to speak of!!! 10- this home will not be our retirement home ... More

Loving the neighborhood at Bexley!

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Kamality R.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • June 15, 2021

We have been here for a month, the experience was good overall, besides the 3months of pushing back our closing date. That was very stressful. A few issues, but our construction manager David was very helpful making sure things get done and fixed, communicating and keeping us inform with the process. ... More

Overall lack of communication

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

  • Jason C.
  • Riverview, FL
  • July 28, 2020

As a first time home builder, our experience wasn't very good. We've heard worse stories, but that doesn't make our experience any less desirable. Communication is a major issue. There are clearly disconnects between the people that are the customers POCs throughout the process. The design center was the best part of the process. Our construction manager (CM), who was let go shortly after completion of our home, did not provide us with regular updates. There were consistent issues with things getting done even though we were told things would get done or were done. Our CM did not seem to be on top of the sub-contractors. We were convinced to sign-off at our scheduled walks with open questions and assurances that things would be coordinated or fixed/changed and some were never done. The only person that we ever really communicated with during construction was our CM. No other representative ever reached out to find out how things were going. Our recommendation is have your own inspector perform inspections at each of the scheduled walks to ensure things are done correctly. Since there is no provided proof of inspection from the County or otherwise, it's all on just the CM's word. We asked if we could have our own inspector and were told no. We accepted that answer which we then later on determined was a lie. As a homeowner, you have every right to have a third party inspection to ensure the quality meets your expectations. Overall, our CM did a relatively poor job ensuring details were done properly. Walks feel rushed so you feel like you don't have adequate time to really inspect the quality of work. There are also no plans provided. Since these a are not "custom" homes, they do not make build-specific plans per house. We went into the pre-construction meeting with plans that did not show major options and upgrades we purchased. Overall, I do not feel the "Built For You" tag-line is met outside of the Design Center. There is no thorough review of your home outside of the sales brochures, options and design center. As an example, we were left with one spare breaker in our electrical panel in our house. This is something that should be provided during the pre-construction meeting at a minimum as part of the review. WestBay has clearly become focused on "bang bang, get it done, get it sold" over providing quality customer experience and products. It may simply be they are building too much, too fast and cannot focus on customers. But in any case, that just means their management has not grown to fill their needs. To summarize for new buyers: Get everything in writing. Get your own inspector for the duration of the project. Don't sign if you aren't happy. You are not legally obligated to sign to meet their deadlines! ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thank you for your thorough feedback, Jason. We're sorry that you weren't completely satisfied with your Construction Manager, and that our communication throughout the process wasn't up to par. I will be passing your comments along to the team for follow up. In the meantime, rest assured that your new home comes with an extended 2-year performance guarantee, coupled with a 10-year structural warranty.

Quality and customer satisfaction are at the forefront of our business and we hope to better meet your expectations going forward. If you would like to add to your feedback, feel free to write us at info@westbaytampa.com. Thank you for trusting us with your new home, and welcome to the WestBay family! homesbywestbay
... More

Nice House but cheap is some areas

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

  • Valeria L.
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • July 09, 2020

Overall the house is very nice. However, there many places Homes by Westbay was too cheap. The tub for example, is a cheap fiberglass tub. Once these get stained, pretty much nothing you can do about it. It isn't much more expensive to put in a porcelain tub. The studs upstairs are not 16" apart, which makes it very difficult to hang anything. Just their way of saving on materials. ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
Thanks for your feedback, Valeria. We take pride in the quality of our homes and build our homes beyond industry standards and FL building codes. Rest assured that the typical stud spacing for all load bearing walls is 16", and was definitely not a decision based on cost savings. Should you have any additional concerns, please submit a performance request and a member of our team will be in touch shortly. Thank you for being a part of the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More

Homes by WestBay - Great community at Waterset!

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

  • Bernard B.
  • Apollo Beach, FL
  • May 05, 2020

Great community at Waterset!

problems not fixed

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Land O' Lakes, FL
  • December 15, 2020

We alerted Kevin the contractor about several issues we noticed 2 and half months prior to moving and none of them were fixed and/or corrected. We have been living in the house now for over two months and the issues have not been corrected. We paid close to $500,000 and we expected a better level of service and responsiveness to our concerns. Unfortunately, we still have most items not fixed or addressed. 1. dead sod/grass front and back of the house 2. Front door gap 3. Wine fridge cabinet fitting 4. stop drain master bathroom not fixed ... More

Homes by WestBay responded:
We're sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. If you haven't already done so, please submit a performance request via our website and our Quality Assurance team would be happy to assess. Thank you for patience, and for being part of the WestBay family! homesbywestbay ... More