Skip main navigation

Highland Homes Reviews in San Antonio, TX

What San Antonio Homeowners Have to Say About Highland Homes.

Read all 167 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Highland Homes in the San Antonio area. San Antonio homeowners have rated Highland Homes an average 4 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Highland Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Highland Homes

has 4 out of 5 stars in San Antonio Area

167 Reviews in San Antonio Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4

Quality 3.8

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Customer Reviews

Highland Homes - Very Happy with Highland Homeloans

  • Keith W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 14, 2020
  • Bulverde, TX

Very Happy with Highland Homeloans

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

Highland Homes - Overall a good experience.

  • Dennis H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 16, 2021
  • Boerne, TX

Overall a good experience. Was a little disappointed that some things weren’t done right the first time and had to have someone come fix it. We love our home though

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

Follow up not so good

  • John B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 09, 2021
  • Boerne, TX

Still waiting for a microwave trim piece, paint kit that was promised, and proof of purchase for appliances so we can get a warranty item taken care of. Going on three months now to resolve these issues !!!

Total Score 4


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Ventana home

  • Cesar C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 21, 2019
  • Bulverde, TX

Our experience with Highland has been great. Sales and the CM are very responsive. I would have given all five stars but we have a few pending to be addressed. In all honesty we are a bit disappointed with the quality of the paint work. It is noticeable where certain areas need to second coat of paint.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 5

Value 5

Responsiveness 4

Satisfied

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 05, 2020
  • San Antonio, TX

Home is very beautiful. Seems to be very well built with the exception of a few things where you can tell the workers cut corners and didn’t care. Also a few little warranty items, but that’s to be expected with a new build. Overall happy with our decision to build with Highland.

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Highland Homes - Overall, we are quite happy with our new home.

  • Sami M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 15, 2022
  • Bulverde, TX

Overall, we are quite happy with our new home. The sales team and construction supervisor have been easy to work with. Supply chain issues and labor availability have caused problems but those are being sorted out over time. All in all, we would recommend Highland Homes as a builder, but in today's environment it would be advisable to have a flexible move date.

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Quality, Completion Time, Delays, Punch Work

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 28, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

Overall we are happy with the home. We have wanted to build this floor plan for several years. The architectural styling is very aesthetically pleasing. The high ceilings make the house feel very comfortable. Unfortunately, building the house was a painful process. Seems like current housing demands and supply of crews significantly impacted the process. Current supply shortages required brick, rock and granite re-selection. Most of the sub-contractors seem to rush through their work, leading to many items requiring revision. The quality of work seemed to not be of importance, unless ...

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Delays and lack of communication

  • Shawn M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 03, 2021
  • Boerne, TX

We are happy with our house. We did experience frustrating delays and poor communication. We like our builder, but he is spread to thin. We are still waiting on incomplete items. There is paint on our wood floors, our garage door needs another coat of paint, rust ring from a paint can on one of our bathroom counters. It would be nice for someone to follow up a month or two after move in to address these kind of concerns. The one area where the craftsmanship could be better is the cabinets.

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Nice home but needs attention to details

  • Lesa P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 12, 2019
  • Boerne, TX

Love my new home but there should be more attention to the little details that stand out once you move in. Maybe not so rushed to make sure everything is correct. Overall I would rate a 4 out of 5 stars. There’s always room for improvement!

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Highland Homes - Tough time to build and buy a new home.

  • Dan S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 13, 2022
  • Boerne, TX

Tough time to build and buy a new home. High prices with limited supplies and limited laborers. Our General Contractor, Dave, did a great job working through issues and working directly with us. Hard to believe we paid such a high price for the home and that’s no one’s fault it’s just the way it is in this current market.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Highland Homes - This is our 3rd Highland home.

  • Walter G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 27, 2022
  • Bulverde, TX

This is our 3rd Highland home. We had a great experience working with the Highland team leading up to the purchase. Completing the punch list after the purchase has been challenging.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Highland Homes - I like the floor plan.

  • Brenda J.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 15, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

I like the floor plan.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

More for your buck

  • George F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 26, 2020
  • Boerne, TX

Little things that could have been included for the money that was spent. Doors, switches, lights these were just a couple up grades I paid for. Was not to happy about how high my foundation was built up in comparison to my neighbors. On the plus Rich n Ken did a good job of our concerns of the home.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Somewhat ok.

  • Timothy B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 09, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

For the most part the home is very nice. Quite a few of the finishes are cheap for the price we paid for the home and we've needed lots of things fixed, straightened, touched up, or replaced already. Somethings are fixed quickly and others have taken a very long time. Double check the listing you buy from as well. Ours said the house would come with gutters...it didn't, a double oven, it didn't, and other things like this.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Highland Homes - Sales team in Ventana is fabulous.

  • Daniel K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 05, 2022
  • Bulverde, TX

Sales team in Ventana is fabulous. However the shortages and manpower caused us numerous headaches. We had a list of over 50 uncompleted items when we moved in. After 3 months it is still not completed. Bette attention paid to this would be helpful. I do still think Highland builds a great home.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Disappointing

  • Yolanda A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 22, 2020
  • San Antonio, TX

Failed multiple times by construction manager Response time for corrections very poor To much to list

Total Score 4


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

Highland Homes - Take lots of pictures and document everything during pre-construction

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 20, 2022
  • Boerne, TX

Take lots of pictures and document everything during pre-construction and construction, and especially during blue tape. monitor utility meters as soon as possible, just so your not blindsided 2 months later of a water leak that was never discovered. just goes to show, anything can happen. Started out as a second home made it harder to keep up with everything. Over all above average.

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Highland Homes - Highland Homes builds beautiful homes.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 28, 2022
  • Bulverde, TX

Highland Homes builds beautiful homes. Workmanship issues with various crews and insufficient quality control resulted in many issues. However, Highland Homes does attempt to resolve the issues. The process is slow but steady.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Nathan the builder didn’t do his job like we was told after I’ve walk through.

  • Forrest H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 31, 2019
  • Bulverde, TX

Lot unfinished work need to be done. T Jet tub not working.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Dissapointed

  • Christopher S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 05, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

So many things still need repair as we closed before all work was completed properly due to rising interest rates. Plumbing failed within 4 weeks of moving in and backed up into the bathrooms. Shane is on top of these things and I will be happier when all of the work is completed, but for the price point on this home, I expected things to be much better.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Highland Homes - I don't know how things are with other builders, but my experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 20, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

I don't know how things are with other builders, but my experience with Highland Homes was okay. I loved working with my sales counselor, who is hands on, attentive to details, and responsive.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

The low quality for the price paid

  • Rick J.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 19, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

We are disappointed with the house and wish that times were different so we could have bought from a different builder.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Poor finish work and several errors.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 25, 2020
  • San Antonio, TX

The finish work of our home was below par. The building manager did a great job addressing the items. If I could do it over I would not have closed until the majority of the items were corrected.

Highland Homes responded:
Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to leave a response about your experience. I am sorry to hear of your displeasure with some of the finish work items, but very pleased to hear you are happy with our Construction Manager. After speaking with our team, I am pleased to hear our Construction Manager met with you after your closing as well as recently followed up to ensure these items were resolved and that all is now alright with your home. We pride ourselves in providing all of our customers with the highest quality home possible and are committed to our customers throughout the home-building process and after, and throughout the warranty period, to help get everything completed and to your satisfaction. Our goal is to provide quick attention to your concerns and pride ourselves on quality and customer service! Thank you for being a Highland Homes customer. ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Highland Homes - I purchased a speck home that was already designed.

  • Angela R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 06, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

I purchased a speck home that was already designed. Color scheme chose was pretty. Disappointed in a lot of the workman ship in the home however.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Our home was built on time and quickly.

  • Erik P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 10, 2020
  • New Braunfels, TX

But because of the home being built so quickly, there were many things that were overlooked. Our two main upgrades (Lot size & master shower) were not completed to our liking and we are still resolving these issues. Also the sprinkler system was set up prior to moving in and it was set to run three times a day, every day and our first water bill was almost $900. It would have been nice to know that issue before moving in. Very frustrating!

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3