Skip main navigation

DRB Homes Reviews in Raleigh Durham Chapel Hill, NC

What Raleigh Durham Chapel Hill Homeowners Have to Say About DRB Homes.

Read all 260 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with DRB Homes in the Raleigh Durham Chapel Hill area. Raleigh Durham Chapel Hill homeowners have rated DRB Homes an average 4.1 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of DRB Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

DRB Homes

has 4.1 out of 5 stars in Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill Area

260 Reviews in Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.1

Quality 3.8

Trustworthiness 4.1

Value 4.2

Responsiveness 4

Customer Reviews

Dan Ryan Builders - I love our home but it is clear they went the cheaper route with

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 07, 2021
  • CLAYTON, NC

I love our home but it is clear they went the cheaper route with materials and hurried with some projects. The backyard fence is still not complete

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Dan Ryan Builders - DRB delayed our move several times, and this resulted in added

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 31, 2022
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

DRB delayed our move several times, and this resulted in added expenses on our end that were not covered by DRB due to delays and last minute communication from DRB. We've had to use their warranty service several times to complete items that needed to be fixed from our blue tape walk that were not yet fixed. I've been waiting a few weeks now for their warranty service now to get back to me. Our sod was also rushed and poorly installed as well resulting in terrible lawn health that we will now inherit.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Dan Ryan Experience

  • Luke M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 22, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

The only positive of our experience was the agent, she was very helpful, informative, and resourceful. The building process was suppose to take 4-6 months, but Dan Ryan had 6 months of absurd delays with little to no communication, unless initiated by myself. This was extremely frustrating and communicated to Dan Ryan and yet still no compensation or regards at all. The builder was just okay. Most things were done fine but there were multiple things they did a poor job on (master door does not close properly, glue left on all laminent floor pieces, marked locations of chipped paint not fixed ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Short cuts and errors

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 26, 2020
  • CLAYTON, NC

While we are content at building our first new home this is and has been a journey in and of itself. Because so many contractors are involved there were many errors. Our home was prewired to only provide cable through internet although we requested dual coax and Ethernet cable we only received Ethernet which meant we had to purchase all smart TVs. The floor boards upstairs make loud noises as if you are going to fall through the floor. The paint is starting to crack in some areas inside the house. The garage motor sounds as though it was made for a single car garage, some electrical outlets ...

Dan Ryan Builders responded:
Thank you sharing your review. We always want to hear from our home buyers and the details you’ve shared are especially helpful. Our area project manager will contact you personally to discuss your concerns. You can expect to hear from him no later than Tuesday of next week. Thank you again, Dan Ryan Builders ...

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

Quality issues

  • Daniel V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 25, 2019
  • Wake Forest, NC

We had far too many issues with our home that we had to point out for our liking. The level of oversight and attention to detail paid by the on-site supervisor(s) was severely lacking. Vendors drinking beer in the home while working and food left in the house show the level of subcontractors. The paint and drywall crew have to be some of the worst in the business - paint all over our floors, drywall seams (nails) all around the house. Overall a disappointing experience.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Dan Ryan Builders - I asked for some exterior things to be done before closing and

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2020
  • DURHAM, NC

I asked for some exterior things to be done before closing and they were not completed; I’m unhappy with that service. The loan officer that I dealt with was unpleasant and uncooperative- I would not recommend to others.

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

First time home has been a nightmare

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

We loved the lady who helped us choose a lot and floodplan. She was amazing! Everyone else sucked. Unresponsive. We had a leak from a tub spout installed wrong. Took over two month to get the flooring replaced and ceiling holes patched after it leaked through to our kitchen ceiling. Then it took another week for the restoration company to come out and fix the moldy floors in the master bath. Beautiful home, service has been subpar.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Dan Ryan Builders - Terrible craftsmanship!

  • Michelle R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 20, 2020
  • CLAYTON, NC

Terrible craftsmanship!! Poor attention to detail.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Poor quality. Worst warranty management

  • Aleksei K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 25, 2019
  • RALEIGH, NC

Really poor quality of the building. They keep saying that a lot of the issues can be fixed within a year of warranty. But the warranty management is absolutely not responsive. It took me a MONTH to get somebody on site to check the gutter. If you are buying a house from Dan Ryan, make sure everything is fixed before the closing because you are buying it "as is"

Dan Ryan Builders responded:
We are very sorry to hear that you hare having problems with your warranty work being completed in a timely manner. Our Warranty Manager will be reaching out you to ensure that all items are complete. danryanbuilders

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

You get what you pay for it !

  • Bradley L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 27, 2019
  • Wake Forest, NC

New house with unfinished touches. Poor painting job, no attention to detail at all. My house was not even ready for first walk thru. Doors were left unpainted. It looks as they were rushing to finished. Floors have splashed paint that I have to clean. some windows are not leveled.

Dan Ryan Builders responded:
Hi Bradley, We have been trying to contact you regarding your review but have been unable to. Please reach out to us at ncservice@drbgroup.com danryanbuilders

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Dan Ryan Builders - I do not think that Dan Ryann values buyers.

  • Erica M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 29, 2021
  • WENDELL, NC

I do not think that Dan Ryann values buyers. I did not have a good experience overall. I believe that the quality is not there for the price and I believe that the attention to detail was missed.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Cheap Materials

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 28, 2021
  • FUQUAY VARINA, NC

For as much as I paid for the home. Going through the house finding out that the upgraded in the house are cheap and break easily. Having issue with water in crawlspace and not really impressed with their responsiveness. Also there are spots on the first floor that are sagging now. I don't know if I would ever buy a home from them again.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Dan Ryan Builders - This was my first time buying a home.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 02, 2021
  • CLAYTON, NC

This was my first time buying a home. They made this experience the worst ever. If I had been renting or leasing instead of buying I would have moved immediately. Within two weeks of me moving into my home I had a major issue happen. It took over three months to get the problem resolved. The communication was terrible! Very disappointed. First and last time buying a Dan Ryan Home! All I can say is do your research before purchasing a home!

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Dan Ryan Builders - This experience is not one that I would have ever expected from

  • Veronica D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 25, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

This experience is not one that I would have ever expected from such a big builder. Trying to communicate to settle issues were ignored, which led to bigger issues among a team that was suppose to be working together with a common goal of getting me into my house. I was blessed enough to close but had to beg for my house and resign a contract 8 months after my initial signing which was less than 60 days before my closing. It was a terrifying experience that I would not wish on anyone. I am thankful that I had my agent in my corner to assist me through the emotional and business part and ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Terrible finishing work - painting, trim, cabinets, vanity tops

  • Nickoli C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 31, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

My house was thrown together and it shows. The inner quality of the paint, cabinets, chalk, etc are terrible. We had to have people return multiple times to my house to make corrections and replace items that were not installed correctly. Truly sad that the project manager felt comfortable giving my house in the condition it is it.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Unresponsive staff and poor quality

  • Balu M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 10, 2020
  • APEX, NC

To compete with other builders, Dan Ryan needs to step up the game and be a better customer oriented company.

Dan Ryan Builders responded:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your concerns. Our Production Manager for your community will be reaching out to you in the next two business days to review. danryanbuilders

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

Get everything in writing

  • David P C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 02, 2021
  • CLAYTON, NC

Get everything in writing. Project managers do not live up to their word. Expect sloppy workmanship. Ensure that everything little thing that needs to be addressed is written out in exacting detail. Blue tape walkthrough is a joke. Don’t bother to blue tape anything. Write every little think down on the list. Blue tape was removed the very next day without any of the issues that they were marking addressed.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

N/A

  • Jonathan F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 19, 2020
  • APEX, NC

They have no care for the consumer buying the home!

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

They don’t care about quality or the customer

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 25, 2019
  • Wake Forest, NC

We just closed on our new home the end of June. So many things we are disappointed with. First, we had all 3 of our toilets used and not cleaned up whatsoever. Completely disgusting! Then Chandler tries telling us it was baby food. I mean, how insulting! We had to literally threaten to not close if the seats weren’t replaced. They were finally left hours after we closed. They wouldn’t even put them on. The paint and trim is SO sloppy! Clumps and bumps everywhere! There are two areas (that we’ve seen) on our cream kitchen cabinets where it looks like something was rubbed off and worn. Of ...

Dan Ryan Builders responded:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience with your new home. The Area Production Manager for your community will be contacting you to discuss your concerns. danryanbuilders

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

not pleased really not pleased

  • Keith David S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 26, 2021
  • MEBANE, NC

many open issues that was promised to be resolved, but have not resolved 3 months after closely.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Disappointed Customer

  • Terry D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 15, 2022
  • RALEIGH, NC

My sales rep Susan Muiznieks was more interested in getting me to closing than ensuring my home was ready. Dean Kellington, the site manager lied to me on numerous occasions. My home was never cleaned, I had to pay Stanley Steemer to clean my floors, tge drop zone area was never completed, the addresses were put in the wrong location and Dean will not return or reply to my emails.

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

I do not think that the construction company is bad in its entirety, I think that I have a very bad construction manager.

  • Rafaelina A Z.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 21, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

I do not think that the construction company is bad in its entirety, I think that I had a very bad construction manager, the administration did not help, to solve my problems in time (months) broken air conditioning, broken gas line, the paint is disgusting , the concrete was rubbish, the cracked cabinets, the doors do not fit, they respond on time, they do not have a serious and real commitment once you closed the purchase. truly my experience was HORRIBLE. If you ask me, I would not recommend them.

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Dan Ryan Builders - Make sure you have a realtor and get everything in writing.

  • Danielle B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 26, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

Make sure you have a realtor and get everything in writing. Communication was a huge issue. We would often email with questions and either not get a response or would have to re-email to get answers. We also had to move where our house was being built because they didn’t have water allocation permits which wasn’t communicated to us. We were just told it was an issue with the county and that was why our house was so delayed. We started our process in March of 2020. We were given the run around until June 2020 and that’s when they told us about the water allocation issue. Our realtor spoke ...

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Bad experience ever in my life

  • Bedilu G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 01, 2020
  • GARNER, NC

The don’t wanna fix anything you find the defect and they are not professional and the lie to much

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

The workers Dan Ryan subcontracted are absolutely awful and nothing is completely finished in our home. For paying the amount of money that we did, this house should’ve been built with more thought and care instead of trying to build as fast as possible.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 20, 2021
  • FRANKLINTON, NC

We will NEVER build a home with Dan Ryan Builders again! Extremely poor quality for the amount of money that we paid.

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 4