Skip main navigation

What Homeowners Have to Say About Century Communities

Century Communities has reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 3.8 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Century Communities’s 895 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

3.8 out of 5 stars
in all areas

895 Reviews - 87 Communities

5 ★(375)

4 ★(183)

3 ★(161)

2 ★(84)

1 ★(92)

Quality 3.6

Trustworthiness 3.7

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.5

Century Communities - I got several problem badly.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Duk .
  • Lacey, WA
  • June 02, 2020

I got several problem badly. Septic pump broken and flood to front yard. Water leaking from ceiling but can't find the reason.

Century Communities responded:
Duk- please fill out a warranty request at www.centurycommunities.com. We have already forwarded this to the division as soon as we received it.

Great house, poor communication

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Smyrna, TN
  • March 31, 2020

The house is great, but we do not have a key to the mailbox so no mail. Some warranty claims have been pend for several weeks. Some builders park in middle of road so difficult to drive on the only road out.

Century Communities responded:
With all this uncertanty we are all going through and trades on orders to stay home (social distancing) we are handcufed. Once all of us get the green light we can schedual you. At that time please go to www.centurycommunities.com web page and fill out a service ticket.

We will talk to the team about the parking in the middle of the street as we can see that being a problem.
... More

Nice home for the price.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Aurora, CO
  • March 17, 2020

Nice home for the price, staff is nice. Takes too long to get fixes done, once you have moved in.

Century Communities responded:
Hello- Thank you for letting us know. If you haven't please use our web-sight to submit claims. www.centurycommunities.com

Century Communities - Not Bad

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Rajesh Y.
  • Cumming, GA
  • March 12, 2020

Not Bad

Century Communities responded:
We are glad it was not bad. :)

Good experience buying, then total indifference when asked to assist with warranty

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • William B.
  • Soledad, CA
  • February 25, 2020

Good buying experience, after acquisition. They do not respond to inquiries regarding work orders pi it online. Very dissatisfied with it.

Century Communities responded:
Hector- We will look into why you're experiencing a slow response. Thank you for sharing.

Century Communities - It’s a $300,000 home.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

  • Anonymous
  • Buford, GA
  • February 13, 2020

It’s a $300,000 home. What do you expect?

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for sharing.

Century Communities - For the most part all was good.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Gina V.
  • Parker, CO
  • January 16, 2020

For the most part all was good. Final walk through, super didn’t flush toilets, turn lights off/on, light stove/oven and I did have a few problems immediately after moving in. I have chip painting, and doors with dents, cabinets missing shelf hooks (still haven’t rec’d after asking). For the most part all good but a house that costs close to a half million dollars should really be flawless. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Gina-
thank you for your feed back. Visit our web sight at www.centurycommunities.com to fill out a work order.

Average

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

  • Jason C.
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • January 07, 2020

The home is average quality compared to custom homes, however good quality for production homes. Because the housing market in the Denver area is outrageous, the price of the home, I feel is overpriced for the quality. After moving into the home, it took going to the Century Communities National HQ to get an issue resolved. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Jason-Thank you for sharing your thoughts. If you need to contact Century please visit our web-sight.

www.centurycommunities.com at the top of the page is a homeowner tab and fill out a service request.
... More

Century Communities - I recently purchased a home that the quality of the home makes

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

  • Walter E.
  • McDonough, GA
  • September 10, 2019

I recently purchased a home that the quality of the home makes me wish I did not buy the home!

Century Communities responded:
Walter ,
If there is something we need to address please contact Laura Adame our National Customer Relations Liaison Laura.Adame@centurycommunities.com
so we can get someone to contact you from GA division.
... More

Laps on repair

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • McDonough, GA
  • August 26, 2019

Very laps on repair that should have e been done in there first place bad appliance's have no desire to remedy or fix

Century Communities responded:
Would like to look into your concern further, but unfortunately, the review is "anonymous." Please email Laura Adame, our national customer relations liaison @ Laura.adame@centurycommunities.com so that she can gather more information and relay to the division leadership. Thank you. ... More

Cheaply built

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Anonymous
  • Decatur, GA
  • July 09, 2019

They’re putting these things up so fast I question how well the quality will uphold overall. Only been in the house 3 months and have noticed the quality of things deteriorating. I would look elsewhere for a reputable builder. Just because they have the number one volume of homes, that doesn’t make them good. ... More

Nice home, shady service

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Lakewood, WA
  • June 27, 2019

I don't want to call people out by name, so I'll keep this general. The woman in the sales office defaulted to "no" for most requests, and then would swoop in at the 11th hour with a "yes" - almost as if trying to position herself as the hero. She caused unnecessary worry and chaos for me, and was outwardly hostile to my real estate agent. I don't trust that we always got the truth from her. Our customer relationship manager was also hostile towards my agent. She has been slow to respond to service requests, late to appointments, incredibly rude at times, and then contacted me on multiple occasions to request that I complete a survey on her performance - and that she needed all 10s. No way would I give her 10s, but I also need her for the next year of my warranty, so I'm not going to rank her honestly and then deal with her attitude for the next year. I simply didn't do the survey. The process is broken. On the upside, Aaron, the site construction manager, is fantastic. He is friendly, responsive, honest, kind, and genuine. I like the house and the community. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for the feedback. What you've described is not consistent with what we expect from our team members when treating customers. And the last thing we should ever do is to pressure you for a positive survey, especially if we didn't earn it. When you do receive the official company survey, please be candid (as you are now) and provide ways we can improve (like you did on this review). As to the fear that you won't get good service, we'd like to help ease your worries ... would you please email our WA Area Customer Relations Manager, Aimee Munson (aimee.munson@centurycommunities.com) -- she's awesome and an advocate for our customers. We'll make things right. BTW - once you connect w/ Aimee (and know who you are), we will relay your praise to Aaron. ... More

Century Communities - They have not finished some things on my house and it’s been

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Yuri Pacheco ..
  • Tracy, CA
  • September 02, 2021

They have not finished some things on my house and it’s been three months

Century Communities - The lender only give limited options and rates should match with

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Pradeep Sukumara Pillai ..
  • Tracy, CA
  • August 31, 2021

The lender only give limited options and rates should match with other lenders offering. Poor response to maintenance and warranty issues Poor communications regarding construction progress and closing readiness No post sales service Poor cleaning around the house/ side yard/backyard/ etc. before/after closing Avg material quality and workmanship ... More

Century Communities - Response to maintenance requests are not good.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Deep Arora ..
  • Tracy, CA
  • August 24, 2021

Response to maintenance requests are not good. It's been months that I have raised 4-5 service requests but none has been worked on. In fact I couldn't find the ways to search for the service requests from the website to refer back.

Poor quality homes

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Anonymous
  • Merced, CA
  • August 03, 2021

First time purchasing a $500k home and the quality of the home is cheap. Crack paint, floor board not butted correctly, and last but not least some of the screws on the door knobs were missing. I was hoping for a $500k home, it would at least perfect. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for sharing. We truly appreciate your candid response. Please visit our website and submit a claim at www.centurycommunitities.com so we can address your concerns and can schedule a warranty representative to come to your home. ... More

Bad communication.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Ramiro Mier ..
  • Aurora, CO
  • June 22, 2021

House still missing things to finish. Waiting 3 months and counting. After you close they don't care what you're missing.

Poor communication

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Benjamin Scholberg ..
  • Erie, CO
  • June 08, 2021

Overall we are happy with our home. Although, it was after many issues resolved, and some still remain. The follow up and communication has been very poor. With our tick list items still at bay, and some very lacking expertise on homes and construction in general. I feel that the employees who do the final walkthrough and tick list items are not skilled in building construction or finishing. We were told many untrue things such as a ceiling register being a “whole house fan” or when I found the radon fan unplugged in the attic, “oh good catch, no one really goes up there after the insulation.” Still to this day, we have put in warrantee requests weeks back without hearing anything. The easiest fix for all this is to communicate well, and to not pretend to be an expert and use words like, ‘I don’t know, but I’ll find out and get back to you.’ ... More

Century Communities - Look real good, before buying.

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

  • Charles Edwards ..
  • North Las Vegas, NV
  • May 11, 2021

Look real good, before buying.i thought i did,but still find things wrong and nobody came to fix my problem.

A Cautionary Tale!

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

  • Brandon Scott Tardy ..
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • May 04, 2021

Let me start by saying our subpar review is aimed completely at construction and their lacking quality and has nothing to do with Centuries Sales Team. During our “soft walk” our customer service rep. noted that the construction was behind, and he was right, my wife and I had no choice but to take possession. We never truly received our final walk, Miguel (Superintendent) met us an hour before we were supposed to receive keys and walked the house while workers were still finishing up. We were assured by Miguel that all fixes to paint (interior and exterior) as well as damage to doors, cabinetry, carpet etc. would be fixed over the next week. Over the next two weeks the only thing that had been resolved is they finally installed our garage opener and our side gate. It had been a rough experience for my wife who now thinks that after you buy a new construction it is up to the new homeowner to hire painters, cabinetmakers, carpet, even a cleaning service to fix all the issues. These issues truly needed to be resolved and I had not heard or seen our superintendent in two weeks, the last straw was my 6-year-old son bleeding from stepping on two exposed carpet tacks. I cannot stand that I am the whiny buyer but for crying out loud the house was not even cleaned, we walked into our brand-new home with construction still plugged into our house, even the builders’ notes were still taped to the walls and island. We finally cornered the Superintendent and was told not to contact Customer Service because they are so backed up and we would not get our problems resolved for months. At that point I did not care, my wife and I paid our life savings on this house and the quality of work was disgraceful. After getting in touch with Customer Service it appeared that things were getting resolved. They pretty much repainted my entire interior, repaired my railing that was cracked and loose and nailed down the carpet nails. The last tradesman was for the kitchen cabinets to rehang all the doors (all hung crooked). He was unable to finish and that was just about 2 months ago, and I have not heard back. We have attempted a few times to contact Customer service with no response. Please use our experience as a cautionary tale, moving into a brand new home is supposed to be an enjoyable experience. Instead we’ve been doing nothing but fixing our “New Home” for the last 4 months. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Brandon- We've been in contact with the team and understand they are in contact with you regarding your concerns and working with you through them. Thank you for sharing your experience. There's always take a way's to learn from in the home building process to make sure they are not repeated. We'll work with the team on this. ... More

Would Not Recommend to Others

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

  • Brian Michael Provenza ..
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • April 27, 2021

Buying process was good. Salesperson made some mistakes, but overall good. Lending process was very poor. This portion of the process was the most disappointing. Very rushed, way to fast paced, non-informative, and overall bad. Building process was ok, very sloppy and rushed toward the end. Obvious the builder was trying to meet a deadline, and that took priority over build quality. Overall experience, I was treated as a number after the sales process. Sad because this was my first new-home buying experience and my expectations were not met. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Brian- thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We will be addressing this with the leadership and field teams.

Century Communities - Time lines were met in most instances

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

  • Anonymous
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • March 31, 2021

Time lines were met in most instances

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for your feed back

Century Communities - Sales team was great.

Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

  • Tyler ..
  • Erie, CO
  • March 31, 2021

Sales team was great. Quality of materials and warranty team are not so great. I have had about ten issues since I moved in three months ago and half of them are still not fixed after multiple trips out. Things we asked them to fix were missed between final walkthrough and closing. Shortcuts taken like missed caulking. Random maintenance people coming out for issues not related to my house. Very frustrating experience from the time I closed until now, and hate having to spend so much extra time micromanaging the maintenance team. ... More

Love our house but feel like an afterthought to the builder they had completed the sale

Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

  • Andrew ..
  • Castle Rock, CO
  • March 26, 2021

Overall the buying process was pretty seamless. I liked that all the parties involved were part of the same company so that helped make sure everything went relatively smoothly. We purchased a home that the original buyer had dropped out of so we didn’t experience any of the selection process but happy with what the other buyers picked. After moving in though we noticed a lot of workmanship issues that we missed during the excitement of the pre-move in walkthroughs. Things you can definitely tell they were rushing to finish before our closing date that got moved up 2 weeks. Paint drops on the floors, gaps between the carpet and floor boards to where you can see the material under the flooring, crooked mirror fixtures and just tons of spots on the walls and floorboards we had to touch up ourselves. There were a couple of items they were able to address on our last walk through before closing but there were others they said they would come back to fix and have yet to come back on anything. Hopefully it will be addressed like promised when we submit our first list of items on the warranty claim. I can definitely say that you get the Royal treatment up to closing but after you move in and they have your money you can’t help but feel like an afterthought when raising concerns. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experinace Andrew- When your ready please visit our web site www.centurycommunities.com to submit any warranty concerns ... More

It was very rushed. They care more about the money than the quality, It was about closing out contracts at end of year

Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

  • Angela ..
  • Denver, CO
  • March 05, 2021

I wish that i moved into my house with a smile on my face. What should have been a great experience was less than due to the amount of little things that have needed attention. Now the people who have been working with me to resolve the issues have been great. The builder and quality of their work has left a lot to be desired. ... More

Century Communities responded:
Angela- we will contact the team and follow up on your experience. Thank you for sharing.

Narrow Reviews by Area: