Skip main navigation

Centex Homes Reviews in San Antonio, TX

What San Antonio Homeowners Have to Say About Centex Homes.

Read all 188 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Centex Homes in the San Antonio area. San Antonio homeowners have rated Centex Homes an average 3.8 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Centex Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Centex Homes

has 3.8 out of 5 stars in San Antonio Area

188 Reviews in San Antonio Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 3.8

Quality 3.5

Trustworthiness 3.7

Value 3.9

Responsiveness 3.7

Customer Reviews

Disappointed

  • Lee T.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • New Braunfels, TX

I was most upset that as the newer homes are being built, less options / upgrades are offered. I mean, seriously, how hard would it have been to put the plumbing in for the water softener? Why was this totally deleted? Now to have this done properly will be an additional $1000 that could have been done cheaper as in previous houses. Why were the brick and stone upgrades deleted? You can see the difference through the neighborhood - and, my house cost $60,000 more. Bad decisions by Centex management.

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - Comb thru your home multiple times.

  • Dustin H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Seguin, TX

Comb thru your home multiple times. Some things pop out after the move in so make your warranty list and use it for sure.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

field supervisors were great to work with

  • Roberto M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 23, 2021
  • BOERNE, TX

This subdivision has three developers, ashton woods, pulte, and centex (centex owned by pulte) Centex is the 'lowest' grade of these three builders. Quality is good and house has great bones/structure. Where centex missed on the build is the quality of the craftsmanship. Paint blotchiness, tiled grout in globs, floor trim not in alignment. All minor cosmetic items but when paying $$$$ quality should still be an area of importance.

Total Score 4


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 4

Centex Homes - I don’t have any complaints about the process of having the home

  • Carly V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 11, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

I don’t have any complaints about the process of having the home built but I do feel like we were treated like a dime a dozen with the closing process and when we listed some issues at closing that needed to be taken care of, they weren’t. We said that dirt needed to be brought in to fill holes in the fence, never happened. We had to buy our own dirt. We listed dead grass and were told they’d come in and replace them, never happened. We’ve had to buy fertilizer and hope that saved some of the dead grass. It’s just sad that the customer service doesn’t really stick once you’ve signed the ...

Total Score 4


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

I’m happy I was able to buy this house

  • Salvador P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 07, 2019
  • SAN ANTONIO, TX

Just make sure everything you want gets done on time

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - Good home for the price

  • Nicholas M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 31, 2019
  • New Braunfels, TX

Good home for the price

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Great before the sale, not so much afterwards

  • Morris E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 14, 2020
  • New Braunfels, TX

The sales process was outstanding and both the sales representative and construction manager were friendly, efficient and responsive. I love the home and the neighborhood. The customer service after the sale has been anything but good. I had a major plumbing issue almost immediately after move in. My yard was dug up and almost 3 weeks later it is still a wreck and I can't get anyone from the customer service department to communicate with me as to when the landscaping will be repaired.

Total Score 4


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 2

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

Centex Homes - Home building experience was good but there are significant delays

  • Trinadh C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 13, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

Home building experience was good but there are significant delays due to improper planning. There is last minute rush to complete things which impqcted quality in few places. Field manager is not at all responsive for the items identified as pending in the closing. Still have few items that need to be fixed.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - One you move in you find all the things you wished you’d noticed

  • Leslie S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 13, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

One you move in you find all the things you wished you’d noticed before closing. Creaky floors, leaks, corners cut. The lack of pride in the work shows. Getting to closing is easy and they have nice people on the staff.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - Builders team was great with updates.

  • Cassandra G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 24, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

Builders team was great with updates.

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - Nice Community to live in!

  • Marco B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

Nice Community to live in!

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - Buying a home with Centex was a rocky experience.

  • Freyja E.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2020
  • New Braunfels, TX

Buying a home with Centex was a rocky experience. We had some chaos with the closing date, but the construction supervisor was not ready for the final walk through. After closing there was still deficiencies with our home that had not been corrected. We tried to work with the construction supervisor to get the outstanding deficiencies addressed, but after two weeks we gave up since it was clearly apparent we couldnt trust him to do his job. Additionally, the sod that was used on our lawn was infested with army worm eggs which we didnt find out till two weeks after we moved in. We had to pay ...

Total Score 4


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

It's New Braunfels. We took that which was available

  • Cory W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 12, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

Weak tradesman. Average quality. The subs don't care. This is the lowest tier of construction quality that exists. Having said that, Pulte is a good company that really tries to take care of their customers

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 5

On time

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 16, 2022
  • San Antonio, TX

It is good but the quality of the material is not good the paint they used the composite walls they come off

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 5

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Centex Homes - Craftsmanship is terrible.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • New Braunfels, TX

Craftsmanship is terrible. A brand new construction looks like a horribly renovated home. The brand new construction we closed on looks like it's been lived in by squatters. It does not look brand new. Sales rep and construction manager were very helpful. They just needed a lot of following up. Other than that, they provided good customer service.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 5

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Centex Homes - I was definitely in a rush to purchase a home and would recommend

  • Maria H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 08, 2020
  • New Braunfels, TX

I was definitely in a rush to purchase a home and would recommend to anyone looking to purchase with centex to check check and check again. That goes for paperwork, construction, and craftsmanship in the home

Total Score 3


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Centex Homes - Needs to focus more in final details

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • April 02, 2019
  • SAN ANTONIO, TX

Needs to focus more in final details

Centex Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We'd like to hear more about your experience to learn how we can improve. Please send us an email at socialcare@pultegroup.com. --Sarah centexhomes

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 5

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - The lack of attention to detail takes the joy out of owning a

  • Pamela F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 18, 2022
  • BOERNE, TX

The lack of attention to detail takes the joy out of owning a new home.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 5

Value 4

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - The finishing isn't that great.

  • Omar A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 03, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

The finishing isn't that great.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

The contractors and warranty department has been great in communicating all updates and concerns. The only did we did not like was corners were cut on the building process and now as a home owner we are dealing with it.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 30, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

Centex homes are great starter homes but you must stay on top of construction to make sure every thing is correct.

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

Fair

  • Oscar B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 09, 2020
  • New Braunfels, TX

Make sure u run the water all at the same time to make sure the plumbing was done correctly and don’t have issues

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - The entire process was smooth for the most part.

  • Vincent V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Converse, TX

The entire process was smooth for the most part. The builder did transition between building managers so we had a few communication break downs. The biggest area of opportunity for them is the landscape and sod installation. I am not happy with the sod being delivered brown and sitting for a few days, no top soil used, and the landscapers laying it down on rock without racking it out

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - A lot of bad details

  • Adriana C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • BOERNE, TX

A lot of bad details

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Not a happy camper

  • Easias, M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 22, 2020
  • SAN ANTONIO, TX

Windows, garage door, yard, just the overall experience that i went through to buy the house left a sour taste in my mouth and even the realtor would choose the same. I wouldnt do it again

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

The Trades used to build our home were terrible.

  • Zachary B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 22, 2020
  • San Antonio, TX

The trades and people who physically worked on the house was very poor quality and needed to be redone multiple times throughout the whole build process. The land scape was very poor to the point where most of it need to be redone and paid for by the home owner (myself). That includes uneven bed lines around mulched areas, the dirt that was used to level and grade the yard was extremely poor quality (rocks all throughout yard) and uneven when grass was laid making mowing and yard work very difficult. This was the same impression throughout the neighborhood, also the sprinkler system was ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 4