Skip main navigation

Centex Homes Reviews

What Homeowners Have to Say About Centex Homes.

Centex Homes has a reputation for building quality new construction homes. Their satisfied homeowners give them an average rating of 4.3 stars for their beautiful floor plans and affordable upgrades, their skilled craftsmanship, and commitment to customer service on each house they build. You can read all of Centex Homes 1355 homeowner reviews to learn why they are the right team to build your new home.

Centex Homes

has 4.3 out of 5 stars in All Areas

1355 Reviews in All Areas

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.3

Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4.2

Value 4.3

Responsiveness 4.1

Customer Reviews

Centex Homes - Still have things that need fixing but no one ever comes to do

  • Milton S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 05, 2019
  • Conroe, TX

Still have things that need fixing but no one ever comes to do any thing!!

Centex Homes responded:
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt follow up on your repair items and we'd like to know more about the situation so we can assist. Please don't hesitate to email us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Poor

  • Himaja V.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 30, 2021
  • Durham, NC

Nothing is good. Not at all happy with quality

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Nothing

  • Luis B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 23, 2021
  • Wesley Chapel, FL

Doors in a couple of closets fall down, kitchen bar porous, knee wall loose at second floor, steeples on carpet/tile joint, cheap appliances, not customized options. The rest seems to be ok

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Very cheap material use wood,kitchen bathrooms fixtures etc

  • Hector D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2021
  • Lakeland, FL

Very bad condition of grass

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Horrible sales & warranty staff

  • Mostafa N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 12, 2021
  • Aubrey, TX

I bought a Centex home & closed on the house on August 9th, 2021. At the time of our walk through the front and rear trees were flat out dead. The sales rep told me in her own words she was going to have the trees replace so did the builder he too ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Inept contractors

  • William D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 14, 2021
  • Leland, NC

The build needs to be monitored by the home buyer, daily, to insure the quality construction. Also, there is no concern for details or communication with the buyers and the build quality supervisors. Construction cost could lower if there were not ...

Centex Homes responded:
We were so disheartened to read your review as this is certainly not the experience, we want you to have. We'd really like an opportunity to discuss this feedback with you and try to make things right. Please email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thanks ^AH ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

The poor workmanship

  • Jesse C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2021
  • San Antonio, TX

Lots of small issues with the house Paint splatter all over the floors which I had to clean up Poor cuts in the sheet rock that are highly noticeable Caulking left behind everywhere that I’ve scrapped off And when installing the the siding a ...

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - Home warranty center is not good at getting things fixed.

  • Seabrey K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 06, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

Home warranty center is not good at getting things fixed. Of my list of MANY items that need repair, I don't think a single one has been completed...we've been there 2 months!!

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

The lack of communication

  • Stephanie S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 18, 2021
  • Summerville, SC

The builder seems very knowledgeable, however, isn’t the best at following up nor communicating. I’ve expressed this on NUMEROUS encounters, however, no change. This type of frustration will prevent me from recommending this builder to anyone else.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 4

Responsiveness 1

50:50

  • Samantha D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 08, 2020
  • Conroe, TX

I’ve had some good experiences and terrible with this company building my new home. I had my original sales guy not keep me informed on flooring changes but Trent took over and he did great. He explained things and really seamed to care. Devon the ...

Total Score 3


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Lots of issues

  • Stephanie M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 11, 2020
  • Saint Cloud, FL

Had lots of issues from walls being crooked, to deadlines not being met for final list of things to be fixed. Buyer beware make sure everything is finished before you close.

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 1

Centex Homes - Sloppy and unchecked construction worksets .

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 15, 2019
  • Manor, TX

Sloppy and unchecked construction worksets . Uncaring about the cleanness of the areas or the work on houses they are building

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - Well the sales rep Jermey was great but now I still don’t have

  • Jeffrey F.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 02, 2021
  • Parrish, FL

Well the sales rep Jermey was great but now I still don’t have hurricane fabric that should have been in the house before I moved in back in mid October. My construction manager Jake keeps saying he’ll get with the contractor but still no fabric. ...

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Centex Homes - They use the most cheap materials.

  • Vanessa C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 11, 2021
  • Polk City, FL

They use the most cheap materials. For the price I pay for the house he’ll no. I feel like a live in a cartoon house. I’m sorry but is how I feel.

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

mediocre

  • Maria P.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 06, 2021
  • Houston, TX

It wasn't the best experience because of how fast they were in getting it done.... great except you dont trust them and they don't always treat you right... best service came from them at the end as we neared closing.

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Centex Homes - This builder is not responsive to issues post closing.

  • Paige H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 18, 2021
  • Johns Island, SC

This builder is not responsive to issues post closing. Updates during build were not adequate.

Total Score 3


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Centex Homes - They overall finish quality was rushed and detail work was not

  • Ramon G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 04, 2021
  • Tomball, TX

They overall finish quality was rushed and detail work was not so great. For the price these house are being sold they are not worth it. I regret making the decision to make this my families first house and if i could leave i would. I am not happy ...

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

What started as a family achieving the American dream by buying their first home has turned into a nightmare

  • Juan M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2021
  • La Grange, KY

Broken sewage main line caused by negligence, incompetence, lack of oversight and inspection left us without taking a shower, brushing our theeth and flusing the toilet for one week. Now my driveway is damage after excavating to repair the pipe and ...

Total Score 3


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Not a good time for new construction

  • Allison W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 23, 2021
  • McDonough, GA

This was definitely not a good time to build…it took 8 months from contract signing to close. Options were not explained in detail when selecting upgrade options.

Centex Homes responded:
We're disappointed to hear this, but we thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve the home buying experience for our customers. If you have additional thoughts you'd like to share, we're always listening at customersupport@pultegroup.com ...

Total Score 2


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 1

Value 5

Responsiveness 5

Pulte mortgage issues

  • Julia W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 07, 2019
  • Conroe, TX

The overall experience in buying a house was horrid thanks to the staff of Pulte mortgage. This was my first experience of buying a house and it was hellish. From issues with negligence and predatory lending behavior to just plain being rude, ...

Centex Homes responded:
Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad to hear that you had such a good experience with Chris and Morgan! However, we do apologize you had issues with Pulte Mortgage and we will certainly share your comments with them. If you have additional thoughts or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at socialcare@pultegroup.com. ...

Total Score 2


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Centex Homes - We not really happy the first day all two bathrooms sinks was

  • Guillermina D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

We not really happy the first day all two bathrooms sinks was leaking, and we still wherein for people come finish to paint and fixed the garage door

Centex Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are dealing with unresolved concerns in your new home but we would like to help. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. ^AH ...

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 5

Responsiveness 2

Price

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 17, 2022
  • Buda, TX

The sales portion of the experience can be improved. Communication was not the best from the sales agent. We would call and email several times before we got a response. The contractor was good. He was responsive and helpful.

Centex Homes responded:
Thanks for taking the time to write this review and let us know how we can improve. We apologize that our communication has not been up to par and will certainly share these comments with our local leadership team. If you have additional feedback, we're always listening at customersupport@pultegroup.com ...

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 4

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

Bought a spec house was shown different options then what actually went In the house.

  • William A.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 03, 2021
  • Myrtle Beach, SC

Overall I’m happy with the house. There has been a few issues but the builder has been easy to communicate with and almost everything has been fixed. My only complaint would be in the sales process the person in the office did not show me what was ...

Centex Homes responded:
While we are happy to hear that you are pleased with your home, we are disappointed that you had a confusing sales experience. We would like to learn more about this situation so we can address it accordingly. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with some additional information along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. ^AH ...

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 3

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

Good build, bad sales team

  • Jonathan G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 04, 2021
  • Durham, NC

The build manager and the build process was great. I really enjoy the house and had no issues. The problems were with the Sales team. Either they were completely clueless or they flat out lied to my face. Either option is not good. With the ...

Centex Homes responded:
While we are so pleased to hear that you love your home, we are sorry that you had a frustrating experience with our sales team. We would like to look into this situation and would greatly appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your experience along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH ...

Total Score 2


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

The length of time is took to complete and the poor workmanship on certain items in the house at the time of closing.

  • David M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2021
  • New Braunfels, TX

We started the process to buy our home in July of 2020 and was told that we would be able to close by the end of march or early April of 2021. We finally closed June 26, 2021. I do understand the situation with Covid and the delays that it caused. ...

Centex Homes responded:
While we are glad to hear that you are now enjoying your new home we are sorry that the experience was frustrating and you had complications along the way. We thank you for sharing this feedback so we can learn from it. If there are any unresolved concerns we can help address or any additional comments you would like to make, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com. Thank you. ^AH ...

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 3

Value 4

Responsiveness 3

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 1355 reviews about Centex Homes are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.

Narrow Reviews by Area

Ranging from compliments to complaints, all 1355 reviews about Centex Homes are provided by verified homeowners that recently completed construction and moved into their new home.