Skip main navigation

Pulte Homes Reviews in Chicago, IL

What Chicago Homeowners Have to Say About Pulte Homes.

Read all 268 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with Pulte Homes in the Chicago area. Chicago homeowners have rated Pulte Homes an average 3.8 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of Pulte Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

Pulte Homes

has 3.8 out of 5 stars in Chicago Area

268 Reviews in Chicago Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 3.8

Quality 3.7

Trustworthiness 3.8

Value 3.7

Responsiveness 3.7

Customer Reviews

Cutting Corners Left and Right

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 08, 2022
  • Vernon Hills, IL

Quality of the end product is terrible. When you provide feedback you get yelled at and ignored most of the time as if you have no say. Very poor customer service. Field manager acts as if he is doing you a favor when you approach him with an issue. The contractors make many mistakes and skip important steps in all aspects of the building, if you are not versed in construction you will miss serious issues they create. Very sad!

Pulte Homes responded:
We are certainly sorry to hear about this experience and would like to discuss this further with you. . Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with your contact information so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

nothing get done on time

  • Varghese N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 12, 2022
  • Winfield, IL

Our site manager promose get things done nothing done. Most of houseing numbers W missing.Call something to fix take weeks to fix it.Big pormises no excutions. Customers are furestrated, Front desk lady Gina is very good.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for letting us know about these issues. We have shared your feedback with local leadership and if you'd like to discuss your experience with us, please don't hesitate to contact us at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Paid more for low quality house

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 07, 2021
  • Naperville, IL

Houses are really built with very poor quality, there are lot of echo and you can hear through walls up stair/downstair, also even slow walk sound as a big bang noise. flush in a bathroom will create noise as if there was a big machine turned on and it is very lound rt below bathrooms (this is a big issue where we have work from home and in the meeting), this itself show how poor quality is.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry that you are not satisfied with the quality of your new home. We would like to learn more so we can address the situation accordingly. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Cheap Materials and Unclean

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 11, 2019
  • Plainfield, IL

I would never build another home with Pulte. The people are nice and the paperwork processes were modern, but the home itself has the cheapest materials and fixtures, with little to no attention to detail. Uneven floors, lumpy yard, hacked cabinets, 40gal water tank for 4 bed, 3,000+ sq. ft. And after all the months of construction seems as if it was only broom swept.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the quality of your new home. We would be happy to assist you in getting these issues addressed and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 5

Choose another home builder!!

  • Brittany L.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 03, 2022
  • Elgin, IL

Huge turnaround with employees; had 3 different sales people in less than a year; 2 different construction managers. The sales people and construction manager not on the same page about what is needed in the house; we were told we only needed 1 garage door opener for a 3 car garage since we purchased the smart home package when in fact we needed to add another one for the 3rd car. Now we have moved in and are only able to use one side until we hire someone to come and put the other one in. They are unwilling to work with you on issues and Very slow responsiveness in regards to issues (you ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the quality of your new home and are experiencing concerns since moving in. We would be happy to escalate these concerns for you if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of the issues along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Overpromised & Undelivered

  • Kelsey O.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 27, 2022
  • Elgin, IL

The purchase process was complicated by inaccurate option descriptions. Finishes were rushed (poor taping & drywalling, cabinetry misalignments, exposed electrical outlets, a number of electrical wasn't grounded, front door painting incomplete and interior doors misaligned, ripped carpeting, incorrect height on up[graded/deep-pour basement) and are very visible. Some of these items were raised before closing and we were told nothing would be done. Do not recommend.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're incredibly disappointed to hear that you aren't satisfied with your experience and appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention so that we can share them with our local leadership team. If we can assist with anything, or if you'd like to provide additional feedback, please email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Homes - Pulte is very inflexible with design options.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 05, 2022
  • Addison, IL

Pulte is very inflexible with design options. Their baseline features are low quality. Everything seemed to be an upgrade. Pulte tried to force me to move from a double oven convection range to a low budget range. I refused to do so and they charged me more, and still did not get my double oven in time for closing. It's been 8 weeks since they ordered and still nothing. Getting repairs completed due to Pulte's poor workmanship takes an extremely long time. And constant follow up.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief description of your concerns and your address so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

disappointed with the overall home buying experience

  • Jaya M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 05, 2022
  • Naperville, IL

Sales team was pathetic. Construction team was OK until closing but hasn't been responsive after closing. Overall very disappointed with pulte

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry we haven't lived up to our goal of delivering an excellent home buying experience for you, but we're very appreciative that you took the time to leave this feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve. If there is anything else you'd like to share with us, or any issues we can help address, we're always reachable at customersupport@pultegroup.com

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - The title company is very badly .

  • Jedidiah W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 11, 2022
  • Aurora, IL

The title company is very badly . No service, no respond or wait until the last minute to respond . The painting of our house is very bad too . Even the main contraction guy who showed us the housing before closing said It was definitely a below a average job

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry you had this experience and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Please email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

Inability to complete the home

  • Francesco D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 02, 2022
  • Winfield, IL

one example cabinets selected at the design center was level 6, but they installed level 1 and poorly installed and not even completed, very disappointing and the next step which is the reply to this survey will determine if the rating goes even lower.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are certainly disappointed that you did not receive the upgrades you selected and was left disappointed with your home building process. We take your feedback seriously and ask if you'd like to continue discussing this, please send us an email including your full name and phone number to customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Poor workmanship and terrible oversight

  • Melvin R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 20, 2019
  • Woodridge, IL

Home was purchased and I was assured that a Pulte person was in charge of making sure subcontractors did things right. Many items were caught on final walk through and it’s now two months later and still waiting for cabinets to be painted where there was clearly poor workmanship. Several other items took forever to address and was very obvious the painters and trades cared little as to the work they put in. At a price point way over 400000 you would think you could expect better. I would advise NOT to close until all is corrected. Two month and still waiting for painter on cabinets. ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience and that you aren't happy with the quality of your new home. We would like the chance to make things right and would appreciate if you could email socialcare@pultegroup.com so we can be in touch. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

BEWARE when purchasing with Pulte

  • Eric S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 05, 2022
  • Algonquin, IL

My husband and I were so excited to build our perfect house with Pulte. At the beginning, we were sold a beautiful elevation with stone up the garage and house. AFTER we signed and put down our deposit our sales rep told us that this is actually not what we would be receiving and there was actually significantly less stone. Pulte shows the correct elevation for other communities, so why sell us the elevation and SWITCH it on us last minute? Communication throughout the building process was not the best. Throughout construction, there were many errors that we caught, such as wrong cabinets ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief description of your concerns and your address so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Buyer Beware

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 25, 2020
  • Wheaton, IL

Builder charges >2500.00 USD to pain your home 1 wall color and 1 white ceiling paint. They use Sherwin Williams CHB paint on the walls including bathrooms. This paint does not wear well and is NOT recommended by Sherwin Williams as a durable wall paint. CHB was also used on the bathroom walls with no anti-microbial protection. If it gets wet it stains. Garage is not finished and assumed the buyer will spend another ~2K out of pocket to finish drywall and paint. A deadbolt lock is not included for the front door. Hardwood floor and stair railings are considerably marked up Carpets ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are disappointed to hear that you have so many concerns with your new home and were not pleased with the experience of crafting your home with our team. If there is anything we can help address or any additional feedback you would like to provide, please feel free to email customersupport@pultegroup.com so our team can be in touch. ^Abby

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

You get what you pay for!

  • Jordon K.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 02, 2022
  • Naperville, IL

Be careful, if you are expecting Pulte to build you a "Custom Home" you're going to be disappointed. Craftmanship is poor, we are not planning to live in our new home long so we are not worried about what happens in 5-10 years. But, if you are looking for this house to be your "Forever Home", you will run into a lot of issues. All the trades that are working on the home are being forced to rush to get things done due to Pulte expecting X amount of homes built by a certain timeframe. In our home, the tile was installed poorly and crooked, the carpet in our upstairs doesn't reach the tack ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at customersupport@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Pulte is a Pig with Make up On

  • Antonio G.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 04, 2022
  • Plainfield, IL

Not even a month in the new home and there is a lot of signs of poor workmanship. Cabinets touched up with permanent marker. Slanted drawers, floors and walls/baseboards.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with your contact information so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Big Name Big Box Builder - Too Many Shortcuts

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 20, 2022
  • Bartlett, IL

Pulte builds okay homes. The floor plans are nice; but they take too many shortcuts and very minimal accountability. If you have a great field manager; that is a great thing. However, keep in mind that the field manager is incentivized to close on-time, regardless of quality. We had issues and still have issues. The same goes for a customer care manager; if you have a great customer care manager; rest back he/she will take care of it. If you have a customer care manager that is laxxed or has to many homes to take care of; you will be frustrated. Also, they swap people out constantly so ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with your contact information so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Pulte Homes - Buyer beware with these guys.

  • Wayne S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 01, 2022
  • Bloomingdale, IL

Buyer beware with these guys.

Pulte Homes responded:
We're so sorry that your experience left you feeling disappointed in us and we appreciate you bringing attention to the areas we can improve. Please feel free to reach out to us at customersupport@pultegroup.com if you'd like to share any additional comments or concerns.

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Poor quality

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 04, 2021
  • Wheaton, IL

Been in the home almost 2 months and I have reported several items that need fixed like shower doors with no bottom tract , dented bathroom door, cracked cabinet, cracked window, grout seems showing in kitchen granite etc . to name a few. No one has showed up to fix anything.

Pulte Homes responded:
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We apologize that you haven't been receiving prompt follow up on your repair items and we'd like to know more about the situation so we can assist. Please don't hesitate to email us at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 2

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Not worth the price !!

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 14, 2021
  • Naperville, IL

The final paint on the overall house interiors is very bad and requires so much maintenance. The appliances that are provided are not good and they take no responsibility to replace it within the warranty period. The price that we have paid for the upgrades are way too high than they are worth for. Even the lawn was not set properly by them.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues in your new home. We would like to learn more so we can address this situation accordingly. If you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information we would greatly appreciate it. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Sales Consultant and Post-Closing Responsiveness Ruined Home Buying Experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 11, 2021
  • Naperville, IL

Please be very careful when deciding a Pulte home. Your first experience at the model, just like with any other builder, will be a great one and you will see the potential for your home. First piece of advice, I would ensure you have a good sales consultant that knows what they are doing and is knowledgeable. Ours was the opposite of that and essentially ruined the home buying experience for us. She tried to charge us for things that were not needed, neglected to advise us that basic items, such as a master bathroom mirror and a garage door opener were not included in the purchase. Those two ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience and have yet to have someone contact you to discuss your concerns. We would like to help and would appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. ^AH

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Pulte Homes - Response from warranty representative is very poor

  • Diane S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 16, 2022
  • Bolingbrook, IL

Response from warranty representative is very poor

Pulte Homes responded:
We are sorry to hear that you are having trouble getting in touch with warranty. We would like to help and would greatly appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information. Thank you.

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Code minimum builder

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 27, 2022
  • Naperville, IL

Code minimum builder. Need to improve customer experience

Pulte Homes responded:
We're sorry we haven't lived up to our goal of delivering an excellent home buying experience for you, but we're very appreciative that you took the time to leave this feedback as it is invaluable in helping us improve. If there is anything else you'd like to share with us, or any issues we can help address, we're always reachable at customersupport@pultegroup.com.

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

Terrible support from Pulte

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 12, 2022
  • Naperville, IL

The overall construction and build quality was decent. The responsiveness during closing period has been great. Just after the closing the customer support experience has been one of the worse. Even for issues as urgent as gas leak they customer experience manager continued to ignore emails snd and any form of communication for weeks. I wouldn’t spend the money to buy a Pulte home again given how bad the move in experience was.

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief description of your concerns and your address so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

A Very Unpleasant Experience

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 01, 2022
  • Bolingbrook, IL

Building a home with Pulte was one of the worst experiences of our life. We had previously built two homes with smaller builders and had a positive experience with both. The other builders made every effort to meet our needs, with Pulte it was take it or leave it. We met with the Design Center and after making our selections were later told our wood flooring, wall tile and countertops were not available no effort would be made to provide them. Later while we were in Florida we learned the applince package was no longer available. Our predrywall meeting was another issue. It was scheduled on a ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are so sorry to hear that your experience has left you feeling stressed out and disappointed in us, especially since moving into a new home should be such an exciting time. We’d like to see what we can do to help alleviate some of the stress. Would you mind sending an email to customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief description of your concerns and your address so we can get in touch with you?

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

The lack of follow-through. We had a long list of issues that needed to be addressed after our pre-closing walk-through. Most of those issues were not addressed by closing. It's now been two months and these issues still have not been addressed.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • February 18, 2021
  • Naperville, IL

We really like the design of the house. There is a lot of storage space. You do, however, pay extra for every little things. The things that come standard are so basic that everyone - from the sales person to the consultant at the design meeting highly encourages you to upgrade, which then, of course, drives up the cost for the house. Most frustrating has been our closing experience. We had a pre-closing walk-through date set. At 5 PM the night before, we got a call that the walk-through and our move-in date (scheduled for that weekend) had to be moved back. I understand issues around ...

Pulte Homes responded:
We are highly disappointed to hear that you have had so many issues in your new home and are not receiving the appropriate follow through from your local team. We would like to escalate your concerns and would greatly appreciate if you could please email customersupport@pultegroup.com with a brief summary of your concerns along with your address and contact information. Thank you. ^AH

Total Score 1


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 1