Skip main navigation

K. Hovnanian® Homes Reviews in Washington, VA

What Washington Homeowners Have to Say About K. Hovnanian® Homes.

Read all 301 verified reviews from homeowners that built a new home with K. Hovnanian® Homes in the Washington area. Washington homeowners have rated K. Hovnanian® Homes an average 4.5 stars for the quality of their new homes and their commitment to customer service. You can read all of K. Hovnanian® Homes's reviews, to learn why their homeowners loved working with them, and why you should partner with them build your dream home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes

has 4.5 out of 5 stars in Washington Area

301 Reviews in Washington Area

Ratings by Category

Overall 4.5

Quality 4.5

Trustworthiness 4.5

Value 4.5

Responsiveness 4.6

Customer Reviews

KHOV Review

  • Pedro R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 03, 2019
  • Woodbridge, VA

Have some problems with the house that could of been avoided if the workers pay attention to details. Problems such as leaking. The workers wants to build too fast to meet a death line even after I told them to take their time but to build a quality product.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Pedro - sorry to read that you experienced some leaking issues in your new home. If you continue to have any issues or need assistance please feel free to reach out at customercare@khov.com and we will pass along to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 4

Value 2

Responsiveness 5

K. Hovnanian® Homes - I purchased this home at a reduced price on a county program.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 14, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

I purchased this home at a reduced price on a county program. Maybe I received subpar service/products because of that. Either way, I would NEVER purchase at full price from K.Hovnanian based on my experiences with the salesperson, the construction managers, and the warranty manager.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Melissa & Kenneth, thank you so much for reaching out to us we have shared your comment with our local management team for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 3

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 28, 2020
  • Ranson, WV

Do not trust them when they say their home inspector is top notch. We have found a lot of issues since moving in. A lot due to poor workmanship and no quality control on the work being done. That said they are super responsive to issues which arise and work to fix it. But it’s a headache that should have been taken care of before hand. In closing, hire your own realtor to help you and no matter what get a home inspector.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 4

K. Hovnanian® Homes - Did not go as well as planned but the major issues were with

  • James B.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 06, 2022
  • Woodbridge, VA

Did not go as well as planned but the major issues were with the Mortgage company. Way to many issues to list but it was an absolutely horrible experience. Some issues with the building process but that went pretty well and we settled on time. Mistakes were corrected and some had to do with supply chain issues.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi James - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 2

Value 3

Responsiveness 2

The antiquated processes.’

  • James W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 15, 2021
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

Our experience was one delay after another. We have great disappointment in the deliverable. The bright spot in this experience was the Community Senior project Manager. He seems to experience and very personable.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning James - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your new home and will send your feedback to the local management team for follow up. Thank you! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 4

The dishonesty of the sales team and management

  • Stephen D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • January 06, 2022
  • Fredericksburg, VA

KHOV sales and design center are not concerned with the best interest of the buyer, and you need to ensure all discussions are in writing. Truthfully I would not have purchased from this builder knowing what I do now, and the dishonesty that is plagued throughout the process.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Stephen - Thank you for providing feedback, we will be sending to the local management team for follow up. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - There were lots of offers.

  • Gisella H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 27, 2022
  • Mount Airy, MD

There were lots of offers. We paid for changes and upgrades for our home; however, Tyler never gave us the opportunity to pay for an office door and a deck which we really wanted. Since he did not offer us the opportunity to upgrade or select those options, we believed it was included in the price of the house. We were very specific and clear to him that we wanted our house with the same options as the model home. That’s why we asked for the upgrade of the guestroom with full bathroom, the Sun deck with the a lamp and the office . Exactly as the the model house. That did not happen. We were ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Gisella, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Unkept Promises, Excuses.

  • Thomas W.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 09, 2022
  • STAFFORD, VA

A month and a half after closing, we are still missing a window. Several items covered on walkthrough were never addressed. Some elements of construction did not align with plans (legal?). Several assurances made that did not line up with reality. Sales person was responsive via email but not all statements were backed up with action. Over-priced. Ex. Nicer model home with more high-end features has not sold and the price keeps dropping.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Thomas, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We've seen your message and will pass it along to local management for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Lies and Misleading information / Not work the inflated price

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 04, 2022
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

I will never recommend K. Hov to anyone. The quality of products that were used to build this home, as well as the craftsmanship to put the home together, is something to be desired. Our first night in the house, we smelled smoke, like there was an electrical fire. Come to find out, the wires were crossed in the bedroom lights. This was just the start… tack strips not holding the carpet, shoddy cutting of the wood for the rails and baseboards, loose railings, poor grouting of bathroom tiles, nail pops EVERYWHERE after a month, lies about the swale in our backyard and how it “should” ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Janelle, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 3

Poor Communication and Accountability

  • Danny S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • May 31, 2022
  • Fredericksburg, VA

Our overall home buying experience with KHOV was not as great as we anticipated. We have been understanding that the current industry norms has impacted the builder’s ability to deliver homes more timely. With that being said, for our community (New Post in Fredericksburg, VA), the issues were compounded by lack of communication and accountability with regards to issues with the home, quality of the craftsmanship, and not to mention we went through 3 different project managers for this community, causing added constraints to the timeline of home delivery and further breaking down the lines of ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Danny, thank you for sharing your detailed list with us. We have forwarded your comments on to our local management team for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Decent Home, Poor Execution

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 02, 2019
  • Aldie, VA

We had some high expectations on our purchase of this home, but it was met with poor execution, poor supervision on the trade labor, and poor follow up to correct issues. This wasn't all bad, but if you are buying from this group, then make sure you have the ability to watch each step of the process closely as you will quickly get frustrated with the execution if it's not supervised properly. If executed correctly, it could be a wonderful home.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi - thanks for providing your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not satisfied with your new home. If you'd like to provide your contact information to customercare@khov.com we can send to the appropriate local representatives. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 2


Quality 2

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Waiting almost a year for a condo.

  • Kathleen S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 10, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

Having to wait for almost 10 months cost us a great deal of money and a great deal of anguish. The interest rate started at under five and ended up 5.5. Over the life of the lone that is a great deal of money. We bought the condo to be close to our grandkids. We missed a year of their life. It was very upsetting to keep your life on hold. My sister purchased a house three months after us and moved in three months before us. Some builders seemed to be able to get materials.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Kathleen, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We've seen your message and will pass it along to local management for further review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 5

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 5

Buyer beware

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 01, 2021
  • Mount Airy, MD

We bought our home sight unseen, moving from out of state. The pictures looked nice and they gave us updates throughout the building process, but when we arrived we were sad to see the terrible lack of craftsmanship in almost every aspect of the home. Cheapest parts they can possibly use everywhere. Cheapest paint I’ve ever seen and nearly no wall texture, with no option to pay for better quality paint in the build. Cracked grout and caulk all over the place. Sod directly over boulders and rocks no topsoil and a hill behind the home where we were told it would be a flat lot, making over half ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking time to provide feedback, we will be sending your comments to the local team for review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 3

Value 2

Responsiveness 3

Not a pleasant experience overall!

  • Praveen D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • July 26, 2022
  • Mount Airy, MD

It all started great with Tricia. The minute we opted to go with an external lender (because KHov could not accommodate our needs), the attitude from KHov changed. The stones in our house was not what we asked for and the error was caused by the sales person transcribing the name of the stone in the selection list. KHov started blaming a sales person who left and failed to own their mistakes and just tried to escape from the situation. Even after several escalations, there were no options being considered at all. I know this is a common issue and usually builder fix it or compensate by ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Praveen - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 3

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 2

Thiefs

  • Douglas D.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • June 11, 2020
  • Ranson, WV

The company lied to us about drainage issues on the property from Day one and created a false appraisal of the new home, cheating out and lying to federal regulators.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank your for providing feedback on your recent experience, we have sent your comments to the appropriate local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 4

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

What A Headache...

  • Kevin M.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • November 12, 2020
  • Nokesville, VA

Quality of Workmanship & Material. The build quality is extremely poor. K Hov uses the lowest bid subcontractors and it shows. Every aspect of our house from the driveway to the fireplace to our roof to our septic was built wrong the first time, if not the second time. Also, K Hov will do everything it can to hide issues and hope you don’t find them during the final walkthrough. Trustworthiness. Everything our broker and construction manager told us was a half-truth. Basically, they tell you want you want to hear as opposed to what is accurate. Value for the Price Paid. I think our home ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning Kevin - thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy and have sent your comments to local representatives for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 3

Responsiveness 1

K. Hovnanian® Homes - This has been the worst home-buying experience my wife and I

  • Jonathan R.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 07, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

This has been the worst home-buying experience my wife and I have ever had. We felt we were lied to and manipulated by the KHOV sales team; specifically Joe’s. without considering its deceit's economic ramifications. This has been devastating for my wife and me. The KVOV Sales and construction team at Pender Oaks Towns it’s all about misinformation, untruths, and deceiving actions. I would never recommend KHOV.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jonathan - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

One Woman's Journey as a First-Time HomeBuyer

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 02, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

The purchase of my very first home through this Builder was my worst life experience ever. I should have bought from Pulte, but could not get myself to part ways with this Builder's community's location, which I love. I still get nervous opening the door to the laundry room because all the machines together in the open like this look scary. I was also required to purchase a washer dryer for my condo, which was a nightmare of sorts. This too is another reason I physically get nervous opening the laundry room door to my very own home. The workmanship is horrible, and this condo is no longer a ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Priti - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

unprofessional

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 01, 2021
  • Triangle, VA

The builders offered free upgrades to my neighbours equipment that they had ordered and I was promised that it will be given to me as well. The builder told me to make sure to give him a good review as it is very important. After a few weeks during my meeting with the builder, I was advised that the builder has changed. I asked the builder if the upgrades would still be applied to my property as promised by the previous builders. My neighbors got the upgrade on their stuff. The builder told me I will not be getting any upgrades, and that is why he is the builder now not the other ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for providing feedback, we are going to send your comments to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

Nadim

  • Ahmed N.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • September 22, 2020
  • Fredericksburg, VA

Please do not trust the salesman and the sales management, the are Very and truthful people.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning, we have sent your comments to local team members for review. Thanks for providing feedback, have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 2

Responsiveness 1

Regretful Homeowner

  • Shonda S.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • August 09, 2020
  • Woodbridge, VA

The practices are unethical. I regret purchasing my home with K. Hovnanian. This was the worst experience.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Good morning! Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience. I've sent your comments to local representatives for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 2

worst quality

  • Jasmine C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • October 09, 2022
  • Fairfax, VA

Worst quality of workmanship and after-purchase service

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Jasmine - sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your recent home building experience. I will send your feedback over to the local management team for review. Have a good day! khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Disappointed!

  • Sichan H.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 10, 2022
  • Hedgesville, WV

My husband and I will never recommend Khov to anyone based on our experience. We do not believe the KHov sales team was forthright with information leading up to closing. The KHov sales team were also completely unavailable on the day of closing with the exception of the onsite construction manager who processed our final walkthrough. We ran into construction issues during our final walkthrough and could not get through to anyone to discuss next steps or delaying closing until the issues were resolved. This put us in a position of having to decide whether to be in default or go to closing ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Sichan, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We have shared your comments with local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

Their poor communication and lies.

  • Anonymous
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • March 01, 2022
  • WOODBRIDGE, VA

I have built many homes in the past and this by far has been the worst experience. Everything was blamed on COVID even though the real truth was that they have poor communication, no direction, lie a lot and their own employees keep quitting.

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hello Mahreen, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not have a good experience working with us. We will share your comments with local management for their review. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1

From beginning to end. Bad.

  • Eric C.
  • Verified HomeBuyer
  • December 09, 2021
  • Fairfax, VA

We really looked forward to moving in and enjoying all the amenities this house had to offer but from our closing date being delayed multiple times to a walk through of which there were multiple glaring issues, our experience with khov was extremely poor and utterly disappointing. We at every experienced with new build home buying, and this was by far the worst in every way possible. They tried to convince us to close on the home when it wasn’t even in livable condition, and after the most upsetting walk through, a second walk through, and yet another delayed move-in date these are the issues ...

K. Hovnanian® Homes responded:
Hi Eric, thanks for leaving feedback on your recent experience. We are sorry that you were disappointed and will send your comments to the appropriate local reps for additional follow up. khovnanianhomes

Total Score 1


Quality 1

Trustworthiness 1

Value 1

Responsiveness 1